We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor air conditioning & silly policy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Adelaide to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor air conditioning & silly policy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Room and staff were pretty good and location great. Air conditioning only works with key in (pretty common). However, room was too hot when we checked in and took 4 hours to cool down. When we left during day, we left key in to keep room cool. Staff removed key, leaving room too hot on our return. Stood by their policy to remove keys when room not occupied and offered to move us to another room with same policy! I get conservation but the air conditioning system simply isn't up to it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    396
    86
    27
    11
See reviews for
119
361
73
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I've stayed at Crowne Plaza Adelaide on several occasions, and my most recent stay was as enjoyable as ever.

This hotel is located in an amazing part of the city and is central to most major attractions. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and the rooms spacious and comfortable.

My only critical comment relates to the hotel's restaurant Red Salt. This is the second time I have eaten there for dinner and both times I have been surprised by the fact that the menu is not particularly over burdened by choice. This time the food was not particularly up to scratch either - particularly considering the price.

Breakfast on the other hand has always been generous and lovely (although still quite pricey)

All in all, I'd certainly recommen Crowne Plaza if you are in Adelaide

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza for my fiances birthday. We've stayed there before and it was fantastic which is why we returned, and we were not disappointed. From the moment you pull up the service is impeccable. The guy at valet made us feel very welcome and was cracking jokes with us. When i booked i vaguely remember mentioning we were staying for my partners birthday. During check-in the girl wished him happy birthday. We had our room upgraded to a balcony and received late check out too. She kindly made a dinner reservation for us too. She must have passed on that it was his birthday because when we arrived in the restaurant, Red Salt, they also wished him happy birthday. The food was to die for and our dessert came out with happy 30th birthday written in chocolate on the edge of the plate. He looked at me and said "did you organise this?" I hadn't, It's the finer details like these that makes the Crowne Plaza so special. The whole stay was wonderful i wish i could stay here every weekend. We will most definitely be back for my birthday.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe and got up graded to a room with a balcony overlooking Hindmarsh Square, we loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Dont expect a five star hotel here.

Location is excellent near to everything. Bit of a problem at checkin. when Arriving from a long flight from London I realised my australian credit card and money was in a purse at the bottom of my hand luggage.The girl would not let me go to my room and then come back down again with the credit card. As I had prepaid for the room and as a middle aged woman dont think I look like the sort of person to trash a room or drink the bar dry I was a bit astounded. I then had to unload all my personal effects onto the reception counter in order to find the credit card.I was not impressed!!

The room was fine but not large.If my husband had been with me I would have only had about 6inches between the bed and the chair beside it, not sure how I was supposed to get out of the bed. I had no bath and the room was overlooking a carpark.The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

Staff were friendly and service good , especially for adelaide where service can be poor.

Would stay again but only if on special, wouldnt pay full price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the crowne plaza on Feb 20 in a king dlxe room.The room was very clean and bathroom fantastic.Staff were always polite and helpful.Valet parking was easy and the buffet breakfast was a delight.
Great location for shopping in rundle mall,2 min walk and 5 min walk to great restaurants and cinemas in rundle street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Arrived at the Crowne Plaza after driving across the Nullarbor from Perth. Friendly and effeftive valet service although it was $30 but I did find that most hotels in the city charged the same. Quick check-in, modern clean rooms with foxtel. Only complaint would be the view of the multistorey car park however for a twin share with double beds in a standard room with breakfast included and valet parking at $200 it's fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Just a great Crowne Plaza with excellent rooms. We stayed 13th floor, no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Address: 16 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the peaceful gardens of Hindmarsh Square and with many of the city’s most popular cafes and restaurants right at our doorstep, Crowne Plaza Adelaide is the accommodation of choice for those seeking a truly connected and memorable Adelaide experience. Each of our 308 modern rooms have been designed with our guests’ optimum comfort in mind. Each room comes equipped with deluxe amenities, including ergonomic workstations and luxurious bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Those visiting Adelaide on business may enjoy the use of our 24-hour guest business centre, or perhaps take advantage of our renowned Meeting Success program, featuring the one-to-one attention of a dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may also enjoy the use of our on-site gymnasium, pool, spa and sauna facilities. If you're looking to explore the city, our Concierge will assist in securing all the information you’ll need to take a tour of the local wineries, visit the world-renowned giant pandas at Adelaide Zoo, or explore the sandy beaches at nearby Glenelg. Crowne Plaza Adelaide has been awarded Australia's Top Tourism Development in the 2012 Property Council of Australia Innovation & Excellence Awards as was the winner of the the AAA Tourism Best Deluxe Accommodation Award for 2011. Discover South Australia and celebrate your stay at Crowne Plaza Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.