We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island to your Saves list
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The apartments are right on Catseye Beach great spot. The place is very convenient. Four pools to choose from and a spa. Apartment is quite large, ( can sleep 5 ) separate bedroom, large fully functional kitchen, full size fridge. Large Balcony is great especially with the views you have from there. Television in lounge and bedroom both with Foxtel, you can also plug in a hard drive or games console. . Housekeeping come to collect rubbish every day and will make your bed if required. Don't waste your money on hiring the golf buggies ( $90 for 24hr ) as the free shuttles take you everywhere that you can go on the Island. They come every 10 to 15 minutes you just jump on and off where you want. The free shuttle bus comes right to the foyer entrance so convenient. The apartments aren't cheap compared to other destinations but for Hamilton Island they are good value.

Room Tip: Stay on level 10 or higher. views are great. We had room 1003 and it was great. If staying for 3 n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    178
    51
    22
    15
See reviews for
114
180
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here with some friends for a few days, and it was awesome. The room is spacious and ours came with a small kitchen so we could cook (should we chose to). The best part of the room are the large sliding doors which open wide to let the breeze in. Of course the views were really nice as well. Only a short trek to the marina, and if you don't want to walk you can always catch the shuttle, or rent a golf cart to get around the island. Clean room, friendly staff, overall great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and managed to get one of the refurbished rooms. I was surprised at how spacious it was and the views were breathtaking.

I chose the apartments due to the fact they seemed the cheapest option (but by no means cheap!!) on Hamilton Island, plus I was travelling alone and the idea of being able to self cater rather than dine in restaurants was appealing. This also helped with finances!

The staff were fantastic - so friendly which was comforting for a solo traveller.

The bus stops right at the entrance which was handy and it made me feel really safe at night.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 and loved it!
Have stayed at the Reef View and the Beach Club, but this place has THE BEST VIEWS!

Staying on the top floor, the 1 bed apartment was very spacious and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed, and a quick (free) bus ride into the marina allowed us to pick up supplies from the general store so that we could make our meals here.
The food sold from all outlets on Hamo is amazing, but it can be rather expensive after a while, especially if you have a family, so I can highly recommend staying at the Whitsunday Apartments, cooking the majority of your own meals and spending your money on things like buggy hire, or reef adventures.

The outside of the apartments are definitely dated, the open corridors and the lifts could really do with an overhaul, but as soon as you open your apartment door and are greeted with the amazing view from the balcony you forget all about the corridor you just stepped in from!
The balcony itself is very large, and I honestly cannot stress enough how amazing the view is from the top floor (or even the floor below as we have stayed there too!)

The pool here was very nice, and more of a resort style with the rocks and the trees (as opposed to the Reef View), and the location is at the quiet end of the road, so you don't get all the noise from the yahoo's staying at the Reef View.

The free shuttle comes right by the reception area, so you can get to and from all areas of the island quite easily. That being said, it's a nice walk in to the marina too (even if the hill is a little punishing, haha!)

The room was serviced daily, with the bins taken out and toiletries replaced, and a light sweep too.

I have been to Hamo a few times now, and when I go back, I will definitely be looking at staying here again!

Room Tip: Stay in a Deluxe Coral Sea View Room or even a Sea View for the best views of the Coral Sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corowa, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had to travel to Hamilton Island for a wedding and decided on a four night stay. The apartment was very spacious with a breathtaking ocean view from the balcony. The apartment was extremely clean and it was great that room servicing maintained this cleanliness by removing the daily rubbish. We had all the equipment that anyone could require and the king size bed assured a pleasant night's sleep. The reception staff were pleasant and efficient and could answer any questions with ease. We were easily able to walk to any necessary location and if tired could take the free buses provided for a tour of the island.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrima, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay and can't stop raving to our friends and family about it! We purchased a Groupon and didn't know what to expect, but we certainly weren't disappointed! The apartment was huge and beautifully furnished, the king size bed very comfy. The views from our 12th floor balcony were stunning - especially the sunsets and sunrise! The grounds are immaculate and the pool & spa area lovely under the palm trees.
As we have family who work on Hamilton we didn't use the kitchen facilities other than for breakfast as we caught up with them when they finished work and ate out, but it was very well equiped with everything you could need..
The front office staff, were very welcoming, friendly and efficient as were the staff that came daily to remove our rubbish.
We will definitely return! Could you PLEASE have more Groupons, so we are able to visit more often?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in February and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are large and well equipped, we upgraded to the ocean view rooms on one of the floors that had recently been renovated which made it a little more comfortable. Our package also included daily room servicing which meant that our rubbish was emptied, bed made and towels changed..
There was one major drawback of the rooms though and that was that they weren't very well cleaned. There were spider webs in the bathroom, including their residents, plus it was obvious that no furniture was moved to vacuum as we found food and dust in between the lounges as well as the dishes very obviously not being well cleaned / washed. The cupboards could've done with a bit of a once over too with the door handles having some kind of nasty residue on them.
Overall we loved our stay. The location and help given by the staff at the front desk was great but a little more attention to the cleaning aspect would improve the experience by 100%.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Coral View rooms from floor 8 and above - the view is just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Address: 14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island is apartment-style living in a truly tropical holiday destination in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Adjacent to Catseye Beach on the resort side of Hamilton Island, the Whitsunday Apartments are the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic or adventure holiday.Whitsunday Apartments is the ideal destination for holidaymakers who prefer the independence of apartment accommodation. Each apartment offers a well-appointed kitchen, dual-access bathroom, large open-plan living area and a spacious balcony offering ocean or lush tropical garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Hotel Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.