We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wright Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Wright Lodge to your Saves list
The Wright Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   130 Wright Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Adelaide B&B and Inns
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a budget stay. Desk staff helpful, room small and air-conditioning not very efficient. I don't know about other rooms but room 8 does not have a window. Location is near to Chinatown and lots of restaurants.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    17
    5
    13
See reviews for
1
22
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at the Wright Lodge with my girlfriend and I have to say that I completely disagree with the negative reviews I read on this page. This hotel is a really good value for the money, we stayed in 2 different rooms, on Friday night and Sunday night. Each room was clean and really comfortable. Of course this is not a luxury hotel, you pay $80 for a double, so it makes sense. The staff was really friendly and the hotel is well located in Adelaide's city centre. If I decide to go back to Adelaide one day, I'll certainly stay at the Wright Lodge again as it is really a good value for the money! Also, in Adelaide you don't have that much choice: or a backpackers, or a 5* hotel...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am surprised at some of the strongly negative comments made by earlier reviewers. Perhaps, they did hit a bad day at the hotel, but more likely, their expectations were too high.

The Wright Lodge’s business card reads “Value-for-money Budget Accommodation” . During my 6-day stay , the establishment lived up to this claim admirably. My room was spacious, and came with ample storage, coffee/tea amenities, a fridge,a small flat-screen TV ( Aussie channels only) and a strong shower in the ensuite. However, in keeping with its budget tag and price, the furnishings are modest (standard Ikea-issue and somewhat the worse for wear). The free wi-fi worked well, but the air-conditioning which was fine during the day was not so effective at night, and the lighting needs improvement. I had a room with a window which was very welcome, not all rooms have windows.
It is a family-owned and operated establishment and reception is open only between 9 am and 6 pm, there is no service ( except house-keeping) as the establishment does not have a kitchen. The young ladies at the front desk, Chantelle and Lydia, were very pleasant, efficient and helpful. Check-in and check-out were super-quick. In fact, there is no check-out as such--- since all rooms are prepaid and there are no extras involved, you just leave your key in the room, lock the door, hang the sign on the door to say you have left and walk out.

Located in the quiet south-western section of Adelaide’s CBD, the hotel is within easy reach of food and entertainment areas. Chinatown and the Central Market are a 5- minute walk, other spots can be reached by public transport. The tram is a 7-minute walk away as are major bus-routes on Grote and King William Streets. I would recommend getting a Metrocard if you plan to use the public transport in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 7 or 8, the only ground floor rooms with windows, or one of the rooms upstairs preferab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merbein south
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

all night next doors room light in ours leaking toiletwet feet ever time went in there and called owners didnt care,no shampoo or conditioner no coffee.will never stay again they dont care especially with the leaking tolet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great location, very central. Owner Paul and staff very friendly and welcoming. Room very clean, cosy, safe and quiet and the price is very reasonable. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a convenient location near the city and/or transport. Shuttle-bus brought us directly from the Airport and also main bus station is very near. Hope to come again in the future. (We are a mature Irish couple).

There was a free commuter bus that can take you all around the city and you can hop on and hop off at all the major sights. Adelaide is a beautiful city and when we visit again we will stay with Paul at their Wright Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back which was very peaceful and we had a sound night's sleep in a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wright Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wright Lodge

Address: 130 Wright Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wright Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wright Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wright Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.