We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place...but buggy is extra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Palm Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Palm Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place...but buggy is extra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

we stayed at the palm bungalows for only 2 nights as we booked other accomodation (holiday rental which wasnt avaliable at that time).
Overall we had a wonderful relaxing time, I especially loved the hammock there too,
Stayed in the premium upgrade- was worth it as very nice and clean
-functional however not much space
-small kitchen provided
-tv channels wasnt that great from memory.
Very central to the main resort pool

The only downfall of this location i found was that it did not have a buggy included. -you can hire them for an extra $80 a day. In our other location we paid less and buggy was included (compass point #2- highly recommend)
other than that very relaxing if thats what your after

Room Tip: Go the premium bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
24
144
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penguin, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in a premium palm bungalow for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been happier. It was our first time to Hamilton Island and we are glad we now have an excuse to return for wedding anniversaries. Our bungalow was beautiful ... Spacious, well furnished, comfy bed, large bathroom, and lovely balcony ... I especially loved the hammock. The service was excellent throughout the island. We were spoilt by a bottle of champagne in our room and at dinner to celebrate our marriage. The facilities on the island were varied. We especially loved the pools at the resort centre and Catseye Beach. Hiring a buggy was lots of fun and a great way to see the island (although you can definitely walk most places you want to go and there are excellent free shuttle buses). The variety of restaurants and take away meals was impressive. We especially loved coca chu. We also enjoyed being able to do a little bit of shopping. We day toured to Whitehaven beach (must do), snorkelled the reef (cool fish and coral) and did a sunset cruise (very romantic) - we'd recommend all of these activities. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi KeithJ0,

Thanks for taking the time to tell the world how happy you were at our Palm Bungalows. I'm so glad that your honeymoon stay was so memorable, and if gets too cold for you back in Tasmania, be sure to jump on the plane to come back to visit us again.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The price was right! We were looking for the antidote to the big resorts but still want an attractive, modern, private place close to the restaurants, resorts, and beautiful Catseye beach? This group of bungalows (under the same management as Reef View Hotel) between marina and catseye beach it was just the thing! Bungalows are private, attractive, well equipped, reasonably priced, and set in small but exquisite tropical plantation. Just 2 minutes walk from Catseye Beach and 6 minutes walk from Marina (public transportation on island is free or golf buggies are available to rent), each of the Palm Bungalows offers a private patio /balcony and fully equipped Kitchenette. Island offers activities ranging from kids to adults. Either snorkeling at Great Barrier Reef or water sports near by Hamilton Island has all covered for visitors. No visit to the Hamilton island is complete without taking in the view of Whitehaven Beach from the Hill Inlet lookout, reputed to be the fifth most photographed location in Australia, Hill Inlet and Whitehaven Beach are the jewels of the very beautiful Whitsundays. There are tours available to visit Whitehaven Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi CheerfulElement,

I don't know how else to respond to your review, other than to say that when we need to create a new brochure for the Palm Bungalows I should give you a call to see if you could write it!

I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and took the time to post your great review.

Warm Regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Thanks for the bottle of sparkling wine for our anniversary. We had a beautiful room which was very private, clean, and relaxing. Overall it was a beautiful stay. We unfortunately left behind a bottle of vintage french wine...it had been only about 20 minutes after i reported this after our transfer to qualia but later in the day i was told that this was disposed of which was very disappointing as it was a special gift for our anniversary that we wanted to crack open on our last night. We received a beautiful hand written card from the manager congratulating us on our anniversary but please be mindful that not all the time it is a Mr and Mrs but could also be a Mr and Mr as the case with us even though the hotel was well informed in advance. In saying that this happens in most places and it didn't really bother us but i thought i'd mention it as something to be careful about. We enjoyed the pool, bowling, and the beautiful scenery this place has to offer. Thank you for such a good time!

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi aero_dude,

Thanks for the kind words about the Palm Bungalows and for accepting my gift and card in the spirit it was intended.

The vintage bottle of Champagne you left behind was found by Housekeeping, but for reasons I wish I could explain, it was delivered to the wrong room in qualia. I'm glad the team at qualia were able to replace your bottle with an alternate bottle of French Champagne, but we sincerely apologise for the mix-up.

I would like to extended an invitation to come visit us again, and when you do, please contact me personally to let me know of your plans.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have just returned from 3 lovely relaxing nights here to celebrate our 30th anniversary. There were rose petals and choccies to make it extra special when we arrived. We just wanted to say thanks again to Matt, Lauren and Hayley. The room was lovely and clean and the gardens beautiful. The bungalows are private and quiet and yet we couldn't have been closer to the pool and beach and there were stunning views to enjoy with breakfast, and drinks with the lorakeets who frequent the Sails restaurant too. The lunch at the golf club was not cheap but was delicious and the views on the tour around the golf course are spectacular. Very pleasant staff working at each place we visited. The helicopter hot lap was a fun way to get a birds eye view of the island. The cocktails at one tree hill at sunset were a treat too. All in all we had a wonderful time, would have stayed longer no problem and hope to next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Brian,

Thanks for your kind comments and congratulations on your 30th anniversary. I'm glad the team here were able to help you celebrate this terrific milestone, and that the Palm Bungalows were as relaxing and welcoming as you had planned. I look forward to welcoming you both back sometime soon.

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband & I just spent 3 nights in the Palm Bungalows. The most comfortable bed ever & so clean & fresh. We loved being so close to everything & all the activities. The walk to Passage Peak was slightly tough for us over 60 & just over an hour to the top, but absolutely worth every minute with the views of the entire island & more. The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly & chatty. We would recommend the Palm Bungalows to anyone travelling to Hamilton Island.

Room Tip: If you are with another couple, try to be next door & preferably with the stairs meeting to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Helen C,

The views from Passage Peak are stunning aren't they? I recommend getting up nice and early to ensure you're at the summit around sunrise. The panoramic views at that time of the day are the best in the world.

I'm glad you could get a good rest in our comfy beds at the end of your adventurous days. It sounded like a great trip.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed every moment on Hamilton Island. All the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly (I would be too if I could work on this island). The Palm Bungalows were perfect for us. More private than the Reef View Hotel and perfectly situated on the island. Yes, there were some ants (as other recent reviews state), but not enough of a problem to distract from an amazing place to stay in the middle of a tropical wilderness island. There were wallabies strolling by in the field and cockatoos everywhere. The hammock on the porch was great day and night. All the food we had on the island was excellent, especially at Sails Steak & Seafood. You have to check out all the trails, which were very diverse and scenic. H2O did a great job with the Great Barrier Reef and Whitehaven trips. We would LOVE to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Bungalows

Also Known As:
Palm Bungalows Hotel Hamilton Island
Palm Bungalows Hotel
Palm Hotel Hamilton Island
Address: 3 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Bungalows 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Bungalows comprise 49 freestanding island bungalows situated in a tropical garden setting,each with its own balcony and outdoor furniture. Rooms are spacious and specifically designed for couples or small families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Palm Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.