We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Palm Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Palm Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The concierge desk at the airport was a really nice touch and helped us feel at home from the start. The free transfer to the reception was well organised and the Reef View reception area was very welcoming (note WiFi only available in reception areas not rooms). The handy resort map was a lifesaver while we were there.

Whilst it seemed to be school holidays there did always seem to be sun loungers available around the pools and the beach if you wanted one. The choice of pools was good and the 3m deep one was almost totally empty which was great for adults. The beach was best experienced at high tide as other reviewers have said, the low tide isn't too impressive.

The bus transport around the island was really well organised whereas the restaurant booking was less so. Couldn't get into premium restaurants for our whole trip so for dinner we visited Romanos italian twice (excellent), the Manta Ray cafe for pizza once and Sails one. If you do not have children and enjoy a proper dining experience with quiet time as a couple over dinner avoid Sails at dinner time like the plague. A glorified canteen! However, excellent breakfast there so definitely try it for breakfast. Best lunch was Pool Terrace club sandwich although the wraps at the Wild Life cafe were good. Lovely ice cream at the parlour (which says it closes at 10pm but realistically get there before 9.45pm). Make reservations at the bookable restaurants as far in advance as you can.

Rooms were great value for money with loads of space and excellent facilities. We found the air conditioning very quiet compared to other places we've stayed but we may have been lucky given other reviewers. Beds were comfy with lots of pillows and suitable bedding. Really good to have a bungalow to yourself it felt really cosy and exclusive.

We didn't hire a buggy because the bungalows are so well situated for everything and the bus service is excellent. We booked a trip aboard the catamaran "On the Edge". It was the best organised boat tour we've ever been on. They knew all about the tides, winds, best spots and were very democratic about what people's priorities were. Felt safe at all times and in their very capable hands. Food and drink purchasing aboard was well organised so you paid at the end which meant not having to fiddle around with cash all day.

Would have been a five rating if the beach had been nice all day long, the snorkelling had been better, the dinner options better/more available, WiFi in the rooms and the room had been a little more up to date.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi England_and_Beyond,

Thank you for staying in a Palm Bungalow during your visit to Hamilton Island. It’s great to hear that you were happy with the value for money that you received – I too think that the Palm Bungalows are the nicest accommodation type for their price range.
This is our peak season and I suggest to guests that they book restaurants a day or two ahead as the most popular restaurants and times fill up fast.
I’m glad that your experience was great and I trust that you had a nice, relaxing holiday. You’re more than welcome to come back and stay with us anytime.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
24
144
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

First time on Hamilton - but if you come make sure there is not 100 per cent occupancy. Could not get into any of the upmarket restaurants- the seafood one and Romanos and the yacht club all booked out to an advertising conference. Could not get on any of the dinner cruises and reduced to going to the pub most nights. So if you are planning a romantic escape would definitely ask about the occupancy. On the plus side the staff were lovely and helpful. There was a decomposing insect in the barthroom behind the door which the cleaning staff failed to notice - still this is the tropics! Would I come back? No!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello Wendyandjim83,

I'm sorry that you had some trouble with trying to book a romantic dinner whilst on Hamilton Island. As you mentioned, we are in peak season now and we've also had some large conferences on Island lately that has meant reservations are essential. I suggest to guests that they book a couple of days ahead and one guest I spoke to today even made dinner reservations when she booked with us.

I'm happy to read that you thought staff were "lovely and helpful".

Thank you for your feedback and if you'd like to contact me directly to speak about this, my email address is mboileau@hamiltonisland.com.au. We would love to have you come back and stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The bungalow was comfortable but very dated. We had booked a year ago and requested for refurbished bungalows but got no reponse. Closer to the date we found that the refurbished ones were marketed as "Premium Bungalows". The TV remore did not work and the curtain has hooks missing which let in light. We waited for 3 days to see if the housekeeping staff observed this but that did not happen. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Opt for the refurbished bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Khushroo T,

I'm sorry that you were not totally happy with your stay.
A Premium Palm Bungalow is actually a different accommodation type, so we wouldn't have been able to put you in one if you had booked a Standard Palm Bungalow.
Thank you for notifying us about the tv remote and curtain hooks. We've changed the batteries in the remote and have adjusted the curtains so that they are hanging perfectly.

Warm Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I visited Hamilton Island for 4 nights for a friends wedding. The island is clean, organised, well lit and I felt safe. While we usually holiday overseas, it was really nice to holiday in Australia and experience the laid-back Aussie attitude. From the moment we arrived at the airport, staff were quick to help direct guests as to where to collect luggage, handout luggage tags and find transfers to all the accommodation. They gave clear instructions about transfers and check in. When we got on the bus, we were greeted warmly with a "how was your flight " and it felt like a mate had come to collect us for our holiday.

We checked in at The Reef Hotel and there were several staff on hand to process arriving guests. We were taking via golf buggy about 200m to Palm Bungalows. We stayed in a standard palm bungalow with buffet breakfast included at either The Reef Hotel, Sails or wildlife park. The bungalows are freestanding which is great: limited noise from neighbours and no waiting for lifts. It looked exactly like the pictures on their website and was what I expected; a flashback to the 1980's! Everything was clean and in good working order. Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and bars of soap were provided. Bathroom and beach towels were provided in the room. The room was made up once daily. My only complaint was the air conditioning unit was a little noisy.

The standard palm bungalows location is great. They are so close to everything. The bungalows are on their own private semi circular driveway separated from Resort Drive by a sloped lawn.  Wild life park (on the opposite side of Resort Drive) is at one entrance to the driveway (100m) and the beauty salon (50m) is at the other end. There is a little souvenir shop across the driveway.The gym is about 150m and The Reef Hotel (Pool Terrace Restaurant and pool) 200m. The buggy hire company is across the lawn on Resort Drive (50m). The resort centre including shops, bowling alley, main pool, pool bar, Sails steak and seafood grill, Verandah bar, Coca Chu restaurant, public toilets and the child care centre are 150-200m walk. The resort centre is set on Catseye beach. Directly in front on the beach is the water sports centre. The marina in 5 minute walk up and down a small hill.

We did not feel the need to hire a golf buggy due to our location on the island and our willingness to walk. The buggies are electric powered and therefore not loud or smelly. There are 3 shuttle bus routes, 2 (purple and orange) going opposite directions around the island leaving around every 30 minutes and 1 (green) looping between the marina and along Resort drive. Timetables are in rooms and on bus stops. Passengers must be seated. We were unable to board a 11.20am bus as it was full. As we were on our way to the wedding at 12pm and the next bus was at 11.50am we were left in a sticky situation. Luckily the helpful staff at The Reef Hotel saw our predicament and drove us to the wedding. Not only that, the next day the staff member enquired as to how we enjoyed the wedding. This personal service and care was apparent throughout our entire stay at all the establishments on the island. We booked a 'taxi' or minivan to the airport from The Reef Hotel for $14/2pax. The fare must be paid in cash to the driver.

Catseye beach is affected by the tide, so be mindfully of that when you plan your day. At high tide guests can enjoy kayaking, windsurfing, swimming etc, but at low tide I didn't find the beach overly attractive. I used the low tide as an opportunity to walk out to the water and snorkel. I found this to be an average experience due to my previous experiences world wide. Other activities such as fishing trips or boat trips can be booked and taken from the marina area.

The weather was sunny and about 24°C during the day and cool at night, so take a jacket. Water temperature was a fresh 20°C.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello ClaireBare,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review on Tripadvisor for readers.

I’m glad that you had such a great time on Hamilton Island and that everything went well on the wedding day.
It’s great to hear about the service that my staff provided when you needed a lift to the wedding. I hear these stories from guests quite often and it makes me really proud of my staff.
I hope that you will visit Hamilton Island again soon.


Warmest Regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in the refurbished Palm Bungalows and they were just as expected. For a couple they are perfect, spacious bedroom, bathroom with kitchen area with fridge, freezer etc. Storage space could be better but we were only there for 4 nights before moving on to another resort so it was okay for our needs. For us the bungalows were preferable to staying at the Reef Hotel as like to be on ground level and being able to sit on the verandah was really nice. This is a really nice alternative to the usual hotel setting. You can choose which restaurant to take breakfast in. We had two mornings with the koalas, and two in the poolside restaurant. Both were really good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hello ldhfto,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Palm Bungalows on Hamilton Island.
The Palm Bungalows are a very unique accommodation type on Hamilton Island and are always very popular for guests looking to be "away from it all". Guests have told me that they feel like they are in their own little world when they're inside their bungalow and international guests especially love the fact that wallabies often hop past the bungalows during the day.

I'm delighted that you had such an amazing holiday on Hamilton Island and I hope that it won't be too long until you are staying in a Palm Bungalow again.


Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay at premium bungalow number 30 and we loved everything about our stay. The bungalow was very modern, clean, fresh and comfortable. The kitchenette was superb with everything we needed including hot plates, microwave, fridge, electric kettle, toaster, cutlery, dinnerware, glasses,etc. Bathroom was beautiful and I loved the complimentary toiletries. There was even 2 umbrellas in the wardrobe, along with an iron and hair dryer. Bed was comfortable and bungalow was serviced each day. Our entire stay at Hamilton island was superb. Transfers from the airport to the accommodation is streamlined and makes for a no fuss holiday. All the staff on the island are helpful and will bend over backwards to make you happy. We had buffet breakfast included in our stay which made for a great start to each day. Highly recommend Hamilton island as a top class holiday destination and staying in the palm bungalows will make your visit even better. Well done Hamilton Island!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Madjude,

I’m glad to hear how much you loved the premium palm bungalow that you stayed in during your trip. Thank you for posting this review and the photos as well.
Thank you also for your support of Hamilton Island & the Palm Bungalows. Our Palm Bungalows have become so popular that we have been at 100% capacity lately and positive reviews from previous guests such as yourself has been a part of this success.
The next time you are thinking of coming back to Hamilton Island for another memorable holiday, please contact me on mboileau@hamiltonisland.com.au and I will assist with your booking.


Warm Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we walked into our bungalow it was luxurious, peaceful and perfect for family's and bsthroom was very clean and gorgeous the shower was a perfect size for the kids to all get in. The hammock on the deck was a perfect touch with the views of the ocean and trees. Perfectly located next to the wildlife park, beach, pools and kids playground made it the perfect location you could ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hello Alisajlawry,

Thank you so much for the wonderful, 5 star review of Palm Bungalows. I'm glad that you and your kids loved your bungalow so much.

I hope that you are all able to come back and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Bungalows

Also Known As:
Palm Bungalows Hotel Hamilton Island
Palm Bungalows Hotel
Palm Hotel Hamilton Island
Address: 3 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Bungalows 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Bungalows comprise 49 freestanding island bungalows situated in a tropical garden setting,each with its own balcony and outdoor furniture. Rooms are spacious and specifically designed for couples or small families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palm Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.