We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Time Ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skydive Airlie Beach

Skydive Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Airport | Shute Harbour, 4802, Australia
+61 7 4946 9115
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Other, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skydive Airlie Beach and experience sensational coastal views of the Great Barrier Reef, Whitsunday Islands, and North Queensland! Tandem skydive over Airlie Beach with up to three of your friends - and freefall for 60 heart-stopping seconds from the insane altitude of up to 14,000 feet. Who thought skydiving Airlie Beach could be this incredible?
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Time Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I did my first Skydive at Airlie Beach and I could have not have asked for a better place (or better scenary) to do it at!

The instructors are very friendly and helpful and if you are scared they try to put you at ease with their sense of humour.

The company offer a lift to the base which is extremely handy, as it can be quite a walk if you don't have access to a vehicle (or a couple of dollars in a taxi).

Upon arrival, after signing all the necessary health and safety forms, a safety and harness demonstration is carried out where the instructors go through the whole procedure so you know their role and your role! I felt completely safe and excited.

The weather was perfect for the skydive and chosing the highest option of 14000ft the adrenaline rush was intense! Overlooking the Whitsunday Islands in Queensland from 14000ft is something words can't really explain as it truly is breathtaking.

The gopro video at the end of the whole experience was hilarious!

The free fall was amazing and the feeling is addictive - so much that I am totally hooked!

Thanks for a very memorable 'once in a lifetime' experience guys and I hope to see you again some day (hopefully solo next time)!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkydivetheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Skydive Airlie Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thanks for your awesome feedback - sounds like we've created another skydiving addict :p Glad to hear you enjoyed your day with us, hope to see you again soon!

Blue Skies,
The Skydive Airlie Beach crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    4
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PSSHHHHHNOOOOOOWWW #fallingsound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Absolutely fantastic experience here at Skydive Airlie Beach. Was on a shore tour from the P&O cruise line for only 3 hours and stopped in at the drop of a hat to ask them 'Can you take me?!'
Within 10 minutes they had me going up to 14,000 feet. Very, very accommodating company that were outgoing and able to make people feel comfortable during the ascent. My second dive on an absolute BEAUT of a day, thank you guys for making it happen
Only one comment (that I have not changed the score for). The woman at the reception was decidedly unfriendly and did the opposite than the instructors - she was very brash and abrupt
But my man Wayno (who has also received many positive reviews on here) certainly changed this opinion

Quick note that the DVD may seem expensive but it is surprisingly fantastic and a crowd pleaser if you're looking to impress guests. Very well done

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkydivetheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Skydive Airlie Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review! Glad to hear Wayne showed you a wicked time high above the Whitsundays, it's our favourite place to be!

Blue Skies,
The Skydive Airlie Beach crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Terrible treatment!!!!! Cowboys!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend booked our skydive with this company as we'd heard Airlie Beach was a great place to sky dive. The morning of the jump, we arrived to the pick up point to be told it was postponed due to weather and that the company would keep us updated. After several texts, eventually the skydive was cancelled due to bad weather. Obviously we were disappointed but we understood that this happens as skydiving is a weather dependent activity. So we returned to our booking agent who told us that there would be no problem getting our refund as it is a common occurrence. Grand we thought, how wrong we were.
We spent an hour and a half fighting for our refund.....even though the company themselves cancelled the jump due to bad weather, they insisted they needed proof of us leaving the country if we weren't gonna jump????? It was so bizarre! our booking agent kept his cool(I don't know how) and repeatedly told them we weren't leaving the country just moving up the coast and that was irrelevant anyway, they cancelled it! This was not getting through. Anyway eventually just to get our refund as we were running out of time, we ended up handing over all our travel documents to Skydive Airlie Beach. So ridiculous but we were running out of time and desperate for our money back.
Horrible treatment of potential customers. They made a simple process very stressful and difficult!!!! Even the booking agent told them they would not book with them again as a result of the ridiculous, frustrating and unnecessary refund process!
Be warned.....DO NOT book with this company.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Super awesome... You really can't compare it with anything else! Wayne was an amazing guide, very reassuring and fun! Can't imagine a better skydive-buddy.. And Martijn enjoyed his jump with Andy as well, it was a memorable birthday present..
Thank you guys!

Martijn & Domenique

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkydivetheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Skydive Airlie Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thanks for your awesome review! Glad to hear you had a great day with our boys - we'll pass on your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Blue Skies,
The Skydive Airlie Beach crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Incredible- a memory you'll never forget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Whilst visiting Australia skydiving at Airlie beach was on the top of my to do list! with the incredible views of the Whitsunday Islands and amazing scenery it was the perfect place to jump! Wayne was my instructor and couldn't have asked for a better person to go with he made the whole experience to me unforgettable! Iv never skydived before and was a little nervous when we finally reached 14,000ft but Wayne was professional, made me feel at ease and made me laugh- A lot!! Had the best experience with breathtaking views and a awesome instructor- thankyou Wayne wouldn't of been possible without you!- Drinkies are on!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkydivetheBeach, Public Relations Manager at Skydive Airlie Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hi Lucy,

Thanks for your wicked review, sounds like Wayno showed you an awesome time 14,000ft up! We'll be sure to let him know just how much you enjoyed your jump. Come back to visit soon!

Blue Skies,
The Skydive Airlie Beach crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skydive Airlie Beach also viewed

Whitsunday Island, Whitsunday Islands
Daydream Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Whitsunday Islands, Queensland
 

Been to Skydive Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skydive Airlie Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.