We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qualia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Qualia Resort to your Saves list
Qualia Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Wodonga, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived as part of a professional group on a retreat for four days with high expectations of the resort. We weren't let down. The impeccably furnished pavilion was completely in tune with its surroundings with no detail left to chance. Our windward pavillion was simply elegant without any tackiness and opulence that goes with many other exclusive resorts. The service was impeccable and dinner on the beach by the Infinity Pool was a once in a lifetime experience. Throughout our visit the staff were thoughtful and attentive to all of our needs without any of the overzealousness that is a feature of some resorts. We were left in peace when we wanted there was always someone ready to take care of all needs if we required it. The views and location are spectacular.

Room Tip: Windward pavilions have spectacular views of the whitsunday passage. Higher up is actually better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    94
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
33
566
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for a week. Overall, we felt that, for an expensive resort that wants to bill itself as "the best resort in the world," Qualia falls short of expectations. It is, however, very good and a cool place to go once.

The facilities are absolutely top notch. The rooms/bungalows are cool and comfortable; the property is beautiful; pool and "beach" are great; having the buggy is crucial, etc. Note: the beach is really just a small patch of sand dumped on some rocks at the northern tip of the island...but the view is spectacular.

Our major qualm was the service. Some days you'd have people falling over you to bring you anything at all and even things you didn't ask for just in case. Other days, you'd wonder around looking for someone or somewhere to get a drink of water. It became a running joke for us at breakfast to see what part of our order they forgot to bring out.

Our secondary qualm was the food. It's OK, but It is very expensive, even on an expensive island. Example: $38 club sandwich on the lunch menu, dinner for two (little alcohol) around $250. For that much, you expect to be wowed, not to discover that the island pizza joint has better food. Watery coffee should also be considered an insult to the Australian national psyche.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear TheOzExperience,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent experience of qualia.

As you pointed out in your review, Condé Nast Traveler recently awarded qualia the title of 'Best Resort in the World', scoring a perfect 100 in all categories including Rooms, Service, Food, Location, Design and Activities.

The only way we could achieve such an award is through the delivery of a consistent world-class standard of service. After reading your review, I am extremely sorry that you did not receive this world-class level of service during your stay and this is unacceptable.

Your detailed comments regarding the deficiencies in the breakfast service is one specific area that I will investigate further, and I will be sharing your feedback with the entire team here at qualia as a way of identifying any other service-level gaps we may have.

Once again I am sincerely sorry for the unfortunate drop in standards during your stay, and I hope that we get the chance to make amends one day.

Warmest Regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having read the great reviews i had high expectations of my visit to Qualia, i wasn't let down! With the service easily being the best i have ever experienced in Australia possibly ever, the room/suites are very large with luxury appointments and great views. Breakfast and lunch were great on each occasion that i ate there, the only disappointment being the evening meal in the long pavillion where the food was overcomplicated and not well done either the chef was trying too hard or he was having an off night as it fell well short of epectations as did the wine list which had an over representation on young wines of only average quality,

Room Tip: i dont imagine that you would really ever get a bad room but ask for one closer to the pavillion rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week in a windward pavilion as part of our 3 week honeymoon around Thailand and Australia. We wanted a week of pure relaxation and indulgence amongst all the travelling about- wow, we get that here!! Everything was perfect- service, food, the room, the views, the spa, the long pavilion, pebble beach, the cruise, the golf buggies etc etc. From the minute you arrive to the minute you leave, you are treated like royalty but also have all the privacy in the world when you want it. It is expensive but it's so good it is definitely worth every penny! Australia, you have a gem here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our last night at Qualia tonight and we are so sad to leave but so glad we came. Stayed 4 nights in the most beautiful resort in the world in my opinion. No detail has been missed. From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed with champagne and the lovely Ellie showed us around and looked after us for most of our stay. The staff ensured we didn't want for anything, room serviced twice a day and Ellie took the time to make our experience the best we have had in our life. The food, no words to describe the exquisite experience, the views breathtaking! I got teary several times during our stay, overwhelmed with the sheer beauty and overwhelming calmness and peace and the whole experience I had here. Thank you Qualia, I see now why this resort is the highest in world class ratings. Pure bliss! We'll be back! Bed was a little firm for me but I'm very fussy about my mattress and it's a personal thing. The spa massage was nice, but for the price, did not focus on the areas we had pain as requested hence the rating, otherwise everything was perfect. Thanks for a wonderful experience! One we will never forget.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the Winward pavilion, you won't be disappointed! Also take the gourmet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Kylie G,

It's a great compliment that you found the qualia experience so exquisitely moving, and I know that Ellie will be thrilled that she was able to contribute to your enjoyment of qualia.

We pride ourselves on our attention to detail, so we'll also share your comments with the Spa qualia team. It's important we learn from the occasions that we under-delivered on our high standards, and we will take appropriate steps to learn from your experience.

I am so glad that you had such a peaceful and memorable stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to do it all again one day soon.

Warmest regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Qualia to celebrate a milestone birthday in May. We loved the experience of utter indulgence and luxury. The windward pavilion was stunning with magnificent views. Loved the champagne on arrival and the food in the Long Pavilion for breakfast and dinner was sublime. Expensive lunch at Pebble Beach but a fab spot to dine and very relaxing right by the water. We enjoyed exploring the island in the golf buggy and the challenge of a round of golf on Dent Island!
The service was excellent as expected at such a high end resort. Outstanding and a brilliant place to stay

Room Tip: we stayed in a Windward Pavilion with magnificent views. It was worth the extra and loved the privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear billy0063,

It is great to receive such a nice review. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

It seems that the only challenging part of your qualia stay was on the fairways of the breathtaking Hamilton Island Golf Club. That's just the way we like it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to qualia.

Warmest Regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Qualia for 4 nights, with the first two days being a small on site conference and the remainder a relaxing, indulgent experience.

We were in a Windward Pavilion which is a bedroom/bathroom/living room villa with a private pool, sun loungers and day bed. This side of the resort has expansive views out over the Whitsundays, and the whole experience was incredibly calming.

The attention to detail from the staff at Qualia is the best I've encountered anywhere in the world. The staff are very intuitive but at the same time quite relaxed, it's a lovely combination and adds to the welcoming feeling that starts when being met off the plane with hand towels and water.

The food is excellent, we ate at the Long Pavilion twice, once a la carte and once with the 8 course degustation. The food was great and not too expensive when you compare it to some of the other restaurants on the Island that aren't as high a quality. The more casual poolside restaurant feels more expensive for the type of food being served ($38 sandwiches are a new experience for me!), but all non-alcoholic beverages are complimentary during your stay so that helps a little.

Breakfast is delicious and was part of our room price, and we had the option of eating in the restaurant or in our own Pavilion. We tried both and were equally happy, although it is very nice to eat a 5 star breakfast in the privacy of a villa while overlooking the water and surrounding islands.

At Qualia we were pleasantly surprised by the generosity of the service - on one of the evenings we didn't feel like fine dining so the staff went and picked up a pizza from the Italian restaurant in town for us, and charged it to our room. Likewise they are more than happy to bring an espresso coffee to your room whenever requested, all free of charge.

I think the tendency when reviewing such a high end (and expensive) hotel is to look for flaws, but we haven't been able to identify a single thing that they could improve on - it is a really lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Windward rooms are about 50% more expensive than the Leeward rooms, but the private pool and outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi Will F,

I'm pleased that after your conference, you and your wife were able to forget about the 'real world' for just a weekend to enjoy some time-out with us here at qualia.

Thank you for the great review. I look forward to welcoming you back when you next need to recharge the batteries.

Sincerely

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qualia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualia Resort

Address: 20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Qualia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Whitsundays, qualia puts the wonders of the Great Barrier Reef right on your doorstep. Its sun-drenched northern aspect provides the ideal location to appreciate the passing beauty of each day, surrounding guests with some of the most stunning and spectacular waters to be found anywhere in the world. What’s more, with a direct flight taking only 2-3 hours from international gateway cities on Australia’s east coast, qualia truly is a world-class destination without the journey.qualia offers a choice of 60 individual pavilions, each with breathtaking views. There are spacious one-bedroom freestanding pavilions (Windward and Leeward) that provide an indulgentspace to relax in and unwind, with either a sundeck or private infinity edge plunge pool. Or, there’s the uncompromising luxury and privacy of the Beach House with its own guest pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Qualia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qualia Hamilton Island
Qualia Hotel Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qualia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.