We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Long Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BreakFree Long Island Resort to your Saves list
BreakFree Long Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Whitsunday Passage, 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Long Island
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great place, awesome staff - mostly - some could do with smiling a bit more (bar and reception) but the waitstaff and greeting staff were amazing - fabulous time had by us and I will definitely go back if we can get another deal on Groupon (possibly a bit pricey for what it is otherwise )

Room Tip: get a beach front - its paradise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    59
    37
    19
    10
See reviews for
35
68
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent three nights in the beachfront room. The room facility was quite outdated, it was annoying that there are lots of ants in the bathroom. But on the island you can see a variety of wildlife animals walking around. Also, free activities on the island were quite good. Free kayaking, table tennis, mini golf, tennis are available. The restaurant is over-priced but tastes alright, you`d better bring some food to the island. This island is suitable for families or young couples who do not care too much about the quality of accommodation.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms on the lower floor is better, so you can walk directly to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed Friday through Monday and it was fantastic, all our 3 year old wanted was to see the animals....... turns out we didn't have to go anywhere as they all came to us every day all day, an unforgetable experience.

We have a couple of moans, the kids play area is unprotected from the sun so it's unuseable during the day and far to hot for little kids to touch.
The other is the food, we tried a few different things over the days and were disappointed with most.... the selection of breads is just half a dozen slices from the same loaf, the kids menu is just bland basic processed stuff.
Vegetarian options were almost nonexistant, no decent seafood and the shop sold crap food.

We'd go back in a flash but we'd take another suitcase full of things we like.

Ants and fag butts dotted everywhere were also a big problem as was having to leave your room to get wifi... and getting your room serviced at 2pm, just when you don't need a knock door )0:

Room Tip: If you have a choice ask for the ground floor of the 300's.... you'll be on the beach in a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferntree Gully, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on Long Island for 6 days& nights and found it to be very relaxing. No roads, caught a ferry from Hamilton Island after we flew in from Melbourne. No need to worry about our luggage, it was all delivered to our hotel room. The room was lovely, clean, basic, serviced daily and the bed was really comfy. There is LOTS of wildlife ; Lorikeets, cockatoos, oyster birds, wallabies, sea eagles and fish to be seen when snorkeling around the pier. Also lots of activities ; kayaks, mini-golf, table tennis, basketball, air hockey, evening entertainment, nature walks around the island, swimming (beach, pool & lap pool). You can make of it whatever you make of it - we came with a carefree, holiday attitude and loved the fact that it was nothing like Hamilton Island. It was a lot cheaper, although bear in mind there are only 2 eateries on the island - restaurant buffet style $38 p/head or pool-side meals - all made in the same kitchen so all good food just different budgets. One cannot go past their Bruschetta !! We happily sampled the drinks/cocktail menu but also keep in mind they average about $18/glass OR just go for the cheaper drinks. Their Long Island Iced teas are smooth. The island has a very laid back atmosphere and we loved it. After 6 days there we felt like we had been on holidays for six weeks! We will definitely return...one day. Over-all a great place to quietly celebrate my 50th birthday.

Room Tip: Rooms 100 upwards are in the quiet section of the resort, closer to the pier, but be aware it is a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everything is perfect, only let down for the resort is that the watersports guy is never there, and the reception can't help you out at all. Wait all day for him to turn up, then when we decide to go back a third time in one day to snorkel he's taken an hour and a half turtle tour out.... Very frustrating and annoying considering we've been waiting all day, and by the time he gets back (who knows if he'll stay in his office) it'll be late afternoon and can't be bothered. Big big let down for the resort!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGroup, General Manager at BreakFree Long Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Melinda95,

Thank you for your feedback with relation to your recent stay at BreakFree Long Island Resort.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort and found everything perfect. It is, however, disappointing you were not able to enjoy the water sports as you had hoped.

The Watersports Guys are operated by a separate company and you can be assured that I will be discussing your comments with them to ensure future guests do not encounter this problem.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Simon Della Santa
General Manager
BreakFree Long Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I attended a family wedding on Long island. We only stayed 2 nights but found the resort to be relaxing and very family orientated. The staff were helpful and prompt on check-in and check-out with our luggage being transferred easily without delay. We opted for the dining package which was all buffet style. The food was OK but nothing special. Next time I would order from the cafe. Although a little attention wouldn't go astray, it is good value for money. I would recommend Long Island if you are looking for a complete relaxation holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This resort is in a fantastic position however the grounds and buildings are very tired and in need of upgrading. We had a refurbished room which was clean and fresh however it was the details which let it down. The outdoor furniture was faded and stained, the balcony railing was rotten in parts (??dangerous), the partitions between balconies were only half painted ??? Why ?? That's just poor management.
The grounds and facilities were in need of attention as well, perhaps more grounds staff and maintenance is needed?..don't even start me on the breakfast..$20 for a full breakfast with the same thing every day..The scrambled eggs were runny and tasteless and the fried eggs like rubber and sausages undercooked.. Please get an egg / omelette station happening! There needs to be a greater choice in the continental selection as well...
Don't expect 5 star here..I'm being generous giving it 3..
Positives were the staff- friendly, helpful and great service. The atmosphere was relaxed and family friendly.
Personally I wouldn't rush back.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGroup, General Manager at BreakFree Long Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lisa C,

Thank you for your feedback with relation to your recent stay at BreakFree Long Island Resort.

As a 3.5 star Whitsunday island resort we are proud to meet, and often exceed, the expectations of the majority of our guests that stay with us. I am pleased you found the staff to be helpful and the atmosphere to be relaxed and family friendly. It is, however, disappointing that we did not meet your expectations in other areas.

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy the food available and you can be assured that I have passed this feedback onto my Chef. I am only new to Long Island and have recently recruited a new Head Chef to lead the kitchen Brigade. Once he has his feet grounded we will be revisiting the entire food offering in an effort to raise the bar across all meal periods.

Please be assured that I have passed your feedback with regards to the grounds on to our Maintenance team. We have made some important changes within our Maintenance & Engineering teams in the last few weeks in an effort to improve our guest rooms, resort facilities, gardens & grounds. The gardens & grounds are an extremely important part of our guest experience and with this in mind we have recruited a new gardner into the team. In the short period that he has been back I can already see a marked improvement in the gardens and around the resort in general.

Thank you again for your feedback and if you wish to discuss any of the issues you have raised in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me direct at simon.dellasanta@breakfree.com.au.

Kind regards,

Simon Della Santa
General Manager
BreakFree Long Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Long Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Long Island Resort

Address: Whitsunday Passage, 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Long Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes the perfect holiday? That something special. That magical something that lives on in your memory for the rest of your life. That indescribable feeling where years later you still get a warm fuzzy feeling about your holiday. Long Island Resort in the Whitsunday’s has all the magic that the holiday maker could ever want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Long Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Island Hotel Long Island
BreakFree Long Island Resort Whitsunday Islands, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Long Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.