We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brownhill Creek Caravan Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brownhill Creek Caravan Park to your Saves list
Brownhill Creek Caravan Park
Brownhill Creek Road | Mitcham, Adelaide, South Australia 5062, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Dont really know where to start with this place... Location to the town centre was great nice and easy to get to and from with or without your own vehicle. Also as park of the park there was very little noise from other transport and day to day commotiom. Amenities always clean - even if there's a dated look that makes you wonder if it's clean - but I assure you it is. Kitchen has 2 fridges, BBQ and gas hob facilities with a few spaces for sitting and eating there - which were also very clean. Cabins - I have no idea as was in an unpowered site. Now for $25 per night I was not going to complain at all for what we got - have definitely paid a lot more for a lot worse!
Only thing I will mention is that reception never told us they key given was to access to toilet block, not the end of the world, but when you're busting and it's a 200m return walk it can be annoying. Also the end of the campsite where we stayed had toilet/showers but were a little distance away and only 1 shower. Other/better amenities were another 100 or so meters away and had enough of everything needed. Basically everything you need is at the reception/entrance area. My only real 'fault' with the place was the camp kitchen. Obviously those that would need to use this facility are those staying in the unpowered sites, however it is at the complete opposite end of the grounds. This ends up being a slight problem when carrying everything you need to cook and eat about 150/200m away... But again for me it was the only fault which I can't complain much about with the location and price paid! I would stay there again but just pitch up camp closer to everything...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Brownhill Creek Caravan park for 6 nights in March 2012. We have now been on the road for 7 months and would rate this caravan park as one of our favourites. We chose to stay at this park as it was close to some friends we were visiting in Adelaide. Although the park was so close to the city, it was so quiet and peaceful. It was hard to believe a park like this could exist with bushland all around while being so close to the city.

The amenities were older but always clean and tidy. The park seemed to be reasonably well maintained and the staff were helpful at all times. Public transport was within walking distance and grocery shops only a short drive away.

The park was great value for money and a great base from which to explore Adelaide. We would recommend this park to others.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have stayed at the caravan park on several occasions in both the cabin and a villa and found them to be very adequate and very reasonably priced and I had the convenience of being close to most amenities (ie Mitcham and Unley Road shopping precincts) and the Adelaide CBD. The staff were very obliging and friendly I must say. The location is just beautiful - kookaburras and other bird life, the odd koala visit and plenty of trees - very relaxing in my view and a place seamingly much further away from the hustle and bustle than it is. I intend to visit again.

Room Tip: I found the Villa and on another time the 3 bedroom Family unit as a very good option if you want th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed recently in a family cabin and found it perfect for our needs, close to stadiums as we were in town for basketball . Staff extremely helpful especially as we were arriving late . could not have been made easier definately stay again

Room Tip: Stay in the family cabins especially the 2 bedroom good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brownhill Creek Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thankyou very much Aussie Jaycon for your positive review it makes us very happy and proud that our guests enjoy there stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Great spot, friendly people, plenty of room, good size cabin, very self contained, cabin was a little dated and could be cleaner inside, it suited our purpose and we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This caravan park has older style cabins, which are clean and provide a good basic, safe place to stay, close to the city. It is a short drive to Mitcham Railway Station, where you can catch a train into the city (approximate 10 minute journey). The Mitcham Shopping Centre is near the station, and you can buy plenty of supplies there. The Caravan Park is in the middle of a nature reserve, so you will be woken by plenty of native birds, including kookaburra, rainbow lorikeet, magpie, etc. There are koalas in the many trees throughout the Park, and ducks waddle back and forth to the creek which flows at the back of the grounds. The laundry is clean and cheap. There is a nice small pool, and a tv room available. It is very quiet and peaceful. I found the people in the office to be very helpful and friendly. It's not 5 star service, but then again, it IS a caravan park!! I stayed there for two weeks, and was very happy. There is a security boom gate, and the office has a small kiosk. I spoke with many campers in the park, who were very happy to be staying there. I took my own towels and pillow with me, as I've stayed in caravan cabins before. If you're fussy, look elsewhere - if you want a nice, quiet, basic place to stay, I'd recommend Brownhill Creek.

Room Tip: There are older cabins 1-5, and they face the river - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Overpriced dated cabins. We stayed here only due to proximity to friends. Would have been cheaper to get a last minute deal in a city apartment. Beds very uncomfortable and pillows need replacing. Booked family cabin and had hide to ask for extra $30 for linen/towels for children. Cheaper to buy from kmart!!! Nothing to do here, and mobile reception extremely poor. Very disappointing and dated.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brownhill Creek Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thankyou "JenLouB" for taking the time to comment on our Cabins, we have spent the first part of 2012 replacing our bedding inc Mattresses and Pillows, we are also looking into the charging price of additional Linen. Our business like many in the accomodation industry base there nightly rates on 2 people with the associated linen included, however when additional people stay there is a cost associated with supply of the additional linen requirements. The one thing we can not rectify is our mobile reception we are in a great location 7kms from the city in an old Adelaide suburb of Mitcham with really old infastructure, being in a gully also does not help however Telstra mobile and Vodafone have the best reception. Once again thankyou very much for your feedback and we hope somewhere down the track you could try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brownhill Creek Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownhill Creek Caravan Park

Address: Brownhill Creek Road | Mitcham, Adelaide, South Australia 5062, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide’s Brownhill Creek Caravan and Holiday Park is just 7 kms from Adelaide CBD and Beaches, with easy access from the South Eastern Freeway, in the leafy eastern suburbs of Mitcham, situated in the Brownhill Creek State Recreation Park. Set on 25 Acres, our Adelaide Holiday Park Accommodation is the ideal place to relax and unwind in tranquil surroundings. Enjoy the convenience of being 5 minutes from the Cafe's & Bistro's of Norwood and Unley. Our Caravan Park is also perfectly located for easy access to Adelaide city. 10 minutes from the High Fashion and Cafe's Precinct at Hyde Park, 15 minutes to city and beaches, 15 minutes to the Adelaide Hills, 60 minutes to Barossa Valley, 35 minutes to Fleurieu Peninsula. Experience Adelaide's famous wine regions by booking a Barossa or McLaren Vale Winery Tour.Also whilst here book your Sealink adventure to the famous Kangaroo Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Brownhill Creek Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brownhill Creek Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.