We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You think you're in a dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitehaven Beach

Whitehaven Beach
Whitsunday Island National Park, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$131*
and up
Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uninhabited Whitsunday Island is home to this beautiful beach, one of the world's most spectacular.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You think you're in a dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The most breathtaking place. The sand is so white, the beach is so pure. You'll love it. I recommend the hike to the scenic spot up the hill. It is worth the walk.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    103
    43
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Totally beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The softest sand I have ever felt it's like powder and nearly white. The sea is perfect in colour too. Shame that it was jellyfish season I fancied a dip. Just staring out over the sea is wonderful as it's like a paradise beach!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

As the previous reviews state, Whitehaven beach is a must visit when traveling in this area. This beach is deserving of one of the best in the world and the view from the inlet is amazing. High tide is less impressive than low tide but is worth seeing for sure.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You need to go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were on a boat (as you usually are in the Whitsundays!) and docked outside of Whitehaven overnight. Around 6am, our captain starting bringing us over. We were THE ONLY people on the beach! It was beyond breathtaking. Afterwards, we moved to the lookout point where you see the swirls of water and sand create art. It's one of the most incredible places I've ever been.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Whitehaven is everything you here about and more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Travelled there for a morning visit with Cruise Whitsundays. We had a beautiful morning and were lucky that it was low tide. We snorkelled for about an hour and saw amazing marine life. The beach is spectacular. And the water crystal clear. A must see!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitehaven Beach also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Daydream Island, Whitsunday Islands
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Whitehaven Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitehaven Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.