We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and minuses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Adelaide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Adelaide to your Saves list
BreakFree Adelaide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Hindley St., Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pluses and minuses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I'll start with minuses and end on a positive note. Cigarette butts strewn throughout patio area. Six story university being constructed next door. Loud crashing noises throughout the night. Not that the construction site and the crashing noises are the accommodation providers fault. One towel in room.
Pluses - Wotif deal at a good price. Rooms comfortable, other than cleaners not venturing outside, generally clean. Bed comfortable, great location, reception staff pleasant and accommodating with 11am check out. Parking reasonably priced. I would return perhaps when construction finished.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Traveler_1970
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the apartment and service our team provided, they will be pleased to read your feedback.
It is indeed good to read you found these aspects of your stay very pleasing.
Regarding the construction you note, we are advised the Uni SA external building you note will be complete by the end of December. Their lower exterior wall is already almost in place, once done, any noise should be further contained. We have a very spread out property and many rooms are not at all close to this area.
If your travel plans see you return, I do hope we can accommodate you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    122
    58
    28
    16
See reviews for
60
85
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed just one night for 4 adults and that was enough! The hotel was located on a strip of clubs and pubs so all your hear are drunk people in street and walking around hotel late at night. Service was not that great comparing to most hotels. The design is silly, it took 25 mins to maneuver a luggage trolley from ground floor reception to the room on 3rd floor! Without any assistance from staff! The walkways around floors were much too Narrow. By the time we arrived at room, it was smelly and so very tiny for 4 people, no room to even put your luggage on the floor without tripping over it! Air con was loud and kitchen and bathroom were undersized for the amount of bedrooms. Fridge was very old and noisy and the beds were extremely uncomfortable... Great pillows though! Wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on a Friday or Saturday night if you actually want to get sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Hotelcrtic,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Although you found some of the aspects of your visit had shortcomings, please feel free to contact me directly at the property if your travel plans saw you return to our city. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you again and ensure you leave with a great lasting impression.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on this site I really wasn't expecting much. I'm happy to say the accommodation was fantastic. The room was modern and clean. The bathroom was a little tired looking but perfectly adequate, the water pressure is second to none! The only downside was the location which is on Hindly street and looks a bit dodgy but it is close to the convention centre and Rundal mall. Front desk staff were very helpful. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed away from the street as recommended by previous reviews, was a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit, we are glad to read you found the accommodation to be fantastic and the staff helpful.
I will pass your comments through to the Team. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in transit from Darwin to Melbourne. Apartments situated within easy walk of tram, free bus stops outside door, ideal for older travelling couples, well maintained serviced daily apartments, provision of washing & drying facilities in the room very useful some noise from building site next door but this will only be temporary staff helpful & friendly will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Gary B
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We appreciate your positive comments, I am pleased to read you found the apartment well equipped. I will share your feedback with the Team!
Best regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NZ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip for 5 nights. The apartment was adequate for my needs though small - without good access to the wardrobe and not enough hangers. Some parts of it were dated, however for a self-sufficient place it was good. The fridge and air conditioner were really noisy overnight, so much so that I had to turn them off, though I am a light sleeper. As well as staying weekday nights I also stayed Friday and Saturday night and there was a bit of street noise even though I was in a back room - not as significant as I thought it could be with that end of Hindley Street being the nightclub end. Probably the most noise was from people coming back to their apartments at the early hours wandering along the concrete balconies! I found that as a solo female traveller I was reluctant to leave the facility at night, so that posed some difficulties for meals as there were only an Indian and an Italian restaurant that would do room service. However there is a full kitchen available to cook your own meals. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are pleased to read that overall your experience was good. As you mention, adjacent we have an Indian and Italian restaurant that provides room service, their menu options are quite extensive but there are also lots of other restaurants in the area we can recommend for you next time. Adelaide has many 'eat streets' famous for great food.
If your travel plans see you return from NZ, I hope I can have the oportunity to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The apartments are not that well located - a little far from the centre of the city so a cab is a likely option, rather than walking.

It seems to be the accommodation of choice for rowdy groups, I had a drunk couple knock on my door at 5am, and not even an apology when they found out it was the wrong room!

The apartment had not been very thoroughly cleaned before our arrival - someone had painted a giant symbol of a penis on the mirrror on the back of the door using shaving foam. This was obviously missed by the cleaning staff - probably because you couldn't actually close the door without moving the bed out of the way, so they don't bother to close the door and subsequently don't clean the mirror! There was also a piece of old chewing gum stuck on the underside of the table, which I inadvertently put my hand on - gross!

The street noise at night will keep you awake, and the traffic noise in the morning will wake you up. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Avoid anything fronting on Hindley, or the construction work that is happening on the east side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 3 nights as part of our road trip from NSW. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was lovely and clean. It had everything we needed including a washing machine and dryer.
Our room faced the front of the hotel but as the bedrooms are at the back we didn't hear any noise. The free city bus stops out the front and the free city tram is just one block away. Rundle Mall is about a 15 minute walk away.
If you have a car, parking is $15 per night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Adelaide

Address: 255 Hindley St., Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Adelaide offers business and leisure travellers serviced studios, one or two bedroom apartments situated in Adelaide’s contemporary West End.Guests will enjoy comfortable accommodation in well-appointed, spacious apartments which include modern amenities and a range of premier guest facilities.BreakFree Adelaide is located close to the Central Business District of Adelaide and a range of local transport options. For leisure travellers with the time to explore the many delights on offer in Adelaide, which is known locally as the city of churches, take advantage of the ‘City Free Bus’ that stops directly outside the Hotel. Alternatively many local attractions can be reached on foot including the colourful arts district, Adelaide Convention Centre, Casino and popular shopping destination of Rundle Mall.BreakFree Adelaide is within close proximity to a choice of tempting restaurants as well as bars and clubs with a glamorous nightlife.For a day out catch the tram and visit the sea side town of Glenelg (the tram stops 2 minutes walk from the door) or take a trip to the Adelaide hills and visit a wonderful vineyard or the early settler town of Hahndorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On Hindley Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.