We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Griffins Head

The Griffins Head
38 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5092, Australia
8223 7954
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #263 of 1,355 restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $14 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Tried this place with friends and I enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The staff were very attentive. I enjoyed the lamb dish although a friend was very disappointed with the swordfish which was very overcooked. Reasonably priced.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    8
    24
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What happened ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been going to Griffs head for nearly 20 years and seen it change tact/be upgraded a few times.

Its always been a good "middle of the road" pub..... with nice enough food, beers and surroundings, in a good location.... without being fantastic.

Its latest incarnation, i have a given a few tries over the past few months - and each time has been quite poor. Over-priced pub food of varying quality, some staff are nice enough, but seem to have difficulty getting orders right... and they manage to convey a "you're getting in the way of my day" feeling.

Hopefully it will change owners or managers again soon - and we can have the old griffs back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakleigh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great value good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

great parmy and chicken burger, a great vibe in the place considering it was tues night. Super quick serving of meals, big thumbs up

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Dinner yes; lunch no”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Griffins serves quality meals and I would recommend it for a decent pub dinner. I have had barramundi and swordfish there and both were quite good. Friends that I've been there with have enjoyed other meals including salt and pepper squid and the schnitzels. The outdoor dining is pleasant in the warmer weather and the atmosphere is nice inside as well.

The service at the Griffins is also quite good and I'm always grateful when you can get excellent coffee at a pub (as you can here).

My only grumble with Griffins is the lack of a lunch menu. While many similar city pubs offer cheaper lunch options, Griffins effectively serves dinner twice a day. Consequently there are many better value choices for lunch around Adelaide.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner after an AFL match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had dinner here as it was close to the hotel we were staying at (Crowne Plaza). The food was much better than I was expecting given it's a fairly casual pub environment. The wine list was very good with loads of good choices by the glass. Good value for money as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffins Head also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Griffins Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Griffins Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.