We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the cheapest, but very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Adelaide to your Saves list
BreakFree Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Hindley St., Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the cheapest, but very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Not cheap, but spacious, clean, good equipped apartments, more than enough for a family of four. We only stayed for one night, our last in Adelaide, since we had another room reserved for 6 previous nights. But would consider a little bit higher price of this apartment which offered much more luxury - if we new the difference earlier ...
family from Slovenia

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Kompaski,

Thank you for reviewing Breakfree Adelaide on Trip Advisor.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the apartments to be spacious and well equipped.

Kind Regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    122
    58
    28
    16
See reviews for
60
85
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I booked my room before I'd read any reviews so I suppose I was lucky that things turned out so well. Because I,was travelling with my son and grandson
I requested 3 single beds, this can be a problem for some hotels. No problem here. The room was excellent. After booking I read some reviews about noise problems. I stayed Friday and Saturday night and apart from a rousing rendition of the Richmond theme song from from supporters very happy about the victory over Adelaide, it was pretty quiet. My room was facing Hindley Street but there were no problems. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. I had a problem with the washing machine and they were able to resolve the issue quickly.

I think this hotel is great value for money, I would not hesitate to stay again.



Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear CricketUmpire,

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Breakfree Adelaide, i hope that your Son and Grandson also had a great stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide on Trip Advisor

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed 1 month at BreakFree because of proximity to my student son's accommodation & to the city, and because it allowed a degree of eating independence (choice of my personal kitchen area or nearby restaurants).
I consider it a 3 star hotel, or a 4 star motel in a convenient location. It was what I needed & after confirming for an initial week, I extended thru the full month, so I was clearly happy enough with the setup.
Staff were responsive, rooms were basic, but included the essentials, and the kitchen was obviously important for me, allowing for breakfast in my room & late night snacks of my choosing.
Bathroom was small and included washer/dryer which was in regular use.
Each morning I chose to walk 5 minutes to my sons accommodation & use his car or bicycle, or alternatively walk 5 minutes to the tram stop to ride to rundle shopping mall or close to adelaide university (tram was free within city), or sometimes I just walked to nearby offices or restaurants as required.
On Friday & Saturday nights there can be some noise on the street with nearby entertainment venues and the crowds that visit the city because of the new aussie rules football venue. The hotel fills over the weekend ... room rates go up a little at the weekend. Some times there are unsavory characters outside late at night during these active entertainment periods, but overall was not an issue that bothered me. I had a hindley street facing room (potentially the noisiest), so by requesting a room facing into the courtyard, or a side street, it could be quieter.
My room did have some small ants attracted to the kitchen & bathroom area, but clearly I am reaching to find issues.
Some guests were using the computers provided near reception, and some guests used the ground level car parks available for a fee. There was access to a local gym, requiring a 5 minute walk. I used none of these three options.
I was pleased, it is economic, convenient & allows for some independence.
Adelaide weather had some major cold spells while I was there, so sometimes I just wanted to be rugged up in the room, & the room was certainly warm enough!

Room Tip: rooms away from Hindley Street are likely to be quieter, but the noise was only Fri/Sat & was us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Gary-L8,

It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your month at Breakfree Adelaide, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit your son.

Sorry the weather was so cold!

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place wasn't very expensive, but you do get what you pay for. If you don't expect any more than that then you won't be disappointed. The room was nice and clean. Everything we needed, including a nice queen bed, TV (movie channels are extra), kitchenette, bathroom, dining area and a very small balcony.
The staff were lovely and helpful, and the location was fairly convenient, mind you we had our car and didn't use public transport, so I can't help you with that.
Unfortunately, we stayed during some construction works next door, which closed off the main street and made a lot of noise during the day. But, these things happen.

The overall worst thing was the internal noise. The place is extremely echo-y. You can hear people walking along the concrete walkways day and night, and when you are next to 2 rooms of drunken yobbos, the noise carries through the walls and down the halls.

Room Tip: Probably better off getting a room at ground level. Much bigger balcony area and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Ash B,

Its dissapointing to hear that the noise from other guests disrupted your stay and that you were further disrupted by construction next door. However, I am happy to report that the street upgrade has now been completed and there are no more construction works.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the staff I will make sure the team hear your positive comments.

Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

All staff including house keeping at break free adelaide are extremely friendly, professional and welcoming and are willing to go the extra mile for their customers. Front office manager is an absolutely delightful and shows genuine interest to customer needs. The property is older and I had my doubts when I first booked but the service hands down outweigh that dilemma

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear SSouthAussi94

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Breakfree Adelaide!

I am very proud of my team here and have made sure they are all aware of your fabulous comments.

Thanks again and I look foward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for the V8 Clipsal weekend in 2014. We had the double bedroom. One room with a double bed and the other with 2 single beds.The hotel room was big, comfortable and clean. The shower was for short people. we had to bend our knees to get our hair wet and the pressure wasn't very good. As it was full there was a lot of noise at night from in side the hotel but we couldn't here any street noise. The staff was friendly. the hotel was walking distance to Rundle Mall. we did walk to the v8 track but took 40 mins but there are buses you can catch to and from the track.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Amanda W

Thank you for your review of Breakfree Adelaide on Trip Advisor.

The feedback you gave regarding the shower head is very valuable as we will soon be undergoing a refurbishment of the rooms.

Its great to hear that you found your room to be big, comfortable and clean. I look forward to welcoming you back to Breakfree Adelaide if you return to the V8's again next year.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Our apartment was clean and well equipped with a small kitchen (full fridge, oven, microwave, kettle, toaster), living area with 3-seat couch, single chair and table for four. Our two boys had their own room with two singles and we had a queen room. We thought the price was reasonable, considering it was a CBD apartment and we saved $$ by cooking in. All rooms were small, nothing flash, but still much better than being in a standard hotel room.
Location is great. Hindley St is known for its bars and 'adult' stores/clubs, but it was always fairly quiet and we felt safe, even with the kids at night. VERY handy to Adelaide Oval for footy, and we found it an easy walk to Rundle Mall and Central Markets, both of which have supermarkets (and great fresh food at the market!). Free CBD transport - bus and tram- are nearby and the front desk were helpful with info.
A few negatives, but these weren't major to us:
Rooms are accessed through outdoor walkways and things got a bit noisy outside with some late-night revellers.
Our room was often missed by cleaning, even though we hung the sign out asking for our room to be made up. Perhaps because we came back at lunchtimes and missed our chance? Had to do the walk of shame to ask for toilet paper :(
Location and fantastic service by all the front desk staff made up for it, though. Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Louise O,

Its good to hear that you thought our location is great! The free CBD transport does make it easy to get around. I apologise that your room wasn't serviced every day and I will investigate this with my team.

I will make sure the front desk team receive the lovely feedback you provided. Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Adelaide

Address: 255 Hindley St., Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Adelaide offers business and leisure travellers serviced studios, one or two bedroom apartments situated in Adelaide’s contemporary West End.Guests will enjoy comfortable accommodation in well-appointed, spacious apartments which include modern amenities and a range of premier guest facilities.BreakFree Adelaide is located close to the Central Business District of Adelaide and a range of local transport options. For leisure travellers with the time to explore the many delights on offer in Adelaide, which is known locally as the city of churches, take advantage of the ‘City Free Bus’ that stops directly outside the Hotel. Alternatively many local attractions can be reached on foot including the colourful arts district, Adelaide Convention Centre, Casino and popular shopping destination of Rundle Mall.BreakFree Adelaide is within close proximity to a choice of tempting restaurants as well as bars and clubs with a glamorous nightlife.For a day out catch the tram and visit the sea side town of Glenelg (the tram stops 2 minutes walk from the door) or take a trip to the Adelaide hills and visit a wonderful vineyard or the early settler town of Hahndorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On Hindley Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.