We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat from the hustle and bustle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Long Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Long Island Resort to your Saves list
BreakFree Long Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Whitsunday Passage, 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Long Island
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Retreat from the hustle and bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Got this 5 day package on a Scoopon deal for $499 for five nights in a beachfront room. The room although fairly basic (as expected) didn't disappoint; it had a lovely new bathroom, and seriously the beach view was one of the best I've ever had, with lovely louvre windows letting in the breeze. For two people it was great; for a family (it had two bunks in there as well as the Queen bed) it would have been seriously squashy. The bed was comfortable by the way.
Be warned though: you will go through a LOT of money on this island. Drinks are very expensive, food options quite limited (there's a pool bar menu and expect to pay around $25 a meal there) or an evening a la carte with 3 choices and an open salad and dessert bar for $38 per head. The food was fabulous though. Brekky was a hot buffet $20 or continental $11.50, both were pretty good without being outstanding. There seriously are no other options for food on this island - the resort shop has very little, in fact the vending machines were a better option most of the time. So either bring heaps of food with you, or be prepared to pay very dearly. Ditto your drinks!
Transfers: It's also quite expensive to get to the island, cost us around $120 each round trip from Proserpine Airport, so you need to factor this in - suddenly our cheap airfare wasn't so cheap!
And finally the resort itself? Stunningly beautiful surrounds, resort I would say quite run down and unkempt, not awful but could be so much better! Both pools were kept nice and clean though.The bonus was the wildlife, tame birds, wallabies and the like, just incredible.
To do: lots of bushwalks but with limited views of anything. Free kayaks (but only within small time frame of within two hours of high tide) and trips to other islands are very expensive. But if you want a place to just chill out and soak up the beauty, swim in the warm ocean or enjoy sunset cocktails while hand feeding your chips to a tame cockatoo, this is your heaven. We loved it. Five days was enough though. Will we come back? Possibly not, but if we did, we'd be better prepared with our own stocks of food/drinks! Cheers.

Room Tip: Definitely beachfront, look for a deal on Scoopon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    68
    40
    20
    10
See reviews for
37
75
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the resort as a weekend getaway from the incoming flow of schoolies to Airlie Beach. On first arrival we were greeted by stunning views and very friendly and informative staff.

We were disappointed to find cockroaches in amongst the bathroom, but didn't feel the need to make a scene about it. After all, it's not a 5 star luxury resort. But still found that to be very disappointing.

Food and drinks from the bar and restaurant were a little expensive, but we're happy to pay a little extra for an island resort. That's only fair. The pool bar is great to sit back and watch the sun slowly fade whilst downing a few beers and cocktails. We spent the majority of our time here! Special mention must go to Emily and Nick. Always smiling and laughing and willing to go out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable.

Overall it was an enjoyable experience. Just a few things to improve when it comes to cleanliness of the rooms. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGroup, General Manager at BreakFree Long Island Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear hashtag_hash,

Thank you for your great feedback with regards to your recent stay at BreakFree Long Island Resort.

I am so pleased to learn you had an enjoyable experience at the resort and I will be certain to pass your comments on to my team.

While we do our utmost best to ensure our rooms are insect free, due to our natural island location the occasional wildlife visitor is unavoidable. If you do encounter any issues though, our Reception staff are able to assist.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Della Santa
General Manager
BreakFree Long Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The best thing about this resort was that there were not so many guests there, so it was really calm, no lines, crowds etc. The only thing that there were too much of was seagulls. They were everywhere when you wanted to eat. Better hold on to your food and don't leave it unattended. Also some other birds and turkeys were staying in the hotel as well as a handful of wallabys! They were sweet and also wanted to jump up on our laps when we gave them some nuts.
The beach is ok there and also the pool. Breakfast was good, the usual. The salads they had in the bar menu were great!
The staff were friendly and help with booking tours as well. Rooms were clean, though apparently they only clean once a week. But that doesn't bother me at all.
To get there you have to take the boat from Airle Beach or Hamilton Island. It's ofcourse a bit unpractical as they don't go so often and most tours departure from Hamilton Island so there's a lot of transportation. But I still liked it, as it's small and a little bit isolated from the more populated Hamilton Island and Daydream Island so it felt like coming home.

Room Tip: A sea view is nice, but we had a garden view and as the sea was like 1 min walk away it's no big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGroup, General Manager at BreakFree Long Island Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear safsten,

Thank you for your feedback with relation to your recent stay at BreakFree Long Island Resort.

I am pleased to learn that you had a nice time at the resort and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Guest rooms will be serviced based on the package the guest has booked. Some packages will see the room serviced daily or once during the stay, while more cost effective packages will not include a housekeeping service at all. If the guest is not too fussed and would like to save a little bit of money, a package that doesn’t include housekeeping might be the one for them. A service can easily be arranged at Reception for a small fee if they change their mind.

With regards to the island transfers, there are currently 7 transfers that depart from Port of Airlie (between 6.30am and 5.00pm) and 3 transfers that depart from Hamilton Island to BreakFree Long Island Resort. A similar number return from BreakFree Long Island Resort to Port of Airlie and Hamilton Island everyday too. We find this is a suitable number of transfers given the size of our resort. These transfers allow guests to soak up the Whitsundays in another way – on water – and guests might even be lucky enough to spot turtles, whales and dolphins on the journey!

Thank you again for your great feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Della Santa
General Manager
BreakFree Long Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner and I visited Long Island for 5 nights - we used a scoopon voucher for our accommodation. We had read some of the reviews on here to gain an insight to what it was going to be like and we were a little unsure of what to expect.

We were greeted at the pier by their staff and taken by golf buggy to the front reception. (Which was great because we were exhausted from the flight and carrying our bags all day!) We were welcomed very politely upon arrival and got our key to our beach front room. It was smaller than expected - but clean, space for our things and a fantastic view - we really didn't need more than that! The resort itself is great! Wildlife everywhere, views are spectacular, saw turtles in the water in the pier, hammocks on Palm trees, swim up bar, mini golf and awesome walking tracks around the island. We even managed to walk to one of the other resorts and check it out. We recommend doing the walking trails! Great views!
We ordered dinner every night from the bar because $38 per person for the buffet was a little bit much when we didn't feel like eating too much. The food from the bar was great, we enjoyed it. Cocktails tasted amazing! - little pricey as well, but since we were relaxing and on holiday, was worth it! We enjoyed seeing the birds getting feed in the afternoon and wandering around the resort. It was really nice and great value for what we paid. We didn't notice it being "out dated" or "boring" - you get carried away with the views and having your own fun that those little things don't matter. Even reading a book on one of the hammocks or by the pool was enough to keep up entertained.
Staff were really lovely and accommodating! We had a wonderful time and would recommend it! It's got everything you need to relax, unwind and enjoy yourself! No bad comments whatsoever!

I'd recommend packing some snacks with you, just to tie you over till your next meal :)

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Long island resort offers the island and natural land get away.
Budget accommodation is also available however i would recommend budgeting enough to ear your meals out or have food that doesn't need cooking as the kitchen is not well kept at all however the beds are comfy and its very close go walk to water sports and events on beach.
The best thing about long island resort is the low cost or free activities arranged making it a fantastic kid and friend adventure,

There is free kayak hire and paddle boats and $10 paddle boarding
Snorkel hire is so cheap and bundled for entire stay ,
There is also beautiful national park walks all around def recommend the palm bay walk and free bird feeding movies and sports

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGroup, General Manager at BreakFree Long Island Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Sheree H,

Thank you for your great feedback with regards to your recent stay at BreakFree Long Island Resort.

We are proud to be able to offer an iconic Whitsunday island experience to families, groups of friends and couples, without the high price tag.

I am pleased you enjoyed a range of activities offered at the resort, both paid and free, as well as the National Park bush walks.

BreakFree Long Island Resort offers guests Beachfront and Garden room accommodation options at an affordable cost. Barefoot Lodge on the other hand is situated behind the main resort (but still in close proximity to restaurants and resort activities) and offers dorm room and very simple double room accommodation options. Barefoot Lodge rooms do not have their own bathrooms and there is a common area with basic kitchen equipment available to those staying there.

Thank you again for your great feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Della Santa
General Manager
BreakFree Long Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a family orientated 3 nights .
It was wonderful, we enjoyed the activities such as paddle boarding which was rather easy !
Also we kayaked and took my grandson on the paddle boats .
We loved the fish feeding along the jetty .) we did a few of the bush walks and even had a go at karaoke!!!
I would definitely go back !
It's a really nice relaxing place to got the food was great too.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundagai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and I came here for six nights on an impulse and were not disappointed. As 1 yachtie day visitor remarked towards the end of a Whitsunday charter "This was the least impressive when I arrived but the best island we have visited so far." In a region where resorts compete for the tourist dollar Breakfree is at the lower end of the scale. Yes, some paint and TLC would improve it but these things are cosmetic at best. And Simon, the newish manager is rapidly doing all he can to update. The ground staff and maintenance crews are working hard to undo many years of neglect from the previous management.

We echo the positive comments below, our ground floor room (405 from memory) had a refurbished bathroom with a great shower and the beds and pillows were comfortable. Just a few short steps to sunbeds, hammock and the beach. Visiting Wildlife were a constant source of entertainment.

The Breakfree website does not do the resort justice with regard to availability of food choices. There is a comprehensive bar menu which is a great alternative to dinner in the restaurant. We paid in advance for a full breakfast which was amazing. One of the best breakfast buffets I have enjoyed in many years of travelling.The continental breakfast is a great alternative with lots of choice. The resort store is excellent with food, coffee and the usual range of vacation necessities available. It also has a great range of clothing and souvenirs at reasonable cost.

Phil takes great pride in the cleanliness of the two pools and jacuzzi and deserves special mention. They are the hub of the resort and a pleasure to swim in. The staff without exception are delightful and are ever present to cater to guests requirements.

If you want to experience a Whitsunday Island where you can really feel relaxed without being surrounded by pretentiousness then I suggest Breakfree on Long Island. Happy guests for the most part, happy staff and an enthusiastic manager make it a perfect choice at a very competitive rate. Personally, I hope it does not go upmarket too much tho its potential makes the latter a real possibility. We would happily return.....

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Long Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Long Island Resort

Address: Whitsunday Passage, 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Long Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes the perfect holiday? That something special. That magical something that lives on in your memory for the rest of your life. That indescribable feeling where years later you still get a warm fuzzy feeling about your holiday. Long Island Resort in the Whitsunday’s has all the magic that the holiday maker could ever want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Long Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Island Hotel Long Island
BreakFree Long Island Resort Whitsunday Islands, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Long Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.