We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More motel than boutique hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Soho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Soho to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Soho
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   264 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“More motel than boutique hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel didn't live up to its boutique hotel claims - it seemed more like a revamped motel with still some work to do.. The location is quite good - an easy walk to all the restaurants & bars but the street the hotel is on is rather bland. Rooms were spacious but the bathroom was a bit old & small.
Service was mixed - reception (the security guard at the small front desk) was not very welcoming on arrival but he seemed better the next day.
There are better value for money basic hotels in Adelaide..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    87
    47
    21
    18
See reviews for
15
136
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kyoto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed overnight at the Clarion Soho during some very cold wet Adelaide weather. I was very pleased to discover the hot pool on the 5th floor which was reminiscent of being in Japan. Perfect after a busy day. After an excellent breakfast in the hotel's cafe I waited an hour during a rain and hail for a taxi. Samantha at reception called the cab company 3 times before organising a private lift foe me to get to a very important meeting.

Room Tip: The bed was very comfy. If my budget had been bigger wi would have upgraded to a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

After overlooking this hotel on many trips to Adelaide, I finally choose to stay a night at the Clarion Hotel Soho. When you first enter this hotel you are likely to feel concerned about the room sizes, the main entrance is small and cramped. However, our Studio Room was generously-sized and included a couch and interestingly, windows which could be opened. A breath of fresh air!

However, one area that this hotel can certainly improve is room maintenance. Enormous paint chips, a poorly mounted TV, cracked bedside lamp and shabby bathroom detracted from some of the more positive features of this hotel. The bathroom was most notable for the way it flooded after having a shower - rather poorly designed.

The hotel is located in a quiet part of the CBD but still within easy walking distance from restaurants and shopping.

The service at this hotel was lacklustre and dismissive. Great hospitality is not something which you should expect here. Overall, this hotel offers great sized rooms and a nice vibe, but there are definitely other options which can deliver a better experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at the Clarion Soho while in Adelaide for a two week business trip. The hotel is best described as a small boutique hotel. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. After two weeks at the Clarion Soho, I got to know the friendly staff.

The cafe in the hotel was a very nice perk of the hotel. Their main barista made very good coffee. His was the best I had in Australia.

You can walk to Rundle street and Hutt street from the Clarion. Both areas have a wide array of food and pub choices.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the small side. I would book the suite for a longer duration trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Good hotel, helpful and courteous staff, and great to be able to open the whole wall of folding windows. Also papers, huge flat screen TV etc etc. Parking in the street was really easy and property is in good walking distance of all CBD

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

So don't judge the hotel by the lobby or public areas. Space has been compromised in these areas because they have put the floor space into the rooms! We had the studio room and had lots of room, The bed was comfortable and the room and furnishing was nice. The bathroom was a little cosy and the tiling in the shower was a little patchy but everything else in the bathroom was good. Our room had a desk, couch and sofa chair, still with a lot of floor space. We could've easily entertained up to 6 people comfortably. We had dinner at the restaurant - which was VERY cosy. Unfortunately our food was all rather burnt. The flavours were nice but the fact that the food was a bit charred put us off. The waitress was lovely and gave us really good service. All the staff we dealt with were really polite.

The location was good, near Hutt St and parking was fairly easy (loads on the street but had various time limits after 9am). We were on the first floor and were woken a number of times throughout the night by delivery and garbage trucks but the bed itself was clean and comfortable.

While I really enjoyed our stay there, we would choose somewhere different purely because we have already stayed here and would try somewhere we haven't stayed. I would however recommend this place to friends as it is good value and location when you can get it cheap.

Room Tip: Hopefully the higher up you are the less street noise you would hear. The restaurant is hit or miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Slugged us a $30 surcharge, 5 months after staying there !! Apparently because we stayed on a Saturday night, there should have been this additional charge.
Fair enough, but don't just take it from my credit card months later, without any prior warning.
Wouldn't you just let it slide by then.
Not even sure if it's legal.
Poor customer service !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Soho

Address: 264 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#25 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Soho 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide's newest accommodation evokes the eclectic, arty vibe of London's Soho district just meters from Adelaide's trendy East End. From its slick contemporary exterior to its stunning interior decor, Soho is an uber-chic experience boasting 30 luxurious rooms, including balcony & spa suites, with views over Adelaide's city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.