We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, average room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Adelaide to your Saves list
BreakFree Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Hindley St., Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service, average room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Reception staff were very helpful, however there's only so many times you can ask the directions to your room - I found the directions a bit tricky to follow and after a day of work and flying, I wasn't in the mood for a treasure hunt to find where I would be sleeping the night. The room itself provided all the basic necessities, was clean and had a good home feel (didn't really feel like a hotel room). The fully equipped kitchen and stocked fridge surprised me however room service was a little bit pricey. All in all, a comfortable well rounded hotel and room, great for short stays (and treasure hunters).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Simonlsk

I'm sorry that you found the directions given to you weren't clear. I have discussed this issue with my team and I thank you for the feedback so that we can continually improve on our service.

Its good to hear that you found your room comfortable and the staff helpful.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    134
    74
    32
    16
See reviews for
70
97
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bundoora, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very easy check in. Not problems. Arrived early but room was ready. Room was clean and tidy. Thought i booked just a room but when walked in there was a kitchen. Very nice. Check out very easy. Not hassles at all. Nice and close to the city and Adelaide Oval which was nice as i was there for footy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Jodie F

Its great to hear that your stay at Breakfree Adelaide was hassle free and easy and that you enjoyed the facilities in your apartment. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor.

I hope your footy team won! I look forward to welcoming you back should you return in the future.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Nice and clean, plenty of room. Good value. A little noisy at night but that can't helped. We had a function off Port Rd. Nice and handy given trams close by. Didn't have to worry about taxis in and out of city and when we come back in it was close to night life action.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not right on Hindley St
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Amanda R

Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay at Breakfree Adelaide and found the location to be good!

Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Could do with a refurbishment. Very noisy in the early hours of the morning. Too far to walk to the city center if you are elderly. I would give it a miss. The only good thing was it was close to a pub just around the corner that served great meals for ten dollars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Katyscon,

Thank you for the very valid points you raised in your review of Breakfree Adelaide.

I am happy to say that we are currently in the process of establishing a refurbishment plan for all the rooms at Breakfree Adelaide. Also, I hope that you were able to make use of the tram that travels right through the city centre, The tram stop is a short distance from the hotel and, best of all, it's free.

Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Reasonable value for this type of accomodation. A little small and the bathroom needing a bit of work but good price for a few nights that we stayed. No close supermarket but not far to walk into Rundle Mall. Walking distance to to many things at that end of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Trevor W

Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide on Tripadvisor.

Its good to hear that you found the value to be reasonable.

I hope that you were able to make use of the tram service in Adelaide. The tram stop is a very short distance from the hotel and takes you to Rundle Mall. Best of all its free!

I hope to welcome you back to Breakfree Adelaide in the future.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My family & I stayed for 2 weeks at Breakfree Adelaide over the Easter holidays. If we had not pre-paid for this hotel (hotel was recommended by Harvey World of Travel in Richmond) we would not have got out of the taxi upon arrival from the airport. The only decent thing about this hotel was the hotel staff, especially those staff on the front desk. The hotel appears to have a policy of allowing (possibly encouraging) large groups of males in each of the rooms. Above us we had 6 very loud/noisy youths, the noise went on for hours/days. Complaints from us directly to the boys & then eventually via reception had no affect. Admittedly we were informed that the hotel would be hiring extra security staff to deal with the rampaging youths that were running all over the hotel. The hotel literature refers to the surrounding area as "vibrant West End", we think a more realistic reference would be "sleazy/druggie/prostitute Kings Cross" & it's strange how they omitted to mention the Prison which was a couple of meters from our balcony.
This hotel is not suitable for families & should not be advertised as one.
On our return home we contacted our travel agent, Harvey World of Travel in Richmond to express our concerns (in 30 years of travel I have never been so angry/disappointed with a holiday) & the correspondence back from the owner/operator Tim Dunnill - pathetic.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: For a good room choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Hamilton96

Thank you for your feedback. I understand where you are coming from however, as mentioned in previous correspondence to you we are not situated near any strip clubs, in fact we are opposite the University of South Australia.

I thank you for your comment regarding our staff, especially those on front desk. It highlights our desire to ensure our guests enjoy their stay which is why we offered to move you to another room that was quiet, but I do apologise that other guests disturbed your sleep.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative

Kind Regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I suspect if you got given a room that was in a better position than the one we stayed in then it would probably be a pretty decent place to stay given its location.

The room we were in however, which was located on the one of the side streets with a quite a large brick building opposite, was pretty ordinary. I wasn’t staying there for a view so that didn’t bother me aside from the fact that it meant virtually no natural light got into the room and it had to be the darkest room I’ve ever stayed in! There was also a very stale smell to the room which hit you as soon as you walked in.

The bathroom wasn’t great either, no window or fan meant it was moulding a bit and the setup of the shower meant it was virtually impossible not to flood the bathroom when showering.

Having said all that it served its purpose for us as we were there for a boozy weekend and was very cheap for where it is located. If you are after a bit more luxury though I wouldn’t stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear ajenks02

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Breakfree Adelaide.

I can assure you that I will take your comments seriously and thoroughly investigate the matter.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Adelaide

Address: 255 Hindley St., Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Adelaide offers business and leisure travellers serviced studios, one or two bedroom apartments situated in Adelaide's contemporary West End. Guests of BreakFree Adelaide will enjoy comfortable accommodation in well-appointed, spacious apartments which include modern amenities and a range of premier guest facilities. BreakFree Adelaide is located close to the Central Business District of Adelaide and a range of local transport options. For leisure travellers with the time to explore the many delights on offer in Adelaide, which is known locally as the city of churches, take advantage of the 'City Free Bus' that stops directly outside the Hotel. Alternatively many local attractions can be reached on foot including the colourful arts district, Adelaide Convention Centre, Casino and popular shopping destination of Rundle Mall. BreakFree Adelaide is within close proximity to a choice of tempting restaurants as well as bars and clubs with a glamorous nightlife. For a day out catch the tram and visit the sea side town of Glenelg (the tram stops 2 minutes walk from the door) or take a trip to the Adelaide hills and visit a wonderful vineyard or the early settler town of Hahndorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On Hindley Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.