We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyn Minchell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island to your Saves list
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cooloola Cove, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lyn Minchell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found all the staff to be courteous, helpful and friendly, nothing was a bother to do for us. They made our stay wonderful. The apartment was perfect, with a view to die for. It was perfect for a relaxing holiday. The apartments were probably the best location on the island, you could get up and have breakfast on the balcony overlooking the beach, watching the boats and it was great. Far enough away from the noise and hub of the island but close enough to be able tow walk to wherever. The island bus service run regularly and the wait for one was minimal. We hired the golf carts a lot of the time and we had a ball with them and traveled all over. I cannot say enough about the staff or the apartments. We will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors give the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    229
    62
    24
    16
See reviews for
139
245
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dingley Village
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found the apartments clean reasonably modern and functional for making breaky lunch and ice for the drinks to have while sitting on the balcony looking at blue skys blue water and a soft breeze. Reception area is really modern andteh staff were first class, always friendly and a "can do" attitude. It seems they really enjoy their job and it shows. The King Bed was really comfortable and great to enjoy as many other places only have Queens beds. Restaurants on the island were great value including the seafood platter at Mariners for $220.00. Romanos food and staff were also excellent and teh trip over top the golf club for lunch was just fantastic.

The location of these apartmenst makes them the best for all groups families couples etc close proximity to the beach its own pool and spa and just a short trip on the free bus. The first class view comes at no extra cost!!!!

Room Tip: HIgher floors have better view but the ambience is great on all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

As mentioned, try to get a higher located apartment. The views are fantastic. Share with friends and family to get the best value experience, as dining at the various restaurants can be very expensive. The lower rooms , you will be audible attacked by noises from children and people and bats later in the evening.

If you are planning an extended stay, we do suggest ordering groceries via Coles online, the money saved can go towards other water sport activities, buggies, golf, etc. And groceries are delivered to the apartments. Remember that, a bottle of 600mm water is $4, and sunscreen is $18-27 for ~100mm at the local marina supply stores!

Our apartment did have strange little ant things in the kitchen. Much smaller than normal ants, not sure if they are locals (we are from melbourne and i've not seen these small micro ants before) , they appear only if food is left out.

The downsides, the bathroom had an overpowering smell of 'extremely cheap' disinfectant which wafted straight into the bedroom, which made the first nite sleep extremely discomforting. Also the kitchen had that 'student' type grease smell.

But overall it was a great stay, the staff were courteous and assisted us with queries and questions no problems.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a better view. Do not get lower ones , you will hear kids all day screaming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I just wanted to say a big thank to you for the Wonderful holiday that we had at the Whitsunday Apartments! The apartments were absolutely perfect for what we needed and we believed we had the best position in the Island as far as having those 2 beautiful pools and the ocean right at our doorstep!

The fact that the apartments were next door to each other on the ground floor was fantastic as the kids could easily go between the 2 apartments and we knew they were safe.

Thank you so much for all your help! We are already trying to plan when we will be back and we will not bother looking anywhere else for accommodation as your property was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed ground floor East side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The heading says it all really! This is a great place to stay and an even better place if you book in advance and secure a great promotional deal (like I did).

We stayed in an ocean view room (5th floor). The view was great and the apartment itself was in a great spot - within walking distance to Catseye beach, gym and the marina.

If you go to the website, you will see that you can order groceries online from Coles. This option really relieves the budget however there is a general store at the marina. Alternatively reception at the apartment have a few things you can buy like laundry powder, snacks, cereal, small sachets of Vegemite, jam and honey. If you do your own cooking be warned that the kitchen knives are fairly blunt.

There's no wifi access available in your room, however free wifi in the reception and lounge area downstairs.

Reception staff also booked our activities - highly reccomend the company "Cruise Indigo Hamilton Island"

In summary, this is most likely to be the most affordable accommodation you will find in Hamilton Island. It's not the flashiest nor ultra modern, but it's modest, CLEAN, with reasonably modern appliances.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We read the reviews about the property being rather tired, however we paid $20.00 more and upgraded to a rennovated room, well worth the extra dollars. It also ensured we were on a higher floor 12th, so we had a fantastic view. Definately request a high floor as long as you can take the heights
The appartments are well located on the beach and at beginning of teh walking tracks, so no need to pay the hiogher prices of other locations.
We hired a golf buggy to get around, expensive at $85 per day but again a great way to see the island and determine where we wanted to go. No need to hire every day as a lot is with in walking distance however it was a good introduction to the layout of teh island

Room Tip: Pay extra for renovated room Ask for higer unit as view are fantastic the higher you are Hire a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Address: 14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island is apartment-style living in a truly tropical holiday destination in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Adjacent to Catseye Beach on the resort side of Hamilton Island, the Whitsunday Apartments are the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic or adventure holiday.Whitsunday Apartments is the ideal destination for holidaymakers who prefer the independence of apartment accommodation. Each apartment offers a well-appointed kitchen, dual-access bathroom, large open-plan living area and a spacious balcony offering ocean or lush tropical garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Hotel Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.