We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely exquisite food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca - CLOSED

Enoteca
262 Carrington Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
08 8227 0766
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely exquisite food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went to Enoteca for the first time to celebrate our 5th Wedding Anniversary (we booked several days prior). The atmosphere was great, and the tables very nice. Service was fantastic. All the dishes we had tasted fabulous, the only thing I can critise was that one of the mains was over seasoned. Desserts were magical, the fig & honey semi freddo was delicious! Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing wine list”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Love Italian food and hadn't managed to get to Enoteca so seized the opportunity of a friend over from interstate to try this one out.
Tables and ambience all very nice and the service was good.
They require you to have at least 2 courses on Friday and Saturday nights- which didn't matter in a way because we would have done so anyway, but I think it rather sends the wrong message: something like, 'we can't be bothered with you unless you are prepared to spend a mimimum amount of money'. This might explain why there were only 4 tables occupied perhaps- not a good look on a Friday night.
I had quail for entree and it was really good (although I could not understand why it was advertised as 'de-boned' because it certainly had bones in it). The other entrees of gnocchi and octopus were really good also. Two of us had duck for main course- which was disappointing for me as it was not nearly up to the standard of similar dishes in France (where I have recently been) but the the main course of fish of the day was very good also.
The great disappointment was the wine. One of our party is actually a wine maker so knows his wine but as many wines on the list were Italian we did not know them so had to rely on the sommelier to recommend something good- and the wines we had were not. Having access to unfamilar wines should be an adventure and an opportunity to try something new and exciting - not the same old stuff we know, but we were disappointed.The arneis we had first was simply ordinary and so was the nebbiola we had next. I would have expected much better from a restaurant of this standard, because after you have ordered an unfamiliar foreign wine you are stuck with it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Food and service at Enoteca is superb. Crab filled zuchinni flowers were magic, in fact all dishes we had were great. The only criticism is that there is no bar to wait at if you are waiting for a table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and first class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had dinner on a saturday night and it was fully booked out (so book ahead). All the food was cooked perfectly and was very very tasty. Service was some of the best I have seen in Adelaide.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great value, great italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I love this place. Yes it's not as swanky as chianti or auge and is obviously not 'in' which means you can get a table on a Saturday night without having to book 3 weeks in advance, but the food is wonderful and really well priced. Mains are around $30, entrees around $20-$25. Good wine list too.
We have been twice in 2 months and each time it was great , service and food. W
Would recommend the duck and the chicken was amazing. For entree the zucchini flowers stuffed with crab and the quail would be top of our list. If there was anything I was disappointed in it was the pasta. I had the pappardelle with rabbit and whilst the pappardelle was fresh and well cooked , the sauce was not as tasty as it sounded.
We were too full this time for dessert , but previously they were great too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca also viewed

 
Blackwood, Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.