We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O/nite stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 - 39 Melbourne Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide Central
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“O/nite stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Easy access, quiet, good rooms and plenty of restauarants in the street.
asdfghjkl asdfghjkl;asdfghjhytrewdcvbnmjkkjmnbvfghjnnn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    61
    35
    7
    10
See reviews for
14
57
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naracoorte, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Have stayed here 4 times in the past 6 months as it is conveniently located in North Adelaide near our children. Have always had good reception staff. We ask for rooms overlooking the car park on the 3rd floor as we are from the country and like a quiet room. Have a firm, king size bed, a big TV and a small balcony looking towards the Adelaide Hills. We have been lucky enough to book during their Easter sale and Winter sale so only paid $119 for the upgraded king size room. Always very clean. Only negative is no fan in the bathroom so the mirror tends to fog up Car parking is free and there is a bus stop outside. Cafe located on the ground floor do breakfast and the Mexican restaurant across the road is good for an evening mean (best book ahead as it always seems to be crowded). We will definitely be looking to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for your feedback and continued support. We love to hear from our customers and appreciate your comments.

Our housekeepers are actually trialling a way to try and keep the mirrors in the bathroom clear thanks to your feedback - so hopefully we will be able to overcome this problem.

Regards,

Fiona Hehir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here in March. We were there for a family wedding but it unfortunately fell on the same weekend as the Clipsal 500. We paid through the roof for our stay at the Meridien, and as the hotel was fully booked, I think we got one of the older and not renovated rooms.
For the positives - the Meridien is in an excellent location and has free parking. Melbourne Street is bustling with cafes and shops and has great places to eat within walking distance. The room had all we needed, including kitchenette and a separate bedroom to the living room (as we have a toddler we needed 2 separate areas).
For the negatives - the room was very tired and in major need of renovation. The bathroom was miniscule and very old retro style. The room was not that clean and could do with major steam clean of carpets and thorough clean of bathroom as well as new furniture. The kitchen was old and tired and hardly workable.
Overall, it was OK and met our needs but we would be unlikely to return based on our experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. I didn't actually see one but imagine there are rooms not as old as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hi Guys,

I stayed here for 4 nights recently on an Exec room special. I visit Adelaide every 6 weeks on business and make a point of never staying at the same location twice to keep "tasting" the many options. Some have been ok, some good and some down right BAD (Oaks Embassy North Tce). Location for the Meridien is good and the reception staff were bright and welcoming. Free safe parking out back was handy as this gave you direct access to the lift via a side door. The room furniture was a little tired and this was ok as I wasn't paying hundreds of dollars each night, but the large lcd tv made up for this. My balcony looked out to the hills side view and this made for a relaxing view whilst drinking a glass of the free bottle of red wine presented to me on arrival. As the seasoned traveler would admit, what we really need is a clean well supported bed and here you get a king sized option that had me sleeping soundly!!
The Perfect Cup cafe is part of the reception foyer area and works really well, as there was cheap happy hour drinks and the dinner was very much enjoyed (though the lack of desert options was noted). Breakfast was included as part of my deal. The staff really made me feel welcome and the fresh fruit bowl at reception each morning was a simple but smart on behalf of mgt. As I have been in the food service industry for some 20 years, you get to know what works and what doesn't, well guys....this place works so well, that I have already booked to stay again for another 4 nights later this month. Give it a try based on my independent review. I'll drink to that....

Room Tip: ask for a back room to view the hills side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Rooms were large, service excellent, meals delicious, had a great night's sleep. Excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

Value for over night stay, off street parking does make the price good value compared to similar motels across the Torrens. Agree rooms could do with a modernization, but then price would go up?
Good location, close to cbd, O'Connell street.
God coffee from cafe in foyer

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Hope to see you back again when we will try and exceed expectations. We always apppreciate getting feedback from our customers.

Regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We recently had a 5-night stay in a one bedroomed suite facing the carpark and would agree with many of the earlier comments. The property is well located at the eastern end of Melbourne Rd, excellent for driving access and as a base for day trips around the region. The room itself was gloomy and partially renovated, still with echoes of the 70s - 1" brown mosaic tiles in the bathroom (no extractor fan); the tiny kitchenette had sliding cupboard doors and an extractor fan of the same vintage. There was only one kitchenette power point so you could not use the toaster, kettle and microwave at the same time, and there was minimal fridge space apart from the minibar products. Although the room was advertised as sleeping 4 it would have been a very uncomfortable squeeze to have done so, and the fit-out (bathroom off the bedroom, numbers of chairs, cutlery, glasses etc) was definitely for two. However our room was quiet and clean, there were heat pumps in both rooms, a large flat screen TV (unfortunately not visible from the bed) and a VERY firm bed. We had no issues with room servicing and would stay again for convenience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay last month. We enjoy receiving feedback from our guests and find it very useful tool to see what is most important to our guests.

Most of our rooms are certainly set up for a comfortable two person stay and on a lot of sites we state a maximum of three people to ensure guests comfort. We often have people who prefer to share a room to reduce their costs, especially for shorter stays which is why we have left the actual bedding maximum on some sites.

We have had a couple of comments recently about not being able to see the television from the bedroom in our one rooms suite & apartment room types, and are in the process of checking the feasability of installing another television in the bedrooms for these rooms.

We are gradually trying to improve the facilities in the room type you stayed in, but the bathrooms and kitchenettes in these rooms are definately an older style. Although our Executive rooms are much more modern in style we still have quite a number of people who prefer the advantage of having two rooms at their disposal.

The team at the Meridien hope to see you back in the future and hope to hear more suggestions as to how we can continue to improve our guests experience.

Thanks again.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments

Address: 21 - 39 Melbourne Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#25 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Meridien Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.