We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not particularly impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adabco Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adabco Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Adabco Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Wakefield Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not particularly impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I am a business traveller and I don't expect miracles. Considering I'm out all day and don't eat meals at the hotel it really isn't as if I'm expecting5 star service. But most important to me is a good night's sleep and a clean room.

The first room I was put into smelled of sewerage and when I went down to ask for a new room I was moved into one of the rooms that faces the red cross. 24 hour refrigeration is not peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask if you're facing the Red Cross, if so I suggest moving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    297
    68
    15
    13
See reviews for
60
330
69
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nhill, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our third stay and again we LOVED it. What more can I say....our room was huge, on check-out David informed us that this is their largest twin share room, well I hope whenever we come to stay at the Adabco that we can arrange to have this room! The staff are always friendly and obliging, would like to mention David, who I have dealt with via phone and front desk, very friendly and professional. Thanks you always make us feel welcome! We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very elegant hotel enjoys a good location in the CBD of Adelaide. In just a few minutes walk you can reach the Chinatown restaurants and Rundle Mall (in any case, even in the immediate vicinity there are great restaurants and a Dominos Pizza that is open late for the emergencies of the belly!). The rooms are equipped with every comfort and are very clean and comfortable (although the view of some rooms is not good). The staff is friendly and courteous. The hotel also offers free 2 computers for internet access, a luggage storage service and the breakfast which I must say was a little too basic though adequate. I think Adabco Hotel is excellent for value for money and there's not of better to advise in the city of Adelaide.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with 'view wall'; ask to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here on Xmas Eve/Xmas Day. Arrived to a friendly, efficient check in. $21 for cab from the airport. It would have been a bit far to walk with suitcases from the central bus station had we come in on the airport bus.

Rate was $149 for 2 people including breakfast - booked through hotel website.

The room was nicely furnished with a king sized bed, small fridge, air con, tv, cupboards, drawers, bookshelf. There was good lighting and nice carpet. Everything seemed to be good quality.
There was also a modern bathroom.
There was a kitchen on this floor, so the Adabco is also suitable for longer stays.

It was situated near a hospital and we were also able to walk to the Adelaide Zoo, Chinatown area and the river.

Continental breakfast was served in the dining room. Nothing to complain about.

We were able to store our bags while we filled in the day waiting for our transfer for a Murray River cruise. When we came back to the hotel, we were able to freshen up and wait in the lounge area until our ride arrived.

There is an lift in this building.

Overall a nice hotel, with wonderful decor and deserves the high ratings on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel has spacious and comfortable rooms, an adequate breakfast included in the price (toast, cereal, juice etc.), free internet access at computers in the lounge area, a large communal kitchen on each floor so you can cook if you wish and helpful and friendly staff. Definitely the best hotel room of our trip. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the tram stops and a 5 minute walk to Bocellis restaurant which was excellent. Adelaide has been planned on a grid road system so do not expect stunning views from your hotel however there is the lovely beach resort of Glenelg a 10/15 minute tram ride away which is certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The twin room was spacious and modern.The room was freshly made up the first day with new towels and toiletries however this lapsed the next day with only new towels provided. Nothing was cleaned or beds made up and no toiletries as if they had forgotten to complete the room.The breakfast room was very easy to use and more than adequate. All breakfast items were available and newspapers provided which was a nice touch. The room air conditioner was getting a workout during the heatwave but was fantastic. Plenty of storage space and a fantastic full length mirror in the room with desk and fridge. The lack of secure parking is a problem but you don't have to feed the ticket machine after 6pm, but many people were leaving breakfast to buy a ticket at 8am which was $2.60 per hour and only a 2 hour parking limit, so you couldn't leave the car there all day and do something else which became a nuisance.
The communal kitchens on each level were a great idea and fantastic if you want to cook your own meals. IGA supermarket was just around the corner in Hutt St 5 minutes away. We ate at Bocelli on the corner of Hutt and Wakefield streets. Fabulous value, great meals and air conditioned casual dining. I highly recommend Adabco for its location, friendly helpful staff and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: The higher floors have less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath, uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

this is a nice hotel approx 15 minutes walk from rundle mall and the main sights of adelaide. Our room was large and clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is included but it's basic and you may want to search out something more substantial. The staff were great making eating recommendations and helping with taxis to the airport, maps and directions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Address: 223 Wakefield Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adabco Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.