We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bollywood Indian Restaurant

Bollywood Indian Restaurant
17 Leigh Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
08-82129599
Improve this listing
Ranked #676 of 1,382 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine dining indian cuisine,fully licensed and BYO wine only,take away available and free delivery within CBD Disable Access, modern new restaurant.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Good food at a good price and prompt service. Bit disappointed when the cocktail we ordered was served in a West End beer glass. Didn't really detract from the food though.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    9
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hallett Cove
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch and Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

On recommendation from a wine loving foodie, we decided on Bollywood. First impression - spotless dining hall: table settings excellent (very attractive cutlery), Reception was good and we were seated at a mezzanine level overlooking the passing parade in Leigh street.
The menu (takeaway is $2.00 per meal cheaper/ local delivery attracts a $1.00 per meal add-on - very reasonable) is good as is the wine list. BYO 750ml, wine only as well
Good selection of entrees From Samosa at $7 to Tandoori platter at $20.00. Mains including seafood/specials are all under $22.00...but the lunchtime special is $14.90 which includes a main (no specials) a plain naan and rice - how good is that.
We opted for an entree, French Lamb-cutlet, yummy sauce and Lamb Saag, naan, rice and 2 house wines $35,00.
This eatery is only a 5 minute walk to the Adelaide Casino and Raiway station - so convenoent and excellent value. Staff - good, and they encourage feed-back! Thanks for a wonderful lunch

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Goat Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is typical of a lot of Indian restaurants - decor was ordinary (for this part of town which is trying to be somewhat upmarket). Service was also very poor - although the young waiter was pleasant enough. Tried the goat curry (for the 1st time) and it was sensational - thoroughly recommended. My only complaint was that there was not enough of it - also seemed to have a lot of bone for some reason.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“It's ok if you like your Indian food mild”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This restaurant is in a great location - Leigh St, a funky little lane just off Hindley. The street was pumping when I came down here last night. I couldn't get into most of the places I wanted to go to - packed to the rafters - so I decided to try here. There was one other customer in the place. So I doubled their patronage when I walked in

The service was nice (well it should be seeing as I ended up being their only customer). I felt really sorry for them. All the other establishments were packed and here they were empty!

The ambience is not that great but for me eating alone I didn't really mind it. I was an absolute pig and ordered way too many dishes (I did make sure I could take home what I didn't eat). I ordered the the veg samosas and mix veg pakora for starters and then veg curry, the Dahl mekhani and an eggplant dish for mains. The samosas were nice and crispy though and not bad. A little bland but I actually don't like my food too spicy so it was fine for me. The pakoras were ok.

All of the main dishes I ordered were "nice" as in reasonably tasty and not hot but I would say for real Indian food aficionados definitely not spiced enough and I guess, yes a tad bland. I didn't mind though. Suited me fine and I took what was left home with me.

I don't whether to recommend this place or not. On the one hand it's a "safe" Indian food experience for those of us who don't like food too hot. I just think with all the other lovely food options on Leigh St, maybe you would only really come here if you were hanging out for Indian food. It would be good for large groups - plenty of space!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lacklustre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Probably being an ex pom, and lover of Indian food, meant expectations were more than is easily found here. The sauces were watery, the rice too starchy, and menu limited. Ambience very average. Felt like 1960/70 Indian experience. Sad.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Indian Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Bollywood Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bollywood Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.