We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza & salads. Lovely view from deck overlooking marina.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray

Manta Ray
Front St, 4803, Australia
+61 7 4946 8213
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $36
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This restaurant is a favourite both with guests and locals. Located in the Marina Village, Manta Ray offers a great menu of delicious gourmet wood fired pizzas, pastas, salads and more
Hamble, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great pizza & salads. Lovely view from deck overlooking marina.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our first visit was for a late lunch. The salads we had were fresh and the portions good. We sat out on the deck and the scenery was beautiful. We went there for dinner one night and had a few different pizzas. They all had great flavour. Service was fast and efficient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    202
    113
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Although the decor of this place is not good as its neighbour romanos its food is excellent specially for vegetarians.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Lovely food, friendly staff, reasonably priced, lovely view of the marina and very friendly cockatoos who like to sneak your sugar from your coffee cups

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Casual dining on the Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

The food was great every time we have eaten here, although we have heard mixed reviews (from our Wedding guests who ate here after we recommended it)

Service was super friendly and sitting over the water was nice, although the lighting was dim.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, great views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Mantra Ray Cafe is situated right next to the marina so the outside seats overlook the boats and clear blue water. However at night the deck seems to wobble a bit because there are more people moving around so I would suggest trying to get a seat near the wall side rather than the balcony - this doesn't seem to have an effect during the day - only night.
The second night we stayed on Hamilton Island we decided to eat in at the Cafe for dinner. All staff were more than friendly and extremely helpful - I myself suffer from a range of intolerances with food and the staff member I spoke with was keen to accommodate in anyway possible. (This has been the same so far with every place I have visited for food on the island) it's usually difficult for me to eat out because I am so limited in what I can have but we ended up choosing the gluten free Chorizo Pasta and it was fantastic. I have been back twice more since for the same dish and have not been disappointed. The dishes are a few dollars more than what we pay for back home but still worth it.
The best part about eating here was that the staff actually seem interested in holding conversation with you and helping advise on what else you can do on the island rather then just saying an automated response because they get paid too. Both my partner and I enjoyed all meals here and didn't have to wait long for food to arrive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manta Ray also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Manta Ray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manta Ray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.