We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but waitress struggled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bollywood Indian Restaurant

Bollywood Indian Restaurant
17 Leigh Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
08-82129599
Improve this listing
Ranked #746 of 1,497 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fine dining indian cuisine,fully licensed and BYO wine only,take away available and free delivery within CBD Disable Access, modern new restaurant.
Ararat, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food but waitress struggled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Liked the food and the value. The food was of a high standard and standard Indian food practice of lots of sauce and little meat did not apply here. We would definitely eat here again. The only bad was that the waitress struggled with the orders and we had to wait for the entrees which arrived in lots.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    10
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
“Mass produced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went to this restaurant for a work function. The fixed menu included starters (a samosa, two chunks of chicken tikka and a sausage type item ( forgot proper name). Tasted fine. Mains were a butter chicken (alright but tasted like out of a jar) and lamb rogan josh- tasted like my dad's gravy. Watery, stringy lamb. Naan and rice were included in cover charge. Staff were fine. After starters there was a dancer- fine, fine, but over 15 minutes with the one person made me reach for my phone to check some real estate ads. No dessert in a set menu, not even a simple dish or a hot tea. A very westernised inauthentic feeling meal, no kick or flavour really. No cardamom or start anise or any other spices you wild expect to see. The naan was very heavy, not as light as other Indian restaurants and quite oily and the rice was microwaved. For $35 a head won't be going back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woomera, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Purchased a takeaway lamb vindaloo, veggie curry, and steamed rice. Everything was excellent. The vindaloo was a bit hot for my ageing body but...what do you expect when you order a vindaloo. Very tasty and most of the lamb was tender (had the obligatory one chewy chunk of fat and gristle). Portion size was okay but a wee bit expensive (in my opinion); however, I will certainly return (define masochist).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Service - 5 stars
Food - 5 stars
Friendly atmosphere, great variety on the menu and beautiful food.
Probably the best garlic naan ever!
Have the goat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the worst Indian meals ever eaten.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lamb rogan josh as I have never tasted it. A bland salty gravy with stringy lamb. And the the butter chicken must have started out as a tin of tomato soup.
Stodgy samosas, overcooked vegetable curry. At least the rice was ok and the naan bread credible.
Where were the spices?
It's not hard to cook a good Indian meal but it is sad that this establishment thinks that bland gravies suffice for properly cooked curries.
A real waste of money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Indian Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Bollywood Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bollywood Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.