We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarcane

Sugarcane
408 King William Street | Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
(08) 8212 9638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #599 of 1,382 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Value, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a lunch recently with the lunch specials at Sugarcane. Simple, inexpensive god atmosphere and excellent food. They served meals to the whole table pretty well, one did get missed. We had all pre-ordered but the food was still hot and very tasty. great pale for a Friday "end of week" work lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great meal, wine and service at this great restaurant. First time and will be back again. Meals and servcie was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The setting is attractive and well-presented. The service was friendly and helpful with advice about dishes and portions. My sister is quite a fussy eater but she enjoyed the two meals we had there, especially the Vietnamese lemongrass chicken chef special. I enjoyed the plum duck on the first visit and the steamed barramundi dish on the second visit. My only complaint would be the steamed rice. It is too dry and lacks flavour. I would suggest that the restaurant adds coconut rice to its menu. It would balance quite well with the meals. Sensibly priced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Sugarcane was very close to our hotel in Adelaide so an easy choice for us. The menu had lots to choose from and the waitresses were very helpful.
We had chicken satay and prawns on sugar cane skeweres to start with. For main I had fish with ginger and shallots - delicious, my husband had Mongolian beef which was a hit too. We had a glass of white wine with dinner and the bill was just under $70.
We had an Indian meal the next evening and wished we had returned to Sugarcane!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't be Tempted!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently ate at the Sugar Cane restaurant in Adelaide which is marketed as a Vietnamese restaurant but is actually Chinese. The food is terrible and the specials have been the same for the past 6 months. The pho was the worst meal I have had for a very long time with raw onions and limp thais basil it had none of the lovely flavours you generally attribute to this dish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarcane also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Sugarcane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarcane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.