We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of space for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Adelaide to your Saves list
BreakFree Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Hindley St., Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
Perth, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lots of space for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very affordable 2 bedroom apartments here. Location is good enough. Not incredibly central, but not too much of a walk to get into the CBD. Clean premises, helpful staff. Bedrooms are a little small, but for the price you can't complain :)

Room Tip: Get the biggest room possible :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Venismecha,
Thanks for your comments. We are pleased to read you found the apartments to be clean and spacious. As always, the staff will be happy to read you found their service helpful.
We hope you choose to stay with us again if visiting our city.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    122
    58
    28
    16
See reviews for
60
85
22
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had rooms at the back of the complex so were not bothered by any nightlife noises that have been unfavourably reviewed by others.
The hotel is nice and central and very close to the free tram which we used quite often.
We found our units clean and very roomy with all the thongs we needed.
My only criticism would be the cheap fry pan and saucepans with round bottoms didn't make good contact with the solid elements on the stove thus it took a while to cook my breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you get rooms in the internal or back units if you don't want nightlife noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear LadsFit
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay.
It's certainly nice to read your positive comments. The Tram is a great way to get around and explore our city.
We hope you choose to stay with us again, if your travel plans see you return to our city
Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a steal of a price. It was a good size with ample facilities including kitchen and balcony. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. However, the apartment was a bit dark and gloomy, with the walls reminded me of a seedy motel. The hotel has an interesting courtyard setup, but otherwise it has minimal facilities (no pool, etc).
The hotel is located on Hindley Street which is the main nightclub strip of Adelaide - and not necessarily the most inviting street either. It is quite a walk to Rundle Mall and other sights.
Recommended if you want somewhere to sleep after night out on the town or if you're not planning on spending much time at the hotel. It's quite handy to have a kitchen so you can prepare a decent breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: A room that does not overlook Hindley Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us.
We appreciate your comments regarding the 2 bedroom apartment you mention and that you found the location handy.
Regarding the street; as we are in the vicinity of the University (next to us) as a side note we will see further improvements to the street scape in a few months including widening of the footpaths and a facelift to the street with new trees, this should all add to the overall street appeal which we are looking forward to experiencing.
Sincerely
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

When we checked in at the Breakfree Adelaide we realized we accidentally booked the wrong date but the staff handled the situation very professional and got us in for the same day.

The Apartment was clean and we had everything we needed. We booked a 2 Bedroom Apartment for 3 Adults and the space was enough to give us all the privacy we needed. Sadly the 2nd Bedroom did not have air conditioning which was a slight down turn as we had 30+ during our stay. The other thing was the lack of outdoor furniture on the balcony.

One more thing which was a minus (being committed to work even though I was on holidays), the cost of Internet in the rooms is outrageous and the only way to get free Internet is sitting in the lobby trying to get your work and travel plans sorted when much more appreciated in private space.

All in all I would recommend this place if you don't mind of not having A/c in all rooms and not necessarily need Wi-fi for work or in privacy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I will pass your comments onto the team as they are always pleased to read positive comments regarding their service - thank you.
I note your comment regarding the AC unit, we usually have no issue with cooling the apartments right down, the hot spell I think may have hindered this to some degree.
As a side note, we do now have Free WiFi in our foyer. Our guests can use either our computers or their own lap top to gain access.
Thank you again for your comments
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Breakfree Adelaide in early March 2013 during Womad, when everything seemed to be booked out or very pricey due to the number of festivals being held at the time. The 2 bedroom unit we stayed in was very small and a bit shabby and quite dark. Our unit faced on to the remand centre which has a huge and very noisy aircon unit on that side, not a good spot for a balcony. The location is a bit out of the centre but there's a free bus running along Hindley Street every 15 minutes or so going into the centre of the city and along North Terrace in a loop. Overall not a bad option for a busy time of year.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with balconies facing the remand centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear KayG
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Womad - a fantastic time to be visiting our city indeed, March has many wonderful events and the World Music Festival continues to grow.
Your comments I appreciate, there are some aspects of your stay you enjoyed and the ones not so much we will review with the Team.
If your travel plans see you return to next years festival, please don't hesitate to contact me personally, so that I can help to allocate the apartment to your preferred location on our property.
Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The apartment we stayed in was perfect for our needs. Two bedrooms, nice lounge, kitchen, bathroom. Aircon in the lounge for the hot weather, balcony.
We overlooked the Remand facility, which we cottoned onto once we noticed the barbed wire, cameras and flood lights! No problem there, it looks very secure, but the lights go on and off all night at random intervals, and the generator/machinery for the place was on the other side of the lane from us, and was LOUD. It goes 24/7, so to leave one's window open on a hot night, is to accept dealing with the noise.
The building is located very close to the Western side of the city, so it was quite a hike into town, and to the track each day (Clipsal), and coming home at night you had to push through crowds of partiers, but that was ok with us.
It was comfortable, clean and very secure. The staff were also friendly and helpful.
Recommended if you're not planning on spending all day inside, and just need somewhere comfortable to relax/sleep at the end of a busy day. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Rumbucks,
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.
It's nice to read your positive comments regarding our accommodation.
In regards to the location, we will be seeing upgrade works through the street commence shortly, this is a joint venture with the Uni, Council and Government. The plans look great and we look forward to this local facelift.
If your travel plans see you return to us, please don't hesitate in making yourself known to be at the time of booking. I would like to have the opportunity to look after your reservation requirements personally.
Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed in a studio for 4 nights and found it well sized and very reasonably priced. Had a courtyard facing room and didn't hear any night time noises over the long weekend. Just a couple of gripes - one of the wine glasses provided was smeared with lipstick - it wouldn't have been hard to spot and clean by the room staff and of the 2 bath towels provided, one was so thin it was scratchy - great for exfoliating!
The location is almost on the perimeter of Adelaide city's streets, but is on top of the free bus stop that takes you to the centre and a short walk to the free tram which will also take you to the centre. The tram seemed more reliable than the bus, as it comes every 10 minutes, whereas the bus is every 20 minutes (or half an hour on weekends) and once when we were waiting didn't show up at all, so that made the wait extra long. They also don't run late at night, which makes the 20 minute walk back from the centre of the city interesting along Hindley Street's nightlife area.
Having the kitchen in the apartment meant we could have breakfast on the cheap before heading off for the day. We visited the fabulous Adelaide Markets and stocked up on goodies there on our first day. Coles supermarket is right next door to the market for anything extra and the free bus and tram drop you off very close to the markets.

Room Tip: Recommend a courtyard facing room
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Buttonlily,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.
It's nice to read you found the hotel was great value for money. It's also great to read you were able to take advantage of the Free Tram to visit our fabulous Central Markets - it's well worth the trip!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Adelaide

Address: 255 Hindley St., Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Adelaide offers business and leisure travellers serviced studios, one or two bedroom apartments situated in Adelaide’s contemporary West End.Guests will enjoy comfortable accommodation in well-appointed, spacious apartments which include modern amenities and a range of premier guest facilities.BreakFree Adelaide is located close to the Central Business District of Adelaide and a range of local transport options. For leisure travellers with the time to explore the many delights on offer in Adelaide, which is known locally as the city of churches, take advantage of the ‘City Free Bus’ that stops directly outside the Hotel. Alternatively many local attractions can be reached on foot including the colourful arts district, Adelaide Convention Centre, Casino and popular shopping destination of Rundle Mall.BreakFree Adelaide is within close proximity to a choice of tempting restaurants as well as bars and clubs with a glamorous nightlife.For a day out catch the tram and visit the sea side town of Glenelg (the tram stops 2 minutes walk from the door) or take a trip to the Adelaide hills and visit a wonderful vineyard or the early settler town of Hahndorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On Hindley Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.