We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place in the Whitsundays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Hayman Island

Save Saved
You added One&Only Hayman Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One&Only Hayman Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hayman Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hayman Island
Sydney
1 review
“My favourite place in the Whitsundays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

Hayman Island Resort, Queensland: Absolute luxury & paradise
Date: April 13, 2007
Reviewer: An avid traveller, Sydney, Australia

My husband and I and a group of friends spent a magnificent week at Hayman Island late last year (November). The resort is magnificent and we have never experienced such wonderful luxury and quality service before with staff outnumbering the guests. We enjoyed first class service coming across on the launch from the airport, with chilled champagne and refreshments served the whole way. Our time at the resort was such a treat that it was hard saying goodbye to return to reality. We have stayed at many resorts around the world, including the Whitsundays, Bali, Hawaii, Fiji and the Cook Island's but none have ever offered the complete luxury package that Hayman offers. All the restaurants are first class with the Oriental being our favourite. Room service is terrific and available 24 hours and the daily buffet breakfast a great way to start the day. The pool is world renowned and definitely met our expectations. We also enjoyed the activities on the island, such as snorkelling, tennis, trips to the Barrier Reef, catamaraning or just lazing on the lovely beachfront. The rooms were perfect and we enjoyed the outdoor shower and sunken bath in our Resort Room that awaited us at the end of the day. Hayman Island Resort is definitely hard to go past if you are wanting to stay in absolute luxury and enjoy first-class service, food and facilities. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    171
    122
    74
    55
See reviews for
157
400
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

My husband and I spent a blissful 4 days on Hayman Island. The boat trip over was supurb (spotted a whale too!), but was just the tip of the ice berg. The room we stayed in was newly refurbished and just beautiful - loved the outdoor shower. The beach area was even more beautiful than the pictures - breath taking. Each day my husband and I did the bush walk around the back of the Island and had a hit of tennis, table tennis or squash. Plenty to do, but also loads of time to relax. The staff were very friendly and we particularly enjoyed the Oriental restaurant. Recommend it - we will be going back.

  • Liked — Outdoor Shower
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

We returned in late March from what was meant to be the climax of a 3 week holiday to Eastern Australia with a 5 night stay at Hayman Island. This is the first time I have written a report on a place and it is to warn wealthier worldwide clientele that Hayman is a total disgrace. The resort, the rooms, the food, the beach are all of a dismal quality. Read all the negative comments in other reports and they are right so I won't repeat them all. The staff are dear Aussie students filling in for for a week or a month and have no experience whatsoever. In my sincere opinion this is a 2star resort. We won't get onto the 2 tier pricing system which is rip off Americans/Europeans and offer young Aussies cut price bargains. Don't say you haven't been warned!!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

We visited for the second time in November - just before it gets really busy. The feeling you get when you step on board the luxury boat and receive your first glass of chilled chamagne is just the best - the Hayman experience starts. We tried some of the activities this time that we didn't have time to do on our first visit. Plenty of relaxing by the pool(s) of course and a couple of walks around the island which were needed after so many good meals. The sunset cruise is one we will do again. Dining on a platform above the pond outside the Oriental restaurant just has to be done - quite the most brilliant experience.
Next time we plan to go out to places like Whitehaven beach and some of the other tours - so much to do - so little time. We might even try for a week and we have already started saving.

  • Liked — Views - big rooms - quality everything
  • Disliked — Will need updating within the next few years to keep that 5 star feel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

From the moment we arrived, Hayman lived up to its expectations. The porters took care of our luggage when we arrived at Hamilton Island, and next time we saw them, they were in our gorgeous room overlooking
the stunning iconic Hayman Pool. You kind of feel sorry for all the other people staying at the other islands, who have to wait for their
own luggage and drag it down to the boat. To Hayman, you travel on a luxury launch, you are greeted by the crew, and passed a glass of bubbles to start off your trip.

Highlights for us were definitely going out to the reef by Seaplane, if you come to see the reef, you must do it by air. The magnitude of the reef is amazing. However, it was also lovely to sit and relax by the pool, just reading a book, and hear no noise, no cars, no pollution.

Dinner was superb, though you must book in advance, we did it on the day we arrived, booked each restaurant at the time we wanted, and then did not have to think about it for the rest of our stay. If you love seafood, like we do - you cannot go past Azure, under moon light, the seafood indulgence, and a bottle of champagne. Hayman was everything we had imagined and more. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Hayman as a holiday destination. If you are interested in relaxing, enjoying good food, and a spa treatment in between, then Hayman is the place for you.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing to write
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

We booked our whole wedding at Hayman from the UK and we have to say - it was absolutely perfect! From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. We were given a HUGE room overlooking the magnificent pool and beach!

We were there for 10 nights and it was a dream come true! The hotel is complete relaxation.

The only negatives we have are the prices of the food and the lack on stuff to do at night - but the trip to the barrier reef was fantastic - i would definitely go scuba diving again!

Our family and friends stayed in Hamilton Island and came over for the wedding - this was a beautiful island also with a bit more to do.

All i would advise was that the weather in feb/march is the rainy season and we had just missed a cyclone when we arrived - we were lucky!

The grounds and the whole hotel were wonderfully kept and I would go back there tomorrow - a beautiful place.

  • Liked — Wedding and the Rooms
  • Disliked — lack of things to do at night
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

We went to Hayman Island for four days for our 12th wedding anniversary from February 22-25, 2007. What a perfect place! It was only about 40-45% occupied, so it was so quiet and private. We used to joke about how long it would be before we would see another person. The room they gave us was absolutely fabulous; they would have upgraded us to a suite at no charge, but the view was better at the first one so we stayed there.
The food was terrific, the staff was so friendly and helpful; we had a great excursion to the outer reef to dive; this truly was a heavenly vacation, and I can't think of anything I would change to make it better!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to One&Only Hayman Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Hayman Island

Address: Hayman Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hayman Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hayman Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Hayman Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 4-story Beach Resort on picturesque, tropical private island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your One&Only Hayman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayman Great Barrier Reef Hotel Hayman Island
Hayman Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Hayman Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.