We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private luxurious resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Qualia Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Qualia Resort to your Saves list
Qualia Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Private luxurious resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed a weekend here. The Villas are divine and champagne delicious! I had the best sleeps ever! I would however suggest a variation to the food offering at the resort. We always like to eat in at resorts but after 2 days we were looking for some spice some rice or a noodle somewhere. The food felt a little repetitive. More of a casual offering poolside would be good too.
I had some delicious cocktails and some not so good - worked out that it depended on who made them. Lying pooside with planes flying over our heads frequently didn't fit with our surroundings which are lush and gorgeous. I loved the pool. My facial at the spa was the best ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    101
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
655
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed there for our honeymoon. We got late in booking so we got the villa without the pool. I suggest to either get the lowest room or the villa with the pool. The one that we got is little waste of money.

You get your own battery car than you can take around the island. And also you can put all your tab on your room key card.

What I liked about the resort was it was very romantic. Free champagne and romantic island getaway. We unfortunately got an island where there were other people, but you can always request beforehand knowing that they can even take you to an island with people. You can buy your own booze and carry it to the island. They will provide you with an ice box.

The sea plane ride to the heart reef is good. All the other activities are useless.

Room Tip: I suggest to either get the lowest room or the villa with the pool. The one that we got - the sea fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Elegant resort with the most stunning surroundings. Good food wonderful staff. Best massage ever with Kerri. And the Great Barrier Reef nearby. With a helipad on the premises we hopped on and were at the reef in less than a half hour. A feast for the eyes. What more could you want.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Qld
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had an incredible 3 night 'interlude package' stay at Qualia and loved every moment. Our pavilion (#10) was sublime. I will treasure the memory of celebrating my 40th birthday with my husband in such a magnificent setting. Thank you all. Now... I just need to liver detox after literally soaking in Charles Heidsieck for 72 hours...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadspen, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon where we spent 3 nights at the amazing Qualia Resort. It was absolutely perfect and beautiful, the service was perfect along with the amazing pool with bar and food close by at the fabulous pebble beach restaurant which we would highly recommend the dips platter whilst relaxing by the pool. Breakfast in the long pavilion was absolutely perfect with the best food and service, would like to recommend the vegetarian omelette especially. Beautifully maintained rooms which were private and relaxing with an amazing view and tranquility. We had a fabulous time here and being greeted with champagne on arrival and very helpful staff planning out your visit to your needs it was absolutely perfect! Oh and don't forget to have an amazing massage in the beautiful Qualia Spa!! Perfect, excellent & brilliant.

Room Tip: I would believe all the rooms here would be amazing it's just up to your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
540 reviews 540 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We came with very high expectations, and ther were met, albeit slowly.
Met at the airport and our luggage collected on our behalf and delivered to room, nice touch. Drinks in the fantastic hotel foyer whilst waiting for check in, took a bit long, but we were given a complimentary sunset cruise, again a nice touch. Dinner that night at the long pavillion was excellent, only marred by one waiter who could hardly speak English. As we booked with only a few days notice we had possibly the worst room (no. 49) in the resort, not much privacy, and some wear and tear on the carpet and lounges. Also had to ask for the room to be tidied. Pebble beach not very nice to swim at on a low tide, plenty of rocks, hence the name! Pool area fantastic, but prices like $28 for a cocktail and $44 for a hamburger are way over the top. Generally, service is excellent, panorama and vista superb, but a little 'sterile' at times. One must visit the reef and Whitehaven beach, spectacular.

Room Tip: Windward pavillions, no. 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Drew M,

Thank you for not only staying with us but also your candid review.

I am happy to hear you did enjoy your stay and that my team were able to cater more fully to your needs after what might be considered a less than perfect start.

It was appreciated that you informed us of the issues that you experienced – and please accept my apologies if these elements marred an otherwise enjoyable stay.

We certainly do hope you can visit us again soon and if there is anything we might be able to assist with in this respect, please don’t hesitate to contact me personally on gm@qualia.com.au.

Kind regards,

Matthew Taverner
General Manager - qualia

Hamilton Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Qualia and would highly recommend it. The setting is stunning and the accommodation beautiful and carefully thought through. You want for nothing. Staff are very attentive and helpful. We would particularly like to thank lovely Elle and Giacomo who looked after us in the dining room, Baraka for giving us great advice on activities and Rob for his cheerful friendliness on the drive back to the airport. All these ataff (and there were others) seemed genuinely interested in our experience and making it the best it could be. The chefs at Pebble Beach are turning out some lovely food too. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Qualia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualia Resort

Address: 20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Qualia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Whitsundays, qualia puts the wonders of the Great Barrier Reef right on your doorstep. Its sun-drenched northern aspect provides the ideal location to appreciate the passing beauty of each day, surrounding guests with some of the most stunning and spectacular waters to be found anywhere in the world. What’s more, with a direct flight taking only 2-3 hours from international gateway cities on Australia’s east coast, qualia truly is a world-class destination without the journey.qualia offers a choice of 60 individual pavilions, each with breathtaking views. There are spacious one-bedroom freestanding pavilions (Windward and Leeward) that provide an indulgentspace to relax in and unwind, with either a sundeck or private infinity edge plunge pool. Or, there’s the uncompromising luxury and privacy of the Beach House with its own guest pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Qualia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qualia Hamilton Island
Qualia Hotel Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qualia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.