We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uber modern compact apartment let down by poor customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of iStay Precinct

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added iStay Precinct to your Saves list
iStay Precinct
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   185 Morphett Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Oaks Precinct)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Guru_g_syd
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Uber modern compact apartment let down by poor customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It fascinates me how much difference customer service – the attitude and attentiveness of staff – can influence your experience. Whether it is as a passenger in an aeroplane, a customer in a shop or a stay in a hotel/serviced apartment.

This was the third time I’ve stayed at the iStay Precinct and all of the staff at reception seem to have changed. The people I dealt with at check-in, throughout the stay and at check-out all seemed distant, a little uninterested and made me feel secondary to whatever they were doing on their computer.

One particular staff member had a habit of continuing to stare at his computer screen whilst talking to me. I found it quite disconcerting and bordering on rude. And I thought back to the last time I stayed here and how the check-in guy put my fellow traveller and I in a good mood before we’d even finished check in procedures. There was an issue with the wrong type of room being allocated but we went back downstairs and had a laugh with the guy about it because he was so friendly.

Sadly, all that seems to have disappeared with the current crop of staff at the IStay Precinct. There are a lot of serviced apartment options in Adelaide so I think I might look a little further next time.

Having said all that, the object of the exercise is to give a scrupulously fair review. It’s the only reason I write these reviews – to try and balance some of the “crazies” 

This time my fellow traveller and I stayed in a “compact one-bedroom apartment” with twin beds. It was indeed compact but very, very modern with a small but glamorous kitchen, lounge and bathroom. And also a semi-study-type area with a small dining table and side desk.

The comfortable sofa looked towards a large coffee table and then on to a unit with a flat screen TV, DVD and stereo player. Unfortunately the DVD player did not work – we asked for it to be repaired but nothing was done during our 4 day stay. We were a tad annoyed about this. But just a “tad” 

There’s also an enclosed balcony with a table and two chairs – you can open up a sliding window on the balcony if you like. However we kept it shut to enjoy the fabulously cool air-conditioning! On one day of our stay it was 39C!

The overall feel of the apartment is slick and chic. I noticed a couple of little maintenance things which were surprising – the kitchen tap kept coming off in my hand, there was an accumulation of dust near the side of my bed that had been overlooked – more than once by the amount of it.

But these are just little things that take a bit of the shine off an otherwise sleek apartment.

If you’re staying in a 1 bedroom compact, note that there is very little clothes hanging/clothes storage area in the bedroom. It’s quite tiny. However, we kept out suitcases in the main living area without any problem.

The apartment has the usual microwave, small fridge, toaster, kitchen utensils, dishwasher and washer/dryer unit. All pretty modern and clean.

Since we’d stayed here before we knew about the iStay’s policy of not providing extras like tissues, shampoo etc. So we stocked up on all of this before we left home. We were well prepared this time 

The iStay Precinct is a value-for-money property that features very modern accommodation in a good location. A few little maintenance issues and a lack of customer service let it down – otherwise a good place to stay.

Room Tip: If you got for the "compact apartment" option - ask for on on a higher level to avoid pote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this well informed review on your recent stay with us. I am surprised and concerned in respect to the comments made about the customer service you received during your stay. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction so it is dissappointing to hear that we failed to provide this on your recent stay. I would like the opportunity to discuss this further, so please feel free to contact myself direct at the property.

Other than the above I am glad you enjoyed the apartment and facilities and hope to welcome you back at iStay Precinct in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    151
    64
    22
    23
See reviews for
55
100
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Overall my stay was good. A few things could be done to make it better. The bathroom door didn't lock & the fan wouldn't work. One of the bedrooms had no air con so it got really hot at night. We had trouble finding the pool as there were no directions & it was in the adjacent building from where our room was.
I would stay there again though! Also a short walk from Hogs Breath Cafe & a really nice pub (beer garden & food was awesome) called the Benjamin on Franklin.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us at iStay Precinct. It is unfortunate that you experienced minor maintenance issues and rest assured these have been passed onto our maintenance department for action. Our reception desk is staffed 24hrs and the staff are more than happy to assist you with any questions you may have whether it be about the property itself or what Adelaide had to offer during your stay.

iStay Precinct is conveniently located to some great venues being only minutes away from Gouger Street, China Town, The Central Markets and as you mentioned some amazing little pubs.

Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney traveller
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Although not that old, these apartments have seen a lot of use, and could probably do with a lick of paint and general maintenance. That said though, great value if you want self contained in the middle of Adelaide. Spacious and comfortable, quiet at night.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. We are currently planning painting of the apartments which is set to begin in the coming weeks. I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

iStay Precinct is a great place to stay. The staff are friendly and very professional. Rooms are clean and spacious. The 1 bedroom apartment is spacious and very modern. The only disadvantages are the shower which has a very low water pressure and the beds which were two singles that were joined together to make one king - the bed separated in the middle and the gap made it uncomfortable to sleep. The location is okay but a bit out of the way from the city, and but only within half a km to Rundle Mall. If anything, but the location means you have a quiet apartment. The iStay Precinct is a perfect place to stay if you want an affordable self service apartment.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. iStay Precinct is in a great location, even though we are in the West End of the city, it is still only a short stroll to Rundle Mall and even closer to some of Adelaides best restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

iStay is the cheaper brand of Oaks and it shows. However, we didn't experience some of the cleanliness problems mentioned by other reviewers. The room (a double compact) was nice enough, though some aspects of the room were looking a bit tired and the only wardrobe for 2 rooms is shoebox size. It is not in the most attractive part of Adelaide, but it is convenient to Central Market and Gouger Street. The greatest downside to the complex (a managed apartment block) is the noise - from the street and neighbours. It is a young and mobile crowd in and around the place which leads to a fair bit of noise in the wee hours. I wouldn't choose to stay here again as the price difference for nicer places is not that great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. It is disappointing to read of the issues you had with the noise level. On a positive note it is nice to hear that you found the room to be enjoyable. I would like the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further, please feel free to contact myself at the property direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Bedding and towels very clean, but carpets were very stained. Rooms already showing signs of wear. What sort of grub has been staying here. Take some care people. Rooms quiet, only the occasional slam of a neighbors door, particularly if the balcony door is open. (Wind tunnel!) beds comfy. Supplied items very limited. Need to grocery shop early if you want to be self catering. Didn't have a car space so had to take my chances on the street and play 'move the car' so as not to get a ticket. Area felt safe enough to walk in at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at iStay Precinct. As mentioned we are in a great location when speaking of restaurants with Gouger Street only minutes walking distance, as well as the Coles supermarket giving guests the option of cooking for themselves. Car spaces are limited and it always pays to call ahead of time to book one to ensure a car space is reserved for your booking. Thank you for your comments regarding carpets and walls – please note we have just begun a soft refurbishment of the apartments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you love poor customer services, limited facilities, dirty walls, appalling showers and solid beds. Than this is the perfect place for you. Nothing says "Call me a chiropractor" like two well worn single beds punched together to form one craptacular bedding experience.

Room Tip: For the best stay, ask staff for directions to the Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I appreciate the time you have taken in giving feedback in relation to your recent stay. It is disappointing to hear of your mixed experience. Rest assured this is not indicative of the standard we aim to provide and I will be speaking directly with the Housekeeping team as well as the front desk staff to ensure that this experience is not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to iStay Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Precinct

Address: 185 Morphett Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Oaks Precinct)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay Precinct 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iStay Precinct offers urban and contemporary accommodation in the Adelaide CBD. Conveniently located in close proximity to a bustling hub of attractions, stroll to the myriad of entertainment venues, cocktail bars, restaurants and shopping destinations. iStay Precinct accommodation options include 1 and 2-bedroom apartments, each containing full kitchen and laundry facilities, open plan living and private balconies with sweeping city views. Also enjoy the Precinct’s luxurious guest facilities including indoor heated pool, sauna, spa and steam room. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "iStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your iStay Precinct reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay Precinct Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iStay Precinct, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.