We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hope to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qualia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Qualia Resort to your Saves list
Qualia Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We hope to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent staff - always willing to help and assist, service with a smile and nothing too much trouble

Food - Excellent choice, wonderfully presented and of a very high quality.The waiting staff were very knowledgable and the service was spot on, not too fast and not too slow.

Room - We stayed in No 4 on the Westward side and it was everything we could have dreamed of, spotless, great facilities, superb views and more.

Overall - A great place to stay, yes it is expensive, but you get what you pay for and it was worth every penny

Room Tip: No 4 Westward
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Stonemasons,

I'm so pleased to see that qualia was one of the highlights of your recent visit to Australia.

Thank you for your positive feedback, and I hope to see you back on our shores again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    101
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
656
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We were positively surprised by the efficiency, attentive service and beautiful setting. Staff is very responsive like it could never be anywhere in South East Asia. Hamilton Island is a perfect spot in terms of activities, ease of access, beauty of the Great Barrier Reef/Whitehaven beach and friendliness of people, clearly the $350m investment in the private island delivers a fantastic experience, with the buggy to get around. Only potential downside is the choice of food a qualia which is very good and inventive but a bit limited, also with respect to the wine list. In terms of activities, we found ha 4 days is not enough to do everything! July a good time to go when it's not too busy and hot, although sunbathing is still possible. Quite easy to reach from Hong Konhg, but most tourists seems in fact Australian. Well worth it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Fizios,

Thanks for staying with us at qualia during your recent visit from Hong Kong.

We like to think of qualia as the perfect launching pad to visit the Great Barrier Reef and Whitehaven Beach, so its pleasing that despite your limited time with us, that you were able to see these amazing natural wonders.

Thank you for your kind review. I warmly invite you both to return to qualia to partake in some more of the activities and tours that time prevented you from completing on your your first visit.

Warmest Regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Eight courses and I was left hungry!

Food looked nice for the small portions that I was able to identify. Never again! Took 2.5 hours cause I asked them to hurry it up at the end as I was eager to get back to my room and eat three apples and drink two cups of tea at 11.00 pm.

All froufrou, I travel the world, stay and eat in the best of the best and this was a true let down. Not world class by any standard and this was discussed and agreed by others that work on the island!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear soloangel,

It comes as a big surprise to us to see such a negative review of our signature degustation experience at qualia. In fact in the last 12 months alone, we have had 15 reviews on TripAdvisor that have specifically mentioned how overwhelmingly good and tasty or degustation dinner was. Yours is the first negative review of this degustation experience.

To be honest, I don't exactly know what went wrong with this service. I will ask the service team to see if they can provide me with any information that will allow us identify the occasion you refer to.

One initiative I will be taking is to double-check that the degustation menu is adequately explained to all diners before it is ordered. This will ensure that there is no confusion with the style of food that is served, or the time it takes to complete this service.

It is never pleasing to read a negative review of qualia. We pride ourselves on providing the best possible service to all our guests and we did not achieve this goal during your visit. For this I apologise.

Sincerely

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We travel extensively and are pretty anti social when it comes to choosing a resort - we like privacy and natural surroundings. Well Qualia is it , everything down to the finest detail is high quality and well thought out. We stayed in a Windward Villa with superb views . Guest Services can sort anything for you 24/7.
One word of warning is the food is great but portions are very large ! Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Jonesys,

As I only mentioned in a response I posted on TripAdvisor yesterday, it's our service goal to be readily available when you need us, and invisible when you don't.

We have many guests like yourself who stay with us in a luxurious Windward Pavilion, that never leave the comfort and solitude of their private retreat for their entirety of their stay. That's fine, as we are only a phone call away if you need us to do anything.

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Thanks for sharing.

Warmest Regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is amazing. I have to say probably the best resort I have ever visited. It is peaceful and tranquil. Bungalows are tastefully appointed and the service, especially at the pool during the day is very attentive and much appreciated. Dinner at either the pool or the Long Lodge is over priced and underwhelming. The 2nd night I only ordered soup because I found the menu not to my tastes.

The pool is amazing and something they do to the water makes it feel like silk on your skin. there is no chlorine smell or taste on your lips. The infinity edge looks like it goes directly into the Coral Sea.

The spa is paradise and I spent time in the steam room and outdoor shower. Both were quite relaxing and a treat. The products they offered at the spa and in the room didn't do much for my hair and left it very dry and frizzy.

If you have the chance visit Qualia. Well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear kim w,

Thank your for your 5 star review of qualia.

It's always good to see our guests indulge in a visit to Spa qualia during their stay, and it pleases me to say that you are not alone in your praise. The spa has picked up a host of awards in recent years, from esteemed judges such as Australian Gourmet Traveler, the HM Awards, and even TripAdvisor's Travelers Choice Awards.

The products that we supply at Spa qualia and within the rooms are the best natural Australian hair, body and skincare products available, such as Aesop, LI’TYA, and Sodashi. It was a shame that your hair did not agree with the reputation that these brands carry, and I'm sorry that it impacted your enjoyment of the qualia experience.

Thanks again for your feedback and I hope that your fond memories of qualia carry you through until your next visit to Australia. We'll see you then.

Warmest Regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just left qualia today and already cannot wait to come back! Really really enjoyed our time.

We were picked up from the airport, bags taken care of for us, a chilled bottle of water and a moist towel available. Transferred to hotel with one other couple, greeted with a lovely glass of champagne that was topped up as needed. Our host Michael was very courteous and went through the resort and buggy use very thoroughly. The rooms are divine with every small detail paid attention to- the beds are lovely, the views incredible, high quality Aesop bath products, complimentary non alcoholic drinks readily available, twice daily room service, large collection brand new movies for free, large bathtub - did i mention the incredible views?

Biggest note goes to the activities desk at Pebble beach. Adam did a supreme job of finding multiple activities for us and rescuing us from the water when our kayak tipped over in a most heroic and dramatic way- almost worth capsizing! Rex took us through the basics of sailing and gave us an amazing time. The glorious infinity pool with the complimentary ice cream was delightful! The gym each itself is tiny - but that's hardly an issue when an amazing beach drop off is arranged easily and you can have a breathtaking beach all to yourself with all the luxuries.

The breakfast was excellent and the stuff most courteous and polite. Kanthy, Chris, Ebony and Sam served us very well. Dinner is a little over-creative with foam and icecream appearing throughout the degustation menu at surprising times, but the food is the best on the island (there are only five restsurants however).

Thanks to penny and Natasha at the front desk. The spa service (hot stone massage) done by Bronwyn was incredible. Daily yoga in the most beautiful location was a treat. The little rock wallaby that appeared regularly outside our pavillion just added to the charm of the place.

Exquisitely decorated, utmost attention to detail and one of the best weeks of my life is how I will remember qualia. Thanks so much to the great team!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Eleneya,

I'm so glad that you had the chance to meet so many of our friendly team during your stay. It's our service goal to be readily available when you need us, and invisible when you don't.

From your comments I can clearly see that it was the team effort from our staff that contributed to your stay at qualia being one of the best weeks of your life.

We greatly appreciate your kind words and hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Warmest Regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Fantastic room, super huge, large bath tub, huge shower. Beautiful veranda that the many birds (like white parrots!) visit. They give you your own buggy that you take with you around the island and you can even park it outside your room!

Excellent room service food. The breakfast a la carte is so good too!

We went by helicopter to Whitsunday beach, felt like royalty. The helicopter picks you up from the hotel and lands on the beach, waits for you and back again! We also went diving with a large company from Hamilton Island that was very touristic and not impressive…

It is good that Hamilton Island has got qualia; it is definitely a gem to a rather isolated and bland island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear TTMdots,

It was a pleasure to host you and your partner on your recent visit from Dubai.

The helicopter ride you took directly from the qualia helipad is an experience that every person should add to their bucket list. Soaking in the stunning scenery as you sweep over Whitehaven Beach, the Whitsunday Islands, and Great Barrier Reef is a truly breathtaking experience.

I'm thrilled that you could do it whilst staying at qualia and thanks for taking the time to share your great comments.

Warmest Regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qualia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualia Resort

Address: 20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Qualia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Whitsundays, qualia puts the wonders of the Great Barrier Reef right on your doorstep. Its sun-drenched northern aspect provides the ideal location to appreciate the passing beauty of each day, surrounding guests with some of the most stunning and spectacular waters to be found anywhere in the world. What’s more, with a direct flight taking only 2-3 hours from international gateway cities on Australia’s east coast, qualia truly is a world-class destination without the journey.qualia offers a choice of 60 individual pavilions, each with breathtaking views. There are spacious one-bedroom freestanding pavilions (Windward and Leeward) that provide an indulgentspace to relax in and unwind, with either a sundeck or private infinity edge plunge pool. Or, there’s the uncompromising luxury and privacy of the Beach House with its own guest pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Qualia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qualia Hamilton Island
Qualia Hotel Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qualia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.