We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coca Chu

Coca Chu
Hamilton Island, The Whitsundays, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle,
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

It was lovely to have an Asian Restaurant on the island. We dines here twice. The first night both the entree and mains were wonderful.The second night the entree was excellent and the main not as nice-we did not have very much meat in the dish more noodles ...maybe it was our choice of food? It is still very good and lots of variety...a little different from the normal foods back home but we will return again .

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    155
    78
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The menu was wide and varied and all dishes were fantastic. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We went here on NYE, the only negative for us was it felt a bit rushed, it seemed like they wanted everyone out by 10.30pm

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice, but not 100% accommodating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The name is cool, I'll give it that.. Our waitress Jade was attentive and answered questions, but can't help but wonder why they cannot accommodate for individual tastes.. Being Asian influenced, most of the menu was chilli hot, my husband and I are not a fan of too hot, so we asked with a couple of dishes if we could have it mild and the response was that the kitchen will not take any special requests - all they had to do was hold off on the chilli? The kingfish salad was lovely though spoilt by chilli, the blue swimmer dumplings were really nice and the best meal of the night was the wagu beef rice noodles.. Which we chose as it was the only main dish without chilli. Didn't have much of an option!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“get the duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

first of location is beautiful. sitting arrangements are good as your not all crammed in like sardines. service is great everyone was very happy and professional. and the food is to die for. could not fault it. the duck was the high light though. highly recommend co ca chu to anyone who is staying on the island. I for one am disappointed I waited till my last night to go or else I would have Been there again and again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exotic flavours, great food and service and lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We booked a place here on New Year's Eve and so experienced the lovely family fireworks from the opposite end of the beach. The food has very exotic flavours, some a variant on south-east Asian cuisine, so may not be to everyone's taste. We did enjoy it, though. In general portions are small compared with some of the other restaurants on the island and also rather more expensive. However, it ambience and excellent service do make us recommend Coca Chu.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coca Chu also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Coca Chu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coca Chu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.