We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Hayman Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added One&Only Hayman Island to your Saves list
One&Only Hayman Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hayman Island
melbourne australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What can I say. If you are after rest and relaxation, this is the place to be. We stayed at hayman for 5 nights. We were upgraded to the helicopter transfer on arrival at hamilton island which was a great start. For 2 nights we stayed in the hayman wing, Hayman partial ocean view room which was nice and spacious, overlooking the lake and the new pool area which opened a couple of weeks ago. The new pool area is amazing, lots of little pools with plenty of deck chairs available and staff around to help out with your needs. On walking across to the pool wing, we saw the iconic hayman pool which is just amazing along with the swim out rooms, and decided to upgrade to a swim out. The rooms are amazing, really big, bathroom is great, dressing room area not so great but not a big deal in the scheme of things. Sitting out in the swim deck, overlooking the pool, reading a book, enjoying the music played from the pool cafe is just heaven if that's what you like to do on holidays. The other perk you get with these rooms are a personal butler. Christine was lovely and was always available to help us out with anything we needed. The weather at this time of year is amazing too. (October). The restaurants are ok. We have eaten at Amici which has great authentic wood fired pizza and is reasonably priced. Bamboo, which has asian cuisine was also nice. We had the wagyu beef and tooth fish as mains which were very nice. A little more expensive than amici. Another night we went to pacific for the cold seafood buffet. Was ok. Probably wouldn't go there again but others may like it. Breakfast is great. Lots of variety and fresh although it would be fantastic if they did scrambled eggs to order. The staff and service is great. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. No complaints there. There are plenty of water activities, snorkelling or walking tracks if you feel the need. Not a lot of shopping to be had by the ladies as there is only one boutique but that's probably a good thing for us shopaholics. All in all a lovely relaxing holiday in a great resort in a lovely location.

Room Tip: Room 112 in the hayman wing is nice. Room 132 in the pool wing even better as you get the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    25
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
48
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went for my birthday, were upgraded to the beach house (only one available), and enjoyed loads of champagne and delicious food! The breakfast included is amazing. We played tennis, kayaking and paddle boarding, and just generally chilled out. Amazing place for a special weekend.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerod, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently stayed 6 nights at Hayman Island with my husband and children (10 & 19) and it truly was an amazing experience.

Upon arrival at Hamilton Island we were asked if it would be okay, that they had changed our transfer to Hayman Island to be on a helicopter instead of by yacht. We had an amazing flight in the helicopter overlooking beautiful Whitsunday islands.
Only downside was that we only had some of our luggage on the helicopter, the rest arriving on the boat, but we didn't get any of our luggage until two hours after arrival, so we were in the sun in our traveling clothes and could have used our swimming costumes. To be fair we didn't ask for our luggage which we should have done.

If you have read previous reviews, you know all about how beautiful the island and hotel is....and it is gorgeous!!
We stayed in a two bedroom pool suite, that was huge and had all we needed and more.
The turn down service at night is a lovely touch, with little surprises and a newsletter for the following day.

Our days were spent at the new family pool, in gorgeous canapied sun beds overlooking the sea. There was a relaxed atmosphere and we met lots of lovely fellow travelers.

We also spend a lot of time using the complimentary kayak, paddle ski, windsurfing and catamaran. The staff there were very helpful in giving instructions, and we had so much fun. The staff also pointed out several turtles, that swam right in near the beach and we managed to snorkel with turtles on several of these ocations.

We also did a trip to Langford Island, where we snorkeled with more turtles.
One of the highlights of the trip, was a snorkeling trip to the outer reef. We were 9 people snorkeling and three member of staf looking after us. We had a member of staff with us in the water, making sure everyone was okay and pointing out different fish. We had a magical experience, snorkeling with a Manta Ray for about ten minutes and we couldn't believe our luck. At lunchtime we had a picnic basket, with so much gorgeous food. Sandwich, cheese, tapas meat, fruit, nuts etc etc. we didn't even manage to eat half of it, even though it was delicious.

We tried all of the restaurants, our favorite was Amici although the others were great too. Fire had a fancy atmosphere and we enjoyed the live music.
The highlight food wise was the breakfast - there was everything and more. We enjoyed our breakfast outside, overlooking the sea and watching the cheeky cockatoos and seagulls, that would swoop in and steal any bread left unattended.

Three of us had massage and facial treatments at the spa, which was wonderful.

Traveling for three months all over Australia, we all enjoyed having free wifi everywhere, so we were able to skype family and friends at home.

There had been a mixup with the number of nights we were staying, and Hayman island had noted one night less than what we had booked. After communicating back and forth, the manager of guest services offered us to spend the last night, in the Diane Von Furstenburg penthouse suite, which was gorgeous. They certainly went all in to rectify the mixup.

I had read different reviews before arriving and quite a few mentioned staff issues, I can't recognize any of these problems with staff. All the staff we encountered throughout our stay, be it in restaurants, on the beach, or in the rest of the resort were all extremely nice and professional. They seemed eager, to make our stay memorable in evey way possible and they succeeded in doing just that.

It is all the little things that accumulate, to us feeling completely spoiled and privileged, to have spend 6 nights at such a wonderful place.
Keep up the good work, and we will certainly recommend One & Only Hayman Island to anyone who will listen :)

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived on the Island via luxury launch apart from "slightly" rough seas it was a pleasant ride. Arriving on the island you get greeted by smiley staff which then guide you on little tour around the resorts and its many facilities. Ok..I'm going to point out that I have been fortunate to stay at many luxury resorts around the world so my criticism should be met with that in mind.

The good: Resort is beautifully situated, with picturesque views of the blue water the neighbouring islands and many tropical palms. We had a pool side suit overlooking a large pool with a bar and direct access to the pool from the balcony/patio. Room very nice, modern decor, very specious. First thing I did was to hike up the many trails around the island.. Which I suggest you do, at least the "dolphin point". Resort offers many free water sports from the main beach or paid excursions the choice of activities is great. They have two pool areas with pool side bars and three restaurants. Good choice of food.

The NOT so good: I felt like the staff which majority looked to be in the early twenties tried hard but seems to always make mistakes, double requests happened on every occasion. But the most frustrating was the "butler" direct line which suppose to dial an operator for all request, reception enquiries, in-room dining etc.. There wasn't a single time where the phone was answered after few rings .. It was like calling a call centre.. TERRIBLY FRUSTRATING! ordering pillows would mean that they come..twice, ordering a surprise birthday cake also meant we got it in the room with room service and same day at dinner at the restaurant. Asking a simple question usually resulted in staff needing to seek the answer from someone else. There was never someone who could just give you a direct answer. I also found the Room Service menu to be a bit limited. I would also suggest to anyone who decides to do scuba diving who has done some in the past to maybe skip the Blue Pearl Bay dive.. It really isn't all that impressive perhaps the outer reef dive is much nicer.. unfortunately we didn't have time to do that one.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A short but sickingly sweet stay a few weekends ago that we will never forget.

From the moment you step on that super mega yacht and are served your first glass of Mumm ( you'll forget about the eye watering cost of the transfer real fast, trust me) you succumb to the magic and majesty of The Whitsundays and the One and Only on Hayman.

It's been maybe 25 years since my last visit - back in the heady days of the hedonistic 80's when the Whitsundays were crawling with Nuevo riche and minor royalty. Ahh the memories.....but I digress

How are things now in post GFC rehab? Can we sustain another 5* island resort ?
My opinion is yes. Sure the prices are high but still much less than Qualia or Lizard or even Orpheous. Its relatively easy to get to with the airport on Hamilton, yet secluded and private enough to make it extra special.

The refit is excellent with top shelf products and beautiful decor. Little things like massive beach towels, shampoo in large organic containers ( none of those risky dinky little bottles that everyone will flog anyway ), an excellent complimentary bottle of red on the table, one on one greeter, several excellent dining options - we had a mouth watering steamed snapper at Bamboo and it was less than $40 !
Breakfast is fantastic with free flowing Mumm again and if you can't find it on the groaning buffet the Chef will make it for you.

Service is patchy as is the case on most island resorts, especially in Australia, but we have to give special mention to Kim who went out of her way several times to rectify a problem, chat to us and just make us feel welcome in general.
Our only real complaint is the decision to serve no food by the pool from 4pm - not even nuts, when the kitchen is clearly still open and serving room service. In saying that Kim russled up some fries and we were sated.

We spent the next night at a similarly priced Hamilton Island resort where the service, decor and food where not even close to that of Hayman.

Can't wait to return and really get to soak it all up - especially that Mumm !

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm not particularly into this style of resort, it felt a little too "condominiumy" for me, a few of you will know what i mean by this. Overall though it is great- wonderful and attentive service, spectacular location, the beef tataki in the japanese restaurant i still dream about, the bath is spectacular.

But, i will be back solely because the bed is INCREDIBLE. THE BEST. The best bed i have ever slept on. If you are like me and are obsessed with a good nights sleep, then you need only know this one word to get on the next plane there: Muhldorfer. Muhldorfer- pillows, blankets, the whole thing.... that bed is the real deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the new private villas with their own pool in the middle. The villas were absolutely gorgeous. Coffee machine snacks drinks etc. the pool was lovely and the room had Apple TV with heaps of movies. We only left the room for gym and meals. Very peaceful. Chef's table dinner was fabulous. Must do. Met very interesting people. Looking forward to going back for 3-4 days to relax. Gym good. Did massage in Ocean so that they finish when the tide reaches your hands hanging in the water. A unique experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Hayman Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Hayman Island

Address: Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hayman Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hayman Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Hayman Island 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Hayman Island, in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef presents astonishing natural beauty, restorative peace, indulgence and adventure. Australia's iconic private island resort is located off the coast of Queensland, nestled at the northernmost point of the Whitsunday archipelago, beyond verdant cliffs reaching into endless sky. Within this private island resort, stylish elegance reflects the harmony of nature with beautifully appointed accommodation set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea. Discover endless opportunities to delight the senses in a place where the beauty of nature inspires each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Hayman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayman Great Barrier Reef Hotel Hayman Island
Hayman Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Hayman Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.