We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally offering good food and service- capable of greatness on occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Hotel

The Lion Hotel
161 Melbourne Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
08 8367 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 1,379 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $97
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
1,167 reviews 1,167 reviews
609 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
974 helpful votes 974 helpful votes
“Generally offering good food and service- capable of greatness on occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I've been here several times.

The restaurant in the hotel is in a separate area- it's really a restaurant dining room rather than a pub.

The decor is modern and upmarket.

The house specialty is steak- they have a rotisserie for slow roasting the beef.

Pricing is like a restaurant as well.

Generally, you can expect good food and service here- suitable for a business lunch or special occasion meal.

Sometimes, they can surprise you- in a good way- with exceptional food.

It's a reliable choice of venue for all round good quality.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    51
    23
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food was yummy. Service find. Very pretty. IN VERY LOUD PUB”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This restaurant as described as an upper class type restaurant... ie fine dining with the price tag to match. The interior of the restaurant has been designed very nicely with different levels and a fantastic look. The kitchen is in view of the restaurant so the chefs are all very quiet!!! There are plenty of waiters running around doing their jobs... almost too much as we continually had to stop talking when one was forever refilling our water glasses even after only having one sip.

What ruined this restaurant is it is connected to the pub portion of the Lion Hotel and you can hear every single noise from the pub... including the pumping music. To go to the toilet.. you have to go through the pub... therefore the door between the pub and restaurant is forever open and therefore the noise was even more unbearable.

This restaurant is trying to be something it's not. Whilst the food was fine, the restaurant is situation in a pub and a pub atmosphere is what you end up with.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have eaten here four times in the last six months during trips home. Knowledgable and intelligent staff combined with a great selection of wines by the glass and consistently excellent food keep me coming back. Their staple is the excellent steaks, but try other things too - I have never been disappointed. The natural oysters were standout last night. Loved the pork belly and lemon sorbet too. I always finish up with an affogato at this restaurant - great quality vanilla icecream, a separate shot of espresso to pour over yourself and a frangelico shot. A great white tablecloth restaurant with no hint of snobbery.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

My husband & I had dinner at this restaurant & we could not fault a thing. The decor was New York Chic & the food was fantastic. We both had the steak which was cooked to perfection & the desert were amazing. The Lion Banana split is worth the trip alone

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“More upmarket pub meal. I found it a tad expensive, but I think I got what I paid for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

More upmarket pub meal. I found it a tad expensive, but I think I got what I paid for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion Hotel also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.