We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven Downunder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Hayman Island

Save Saved
You added One&Only Hayman Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One&Only Hayman Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hayman Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hayman Island
sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heaven Downunder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Have just returned from a short trip to Hayman Island resort with my guests [Overseas family]
We were given a warm and friendly welcome as we boarded he luxury launch transfer which was the perfect way start to a wonderful sunny holiday. We had a pool access room which allowed us to fully utilise the pool at any time.
We also enjoyed time on the beach, sailing, windsurfing and on paddle boards. In addition we took the Air Whitsunday panorama tour, which was a flight over the Great Barrier Reef, before landing in a lagoon, where we snorkelled. So many fish and such beautiful coloured coral.After the snorkelling we flew to Whitehaven Beach where we walked along the beach looking at crabs and stingrays that were sunning themselves at the waters edge. Overall the wildlife at Hayman and the Reef is amazing.
All the meals were good, although the service at times was not up to the standard set by other parts of the hotel, however all the staff were most friendly.

Hayman Island resort really is a good place to go and relax! There is not a lot to do, but, hey, it's a great place to just relax.

Room Tip: Pool Rooms with Pool access are a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Resort Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for sharing your fantastic experience on Hayman with us. It sounds like you had a lovely time taking part in the various experiences and activities on offer. We hope to see you soon for another sunny holiday on Hayman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    171
    122
    74
    55
See reviews for
156
399
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

From our arrival at Hamilton Island airport until our final departure this was a very special stay where we were made to feel quite pampered. The trip was only 3 nights but because the entire experience is so stress free it really felt like a longer holiday.

On arrival at the Hayman Check In desk in Hamilton Island Airport you hand over your airline baggage tags and are then directed to the 5 star launch to transfer you to the Hayman Island. On the launch you are provided with complementary drinks and snacks and we arrived in less than 1 hour. At the island a group of staff are lined up to greet you and each new arrival is then shown to their room with our luggage following later.

We spent our time relaxing by the pool and enjoying each of the excellent restaurants. Had one bad experience of an expensive and quite ordinary Ceasar Salad by the pool, however this was our only negative experience.

Having been to the Great Barrier Reef many times before we did not do the usual activities of snorkelling etc... We did do a bush walk across the island late in the day to a private beach with only the local wallabies to spy on us skinny dipping. A brilliant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Resort Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I am so glad to read that you had such a special stay on Hayman. It sounds like you had a really relaxing time lying by the pool and enjoying the many dining experiences on offer. While there are so many activities one can do within the reef, there are also a multitude of other activities that you can participate in on-island and it is great to know that you got to experience some of those! We hope to see you back on Hayman soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Heading to Hayman for 48hours was just what we needed for the ultimate beach escape in a secluded location, with brilliant warm weather and a fully equipped resort.
From the moment you step onto your luxury yacht transfer from Hamilton island to Hayman you are greeted by warm and friendly staff who do their upmost to provide exceptional service. We enjoyed our champagne and little snacks on board and after a 50min smooth sailing ride we had arrived at the beautiful resort.
The views and scenery are absolutely breaktaking and so picturesque, my DSLR was going at 100 clicks a minute. The weather was perfect 30 degrees warm but not sticky or humid.
We enjoyed complimentary cocktails by the Hayman pool upon arrival until our room was ready. The room we stayed in was on the 2nd floor providing great beach and pool views however the amenities themsleves and decor was a little tired, i did expect more from a 5 star property.
The Azure breakfasts are amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed the delicious spread. We also tried the BBQ Grill which provided a smorgasboard of meat and fish, pasta and salads as well as desserts. Some of the fish and moreton bay bugs were amazing but we also had some prawns and crabs which didnt smell or taste fresh and still hadnt thawed out. On our last night we were disappointed to learn that Oriental restuarant was closed and so opted for La Trattoria. The meals here were probably the one downside of the trip and were quite disappointing, the pasta lacked flavour and the pizza was more like something you would expect from your local takeway joint than a gourmet woodfire pizza experience.
All in all we had a great time and it is a great place to visit. However if you are looking for a spot to visit that is for adults only Hayman may not be the best place for you as it is very family friendly.

Room Tip: Try and get a 2nd or 3rd floor room to be able to enjoy the sunrise and beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Resort Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is lovely to hear that you had such a fantastic time on Hayman and that the resort met all your needs for the ultimate beach escape. I'm sure you got a lot of picture perfect photos from all the photography you took on the island! We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked Hayman as an extended family week away for 3 families. We booked 5 rooms (3 x lagoon suites and 2 x adjoining rooms) to accommodate grandparents; parents and 4 children under 4 years old.

Hayman promoted itself as a ‘family friendly’ destination with recent tourism awards. With the closure of Dunk and Lindeman Island we understood Hayman’s positioning. Unfortunately what we experienced was a resort operator who does not understand what ‘family friendly’ or ‘customer service’ means to be considered competitive in the marketplace.

In summary:
• After email confirmation our 5 rooms in a row had been allocated; we arrived to be informed with very limited explanation ‘one family has been up-graded’ to our penthouse. This resulted in our planned holiday of having all the families together not eventuating as the ‘penthouse’ was at the far-end of the Lagoon suite on Level 4. When we requested if this room allocation issue could be resolved; we were informed no as ‘another guest had extended their stay’. Despite our family paying > $25k in accommodation for the week, the issue was unsolved for over 24 hrs until I spoke with the CFO who eventually apologised and offered to move rooms at which time everyone had unpacked. We agreed on a discount settlement; but the ‘Hayman experience’ had been lost.
• There were no baby change tables or bins in the toilet facilities in the resort.
• We rung Concierge on at least 6 occasions and nobody pick-up the phone.
• On 4 occasions of arranging room service for kids meals there we problems with no cutlery, cold food and incorrect food.
• To order and pick-up kids meals at lunch you need to walk to the Resort Pool which is a good 10min trip from the Lagoon rooms.
• The fishing feeding outing was challenging as the ‘pick-up shuttle bus’ was over 30mins late whilst we entertained 4 children under 4 years old approaching ‘day sleep time’ in the heat of the day. We were advised this always happens on pick-ups and nothing changes despite guest complaints.
• We ordered a bottle of champagne that was delivered warm to room with no cooler.

General ‘customer service’ is also lacking for a 5 star resort. Hayman only needs to look across the water for an example of exceptional ‘customer service’ provided at Qualia if it wishes to remain competitive and a destination of choice.

If you are looking for a family friendly island holiday; save your money and look at a resort on Hamilton Island or Overseas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Resort Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It is disappointing to hear of some of your negative experiences on Hayman. While as you mentioned the confusion with your accommodation was settled on-island, I would be happy to further discuss your concerns with you if you would like to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my second visit to Hayman, the first at about the same time last year.
Good points- very relaxing, great experience going on the launch to the island, food was good, rooms are great, trip to the bay for snorkelling was nice
Problems- I would add that I submitted a detailed feedback to the management and I have not been able to speak to them despite me calling twice.
1. too many kids; OK can't be helped but when you are paying good coin you need some peace, and there is no separate pool area for kids. There were many more families than last year, and we left our kids at home for some serenity.
2. the service by the pool was appalling, they rarely did any rounds, there is no poolside service by the pavilion, they were slow, they were unhelpful- we tried to order food at 11.45am (it being 12.45pm Melbourne time and our first day), and why does food start at 12?? And they said, Oh you'll have to wait...
3. the service in the main restaurant was terrible- I think I had ordered the most expensive bottle in the restaurant that night (not that it is a competition), a nice Burgundy, and do you think anyone could fill our glasses? Also a number of the dishes came out with ingredients that were not on the menu- such as goat's cheese and caviar, which is an issue when your wife is pregnant.
4. the housekeeping staff were the loveliest and most competent people in the (they were superb)
5. there was no sense of management, so there was no one around to oversee the ineptitude, and no one to talk to about issues
6. a general lack of "can do" attitude- so there is no mocktail list at the pavilion bar (why not??) and the waitress says that we can't order one- it took the bar man to call teh pool area to get the ingredients and make it up..etc
7. oh and why do I need to line up for fifteen minutes each morning for a latte? Why can't the waitresses deliver one at my table?

Overall it was good, but really not sure if we'll go back. A week in Fiji is cheaper than three nights there, especially if there are lots of kids in both places.

Room Tip: the best ones are either ground floor at the pool, or ground floor at the very far end of lagoon 101...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Resort Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It is great to hear you enjoyed both the dining experiences and accommodation here on island and had a relaxing stay with us. It is disappointing to hear though that you did also have some negative experiences on Hayman and I appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I would very much like to further discuss your concerns with you if you would like to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hi all just got back from Hayman Island this would have to be one of the most picturesque places I have been. The service was fantastic and starts as soon as you get off the plane at Hamilton Island. We took the luxury boat over to Hayman about a 50 min boat ride but feels like 15 mins. As soon as you get to the boat the service is amazing waited on by the staff beer or champange on arrival, you dont need to get your bags off the airplane the staff do this for you and the next timee you see them they are in your room. The views from the rooms are fantastic whether you are staying in the pool rooms or the lagoon rooms everyone has a view over the the bay. the resturants there are very good we did not have one bad experience with the food and the service is exceptional. I was only there four nights so we didnt do to much we went on a couple of snorkling trips one out to Langford Island which is only a 5 min boat ride where we saw turtles and an array of fish and one too Peral Bay 2 which had the most stunning coral colours I have ever seen again only a five minute boat ride at a cost of $45.00 per head it was good value for money. Be warned about leaving your doors open when not in your room the cockatoos will raid your room we thought we had been robbed till we figured out what had happened. The accomadation is a bit dated but very comfortable but they have built some new accomadation which is absolute beachfront but you do pay for it although they are very luxurious with there own pools ect I think they were about $1400.00 per night. It is not a cheap place to go but if you have the budget it is a great couples getaway. I will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Resort Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It sounds like you had a superb time here on Hayman and I am so happy to hear you plan on coming back to visit us - we are looking forward to it. I hope you got to capture all those picturesque views on camera!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights and all I can say is great location and lovely resort but service was terrible and over priced.

All the staff were 20 year old kids that were there for a good time and didn't care about the customer.

For the cost there are plenty of better places so SAVE YOUR MONEY.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Resort Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
While it sounds like you really enjoyed the island, it is disappointing to hear of your experience with the service on Hayman. I would be happy to discuss some of your concerns with you if you would like to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to One&Only Hayman Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Hayman Island

Address: Hayman Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hayman Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hayman Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Hayman Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 4-story Beach Resort on picturesque, tropical private island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your One&Only Hayman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayman Great Barrier Reef Hotel Hayman Island
Hayman Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Hayman Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.