We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ride the free tram from one Terrace to the other” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenelg Tram

Glenelg Tram
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Book a Tour
Ranked #10 of 76 Attractions in Adelaide
Type: Trams, Other
Attraction details
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ride the free tram from one Terrace to the other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I liked that you could easily get from one end of the city of Adelaide to the other without it costing a cent and the charge to go further south to Glenelg Beach was very reasonable. The trams also went till late evening, a great incentive to use public transport!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    435
    106
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hassel free transport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Affordable and easy to catch. Takes you from city straight to Glenelg and is available every 15 mins

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“bring back the romance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

bring back a couple of the old trams for the tourist but we need more lines out to Prospect and Enfield down Richmond road etc etc this is a great form of transport and theres no pollution figure that.love the old trams we should start a collection and run them on the lines for tourist

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Inexpensive and a pleasant ride. It was particularly enjoyable because we were able to interact with the locals. I asked directions from a woman who was a dead ringer for Olivia Newton John. She was very pleasant...my wife thinks I'm delusional.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I got on this tram for a couple of stops. It was very clean and a nice tram although I was there on school holidays and was surrounded by teenagers. I travelled to Adelaide before Melbourne and have to day the tram is so much nicer than the ones in Melbourne, I did not even bother to take photos of the Melbourne tram. The tram goes all the way into the city which is great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenelg Tram also viewed

 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Glenelg Tram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenelg Tram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.