We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long drive but well worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parwana Afghan Kitchen

Parwana Afghan Kitchen
124b Henley Beach Road, Torrensville, Adelaide, South Australia 5031, Australia
61-08-84439001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,355 restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Afghan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“A long drive but well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately Parwana is a long way from our house but we finally made the trek out there and it was well worth it. Service was good and the décor was basic but interesting. What really makes this place though is the food - we were a group of 6 so had a plate of just about everything and it was all delicious. Our favourites were the eggplant, the lamb kebab and the mantu. We also tried both of the homemade icecream flavours for dessert and they were both very tasty - better than the standard vanilla or chocolate at other places. I'm already planning our next visit here!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    30
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Adelaide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Family run restaurant. Decor and fit out is basic, but the warmth, sercice and food is fabulous.
The food style is lighter than it looks, really fresh and aromatic.
Make sure you order the dumplings, they're amazing.
Plus it's BYO, with a small corkage fee

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallaroo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Afghan food definitely worth considering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This unpretentious restaurant simply has good fresh tasty food. Lots of interesting tastes. The waiters were helpful and honest with a sense of humor. We shared a number of dishes and enjoyed them all. Lots of vegetarian options but the 'eat meat' males were still happy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Order the desert Falooda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was listening to Adelaide's 5AA's 1395 talk back radio host Amanda Blair when I heard her mention her first visit to Parwana in 2010/2011 & the first 20 callers that wanted to sample the menu were invited to call the radio station. I hadn't eaten there b4 & was't sure how my fussy husband would take it so I took my friend. We thoroughly loved it so we checked out the menu & decided we would drag our husbands along & it has become our favourite. Despite our home being 45 minutes away, after work my husband often gets our favourite take away one particular night a fortnight, the rice (without the orange peel, although that is still nice) the eggplant (oh my oh my) & steamed dumplings AND he orders a Falooda desert while he waits, I only wish he could bring one home. Service once was slow but the servers are lovely & the same familiar faces. Time is precious but love, laughter & comfort food rock my world more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Who would have know this would be such a great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant looks plain from the outside, but inside it was a busy quaint little restaurant.
The staff were so friendly, and the food was delicious. The flavours were amazing - the dumplings were the highlight. The spices and flavours in the food was just great. Will definitely go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parwana Afghan Kitchen also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Parwana Afghan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parwana Afghan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.