We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay place but would not go back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Palm Bay

Save Saved
You added Peppers Palm Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com Otel.com
Peppers Palm Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Long Island
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay place but would not go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Units are pleasant. Bathrooms very ordinary, location pleasant. Make sure you get a unit at the end on the beach, otherwise dont bother going. It cost us with food around $1100p/n which was way over any kind of value you got for it. My cray for dinner cost $150 (for one). Service was poor and inexperience and ineffective. We were there for four days - and no manager was evident. Advertise internet - but none where not happy to help out either. There was a 3rd rate footy player which they doted over while ignoring all other guests. Very nocd. Would never go back. If you are going to spend $1000p/n which you will go to Fiji/Phuket where you get much better value, location, food & service. I would not go back. Remember its still a Peppers resort - all about how they can charge you more not about adding value to your experience. I have been to most island resorts and Peppers and this view is only more confirmed. We also had two bad food experiences. We did notify the "manager", but never had any feedback.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    5
    7
    2
See reviews for
1
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Christmas on an island , sleeping in a beautiful cabin just metres from a wonderful beach. Eating, drinking, lazing in the pool or going on expeditions - it was amazing. Thank you so much to all the staff who made this holiday so special

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordhire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We visited Peppers Palm Bay in November 09 and what an experience .The bungalow was lovely ,right on the beach with views over the Whitsundays .What a way to wake up clear blue sky , golden sand and clear blue sea .
My partner spent most of his time on the balcony swinging in the hammock listening to the wonderful wildlife ,what a way to forget the stresses and strains of life .
The staff are so friendly ,food was wonderful and cooked to order ,breakfast's were to die for .
The experience was one to remember you really do feel as though your Robinson Crusoe , fabulous .

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Went with my husband for some down time where we had little choice but to relax. And that was exactly what we did. Restaurant is a little pricey but there is no other one so you should be prepared for this. There is no facility to BYO and no licence to let you do that. Rooms are clean with all the nice little extra touches (scented oil burners, good quality toiletries etc) The staff were excellent and helpful with whatever you needed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wodonga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

My wife & I were looking for a luxury relaxing romantic escape , (We are in our mid 40's with three teenagers ).Peppers was just that ,it easliy exceeded our expectations, the resort is simply beautiful with swaying palms mixed with native vegitation its was like being lost on Gilligans island. the cabins are first class 100%clean & comfortable neatly tucked into the tress & gardens most with beautiful views of the prestine bay. Our cabin was only 18m from waters edge , we could relax on our hammick and just do nothing or stroll the beautiful island. The resort is designed best to suit couples on retreat or honeymoon, no kids , leave them home, staff were absolutely excellent and have been well trained to look after you they made us feel so special and pamperd us with excellent service.Food was prepared by a chief eveyday with a changing menu. The food is expensive but thats understandable due location and small numbers at resort so make sure you budget for this . Its not a budget holiday location but remember you always get what you pay for and here you pay more but you do get the best .
To cap it off I would recommebd this to any couple who are looking for that gettaway island romantic adventure they have always dreamed about , well this is it ,go for it you love it . We will definately be going back , also the endota spa massage is a must.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights for our honeymoon, and we had the best time. We can't rave enough about the quality of the food- for breakfast we could order anything we wanted; and we couldn't wait to get to dinner each night to see what different selections were on offer. We also had the 7-course degustation menu, which was an adventure- crocodile and camel were both included amongst the amazing dishes.

As for the rooms, we stayed in a bungalow, which was perfect. There was stacks of room for the two of us, and the location right on the beach couldn't have been better.

We recommend to take some of your own drinks, as buying them on the island can add up. We took a few six packs and some wine for our room, and then just bought cocktails and wine with our meals.

In summary, we couldn't have hoped for a better island getaway, and we would recommend Pepper's to anyone looking for a luxurious and romantic retreat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

The most perfect way to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary!! Great food!! Such a relaxing place. A piece of paradise. The staff were welcoming and really looked after us. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Palm Bay

Also Known As:
Peppers Palm Bay Hotel Long Island
Peppers Palm Bay Long Island
Peppers Palm Bay Hotel
Peppers Palm Bay Long Island, Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Address: 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Palm Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying palms fringing the beach and turquoise waters of the Whitsundays, Peppers Palm Bay is an exclusive Peppers Retreat offering a private and secluded hideaway. Let yourself slip away from the everyday and into your very own island oasis where natural beauty, elegant accommodation and pampering by our attentive staff promotes a wonderful sense of wellbeing. The serene seclusion makes Peppers Palm Bay perfect for couples seeking a romantic escape or peaceful getaway. Temporarily closed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Peppers Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Palm Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.