We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to the GBR... But that's all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Long Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Long Island Resort to your Saves list
BreakFree Long Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Whitsunday Passage, 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Long Island
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Next to the GBR... But that's all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went there for an unforgettable experience... Got disappointed. The location is great. The walks are poor. The accommodation is poor. The food is average. The staff is friendly but not very up their games. The Water Sport's Guys are great. We also experienced a 50 orchestra kids vacation camp. So much for the quietness. Especially given that the staff didn't warn us about that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    72
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
37
80
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved every minute amazing friendly staff nothing is to much trouble. Rooms clean and tidy not flash but comfortable. Will be coming back very soon. Family friendly plus couple friendly also best of both worlds. Plenty of activities for families perfect to relax also. Matt in bar is amazingly friendly will be a loss to resort when he leaves. From 103 :) fantastic place will be back

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After being notified of a tariff increase on Daydream Island, we fortunately changed to Long Island. The accommodation was quiet, comfortable and clean with staff ranging from grounds people to bar and food service all approachable, helpful, friendly and efficient. The walks are good, while the pools and drinks upon return are welcome.
The buffet style food service is more than ample for any appetite.
We found all the visitors there polite and friendly. It get a recommendation from me.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just four nights unfortunately in this wonderful place, it deserves surely more.
The facilities are not so new, but the place is very quiet, lot of wildlife.
Good location for trips in other islands, such as Hamilton. Nice smart staff.
See you BreakFree

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

25% occupied so no queues for anything. Good restaurant and activities. Easy bush walks and warm sea ideal for swimming. Friendly staff. Ferry trip from Hamilton Island very easy. Drinks rather expensive.

Room Tip: Wifi available by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

BreakFree exceeded my expectations!
Not party people, my boyfriend and I decided to come here for schoolies, but more for relaxation after school. It was perfect, however, the day after we arrived a large amount of schools (300 i was told) came and went during our stay. One night there was no room for us to have dinner in the restaurant OR the bar! But it wasn't overly disappointing, we went and ate on a hammock.

Being vegan and my boyfriend and gluten-free vegetarian, i was very worried about our meals (which were all inclusive) but Karlee at the restaurant (not sure of spelling) was extremely helpful! labelling everything at the buffet. Also, a bit of a shoutout to her - my boyfriends sister (Sarah O'Dwyer) said you used to play netball together! how crazy!

The beachfront room was lovely, and the wildlife very entertaining!

Best, clearest, warmest water i've ever swam in!

No complaints! Only wished we'd stayed longer!

also, REMEMBER TO PUT ON SUNSCREEN AT ALL TIMES (I've never been so burnt in my life!)

Would definitely stay again! (maybe not at schoolies time though)

Room Tip: Stayed in room 101, bit of a walk to resort centre but much quieter. Beachfront room is the way to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Got this 5 day package on a Scoopon deal for $499 for five nights in a beachfront room. The room although fairly basic (as expected) didn't disappoint; it had a lovely new bathroom, and seriously the beach view was one of the best I've ever had, with lovely louvre windows letting in the breeze. For two people it was great; for a family (it had two bunks in there as well as the Queen bed) it would have been seriously squashy. The bed was comfortable by the way.
Be warned though: you will go through a LOT of money on this island. Drinks are very expensive, food options quite limited (there's a pool bar menu and expect to pay around $25 a meal there) or an evening a la carte with 3 choices and an open salad and dessert bar for $38 per head. The food was fabulous though. Brekky was a hot buffet $20 or continental $11.50, both were pretty good without being outstanding. There seriously are no other options for food on this island - the resort shop has very little, in fact the vending machines were a better option most of the time. So either bring heaps of food with you, or be prepared to pay very dearly. Ditto your drinks!
Transfers: It's also quite expensive to get to the island, cost us around $120 each round trip from Proserpine Airport, so you need to factor this in - suddenly our cheap airfare wasn't so cheap!
And finally the resort itself? Stunningly beautiful surrounds, resort I would say quite run down and unkempt, not awful but could be so much better! Both pools were kept nice and clean though.The bonus was the wildlife, tame birds, wallabies and the like, just incredible.
To do: lots of bushwalks but with limited views of anything. Free kayaks (but only within small time frame of within two hours of high tide) and trips to other islands are very expensive. But if you want a place to just chill out and soak up the beauty, swim in the warm ocean or enjoy sunset cocktails while hand feeding your chips to a tame cockatoo, this is your heaven. We loved it. Five days was enough though. Will we come back? Possibly not, but if we did, we'd be better prepared with our own stocks of food/drinks! Cheers.

Room Tip: Definitely beachfront, look for a deal on Scoopon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGroup, General Manager at BreakFree Long Island Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Carol H,

Thank you for your feedback with relation to your recent stay at BreakFree Long Island Resort. I’m pleased to learn you had such a nice relaxing time and enjoyed our friendly wildlife and beautiful beachfront views.

BreakFree Long Island Resort offers a range of packages, some of which include transfers and meals, in turn making it more affordable for the guest. It depends on the individual situation though, so our friendly Reservation staff are there on hand to help.

Please remember though, due to liquor licensing laws we do not allow alcohol from outside brought to the resort. Any alcohol that is brought to the island will be taken at check-in and then returned to the guest upon their departure. We have a large bar menu available, including some fantastic cocktails, which we hope you’re able to enjoy.

Thank you again for your great feedback.

Kind regards,

Simon Della Santa
General Manager
BreakFree Long Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Long Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Long Island Resort

Address: Whitsunday Passage, 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Long Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes the perfect holiday? That something special. That magical something that lives on in your memory for the rest of your life. That indescribable feeling where years later you still get a warm fuzzy feeling about your holiday. Long Island Resort in the Whitsunday’s has all the magic that the holiday maker could ever want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Long Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Island Hotel Long Island
BreakFree Long Island Resort Whitsunday Islands, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Long Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.