We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Save Saved
You added Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Hamilton Island
Echuca, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed on the 13th floor in a refurbished room. The view was amazing, no one could wake up unhappy here!!! Bathroom is still old, but OK. Pool isn't heated so in the cooler months swimming may not be an option. Staff are lovely. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    156
    41
    21
    14
See reviews for
99
155
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three days in the middle of July, and were quite happy with WAHI. Our room was clean and in good condition, and the facilities were pretty good. Gas stove & cook top, big flat screen telly, proper king sized bed and most importantly a wonderful view over to Whitsunday Island from the balcony, despite being in the "garden room" - which we assumed would be facing inland. Thie balcony & windows did get sun when the clouds cleared - it was a bit of a wet old trip unfortunately - and the only down side was if one of your neighbours decided to light up a smoke while you were out there. The pools, spa and other paraphrenalia decorating the slope from the hotel to the beach were quite good too. The WI-Fi though free is only available around reception, but they've a dedicated room down there so you're not too exposed to the elements. And the staff were as chirpy and helpful as any resort I've been to. A wierd bonus for me was a stairwell to get up and down between floors in addition to the elevator. It was a really good spot to get around to bits around the island - not that there is anywhere too far afield on Hamo, anyway - and despite being the "more affordable" option on the island, was probably the best spot we stayed at over the fortnight of our Queensland holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had some reservations after reading other reviews but, this place was perfect. I have travelled a lot and normally don't return but, I will certainly come back to Whitsunday Apartments. Yes, the tiles were a little chipped and outdated but, the location, the views, the roomy living area, the kitchen and the beds were all perfect!! They say towels will only be changed every four days , but often we were asked if we wanted new towels - this applies for the towels in your room and the beach towels. The kitchen is a good size if you want to self cater. We ordered our groceries with Coles online and when we checked in, our groceries were there ready and waiting in our room. We were on the 6th floor and had a beautiful view. Sunrise and sunsets are gorgeous on this island. During our stay, I'm guessing because of school holidays, they had a free jumping castle and face painting down by the pool.
The pool at the apartments is not heated so a bit chilly at this time of the year but, you are able to swim in all of the pools on the island, (well the ones along the beach). The heated pool is at the Reef View Hotel next door. They also do yummy dinners, (duck for entree was beautiful!)
We had a breakfast voucher at the Wildlife Park, which was very cute. Just a nice little stroll down the road and you get a wonderful buffet breakfast sitting amongst a few Koalas and sometimes extra friendly birds!! (Saw one man have a piece of bacon taken from his plate and then soon after little girl lose her sausage to the same Kookaburra, so be careful!!) The park is very small but, they take you on tours to feed the wallabies, you can get a photo cuddling a Koala, its really cute. It's fun to hire a golf buggy and drive around the island and I have to say the highlight for us was taking the helicopter back from Reef World. Absolutely spectacular. I think that if you are on a budget the 10 -15 minute trip over the reef would be well worth it. Beautiful flying over heart reef!!!

Room Tip: Sea views are definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here with another 3 groups of friends for my 30th Birthday. The staff were pleasant, the view was spectacular and the best thing was that we had the facilities of the apartment that could allow us to cook meals and have snacks while looking out over the reef. It was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend this place!
While the decor is not as fancy as next door (reef view) it is clean and as I mentioned above you can cook your own meals which saves a bit of $$ so then you can go out on more tours!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were there with a family of four for 5 nights. It was perfect for us. The children slept on the day beds whilst we had a king size bed in the main room. Apartment had everything. Clean, large and comfortable. View was spectacular. A quick walk to Reef View hotel for a meal, drink or breakfast. Pool was great. Would stay here again and have recommended it to family and friends.A great place to stay while in paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked a see view apartment. And it is valueable. We have 2nights in this apartment. It is amazing! Great sea view!Great location!
It is conveniant for us to get a shuttle bus and travel around the whole Island.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
The room is cleaness.

Room Tip: it is valueable. Great sea view!Great location! It is conveniant for us to get a shuttle bus and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The problem with the Whitsundays in general is that you are captive audience with not much choice so be prepared to spend over the odds for everything and nothing is for free (except the beach towel) - I suggest giving up trying to work out the exchange rate otherwise you will choke.

Having been told by Bookings.com that there was no cancellation fee to book here, I duly did and then searched for alternative options just incase - the very helpful people on Hamilton Island found me a cheaper 2 bed apartment but, when we tried to cancel found that there was actually a cancellation fee and we should have "read the small print". So, firstly, beware of Bookings.com and Whitsundays promoting this.

I must say we loved the apartment. Nice big bed, good sized lounge area and bathroom. There was only the two of us though which made it more special - you could sleep 5 comfortably but a little overcrowded so be wary of adding too many to the rooms. The Garden view means you miss out on looking over the ocean which is a lovely view

What I didn't like was, the Wifi - only available in lounge and very slow. The lack of towel change - beach towels could be changed daily, the white towels in the bathroom every 4 days which is not good.

The kitchen was old/outdated and the fridge froze everything. Shame the apartments don't have catering, a bar area. You can get a coffee downstairs between 7.30 and 11 and some random breakfast cereals from reception but it would have been nice to get breakfast there rather than having to either go and buy it (a bus or golf cart trip to the only shop on the island which, ran out of bread regularly - oh and the bakery shuts at 4pm everyday) or get ripped off at the Koala place or the other hotels

So, generally, lovely but not quite perfect

Room Tip: Garden view is lovely but sea view is definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Address: 14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island is apartment-style living in a truly tropical holiday destination in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Adjacent to Catseye Beach on the resort side of Hamilton Island, the Whitsunday Apartments are the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic or adventure holiday.Whitsunday Apartments is the ideal destination for holidaymakers who prefer the independence of apartment accommodation. Each apartment offers a well-appointed kitchen, dual-access bathroom, large open-plan living area and a spacious balcony offering ocean or lush tropical garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Hotel Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.