We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarcane

Sugarcane
408 King William Street | Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
(08) 8212 9638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #600 of 1,382 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Value and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I may never have tried it had not been for the Groupon voucher but I am glad we did. Our first visit last month was without fault. Excellent service and the steamboat for 2 was more than we could eat. We revisited last week and experienced the same attentive service and the steamboat was more than enough for the 3 of us this time! We loved the wontons! Would recommend as a meal for most occasions and will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“impeccable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My sister and I ate here last Thursday for the first time. We had the rare beef salad (some of the most tender and delicious beef I've actually ever had) and the sugarcane prawn roll your own. Also delicious. I had the black sticky rice with mango for dessert. The rice was marvellous but the mango was a bit crunchy, but then it's not really mango season yet.
The decor is lovely and the service was good.
Nothing to complain about really. I'll be going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Sugarcane - Adelaide's great Vietnamese Tucker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were running late from a meeting and wanted to eat here - phoned ahead and they kept the Kitchen open even though we arrived even later than planned

Staff incredibly attentive and efficient

Food exceptional

Had previously read some mixed reviews including concerns regarding authenticity, however my experience was very positive

Great Food, real Vietnamese Chef

Excellent all round

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Delicious cheap food with great atmosphere and service - highly recommend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was staying at a nearby hotel on a business trip. Walked past this restaurant and thought it looked just lovely. Went there by myself and nearly fell over at the prices - it is so incredibly cheap!! My food wasn't perfect but it was incredibly tasty. I had dim sum with a delicious dipping sauce that you can tell is freshly made (although the dim sums aren't). My second entree of quail was pre-prepared and then grilled (hence slightly tough), but the marinade was just delicious. Touches like the lemon water bowl to rinse fingers went a long way. My spicy, sizzling chilli chicken main was gorgeous, hot and delicious. Loads of fresh chilli and everything in it was fresh. The wine list was also very reasonably priced. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the food was delicious.

On going back I'd probably stay away from the quail or duck on the menu as it must have been prepared earlier in the day, but was very happy and you can't complain about the price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yumm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Takeaway back to our hotel after a long weekend of eating and drinking. This was just what we needed - fresh and tasty, friendly staff and lovely local wine.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarcane also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Sugarcane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarcane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.