We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only blemish on the beautiful Island - Marina Deli” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Reef View Hotel to your Saves list
Reef View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
1 review
“Only blemish on the beautiful Island - Marina Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We went to Hamilton island for a long weekend. The entire trip was filled with amazing views, charming hospitality and beautiful landscapes. We are food lovers and this place proved to be a paradise. We hired a buggy and nearly cross sectioned the island exploring places which would otherwise have gone unnoticed. We will definitely go back to the island for the bush walks. Reef View hotel was awesome and the staff was friendly and helpful.

The only unfortunate incident happened at the 'Marina Deli' where we went for breakfast one morning. We asked for vegetarian meals but what came was a filled with lamb. When we inquired about it the lady on the counter was damn rude and didn't care a bit about disrespecting someone's dietary requirements. I would not recommend anyone to visit this place for simple reasons of in-courteous & unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    525
    199
    73
    47
See reviews for
300
584
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Great facilities and the view is amazing. The rooms are quite expensive for the what they are worth. Make sure you take a copy or PDF the package you have if pre-booked, this saved me in the end after nearly an hour of checking out (they couldnt find the package we booked and tried to charge us a higher one).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I traveled to the Reef View Hotel in the fall in Australia (mid May) and was pleased by the hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff at reception and the concierge were willing to help with whatever we needed. The rooms were much larger than I expected and all have amazing views of the sea. The reef off the beach is not that extensive, but we went out of the outer reef with Fantasea and were able to see a lot of fish! Even though there is much less of a chance of jellyfish outside of summer, you still have to wear a stinger suit. The water was also pretty warm and the sun is hot. I only ate breakfast at the hotel, but the food was excellent and there were tons of options. The beds were quite comfortable and the rooms had a comfortable sitting area. I stayed in a double room before heading out to the reef and a king room after returning a few days later and both were spacious and comfortable. All rooms have a balcony. One thing to keep in mind if you are traveling to Hamilton Island is all the hotels and most restaurants on the island are owned by the same group so it can be a bit pricy to eat out. If you choose to go to Hamilton Island, this is a great place to stay which I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Reef View for 5 nights . We payed for a garden room and very suprised at the view we got when we arrived, it was on the fourth floor and looking out we had the view of catseye beach plus all the other Islands plus the garden. The room was a big size with two queen beds in and bathroom was very very spacious. The room was so good that we thought they made a mistake and gave us the wrong room!
The customer service at the hotel was second to none! Even though the batteries on the tv remote stopped working the staff brought new ones in 4 minutes and I was shocked at how fast they attended to our needs!
The full buffet breakfast is something that you only get in a 5 star hotel in Sydney! All the staff were fantastic and We would only stay at the Reef View Hotel if we go back to Hamilton Island !!! would recommend this hotel to everyone !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

The rooms were spacious. Great large balcony terrific large Bathroom but shower leaked onto the floor after each shower which had to be moped up with lots of towels. Breakfast buffet had a great deal of variety and wide selection of foods available. The staff varied in attitude some were extremely friendly and helpful and other don't even know you exist the customer service could be improved on. Shuttle bus was fantastic it took you various lookout and main points of interest around the island. Loved the green bus @ around peak hour it was impossible to get up the hill you have better chances of walking back then getting the green bus. Food was average in most restaurant and very expensive. The trips to Great Barrier Reef and White Haven Beach were most enjoyable with crew on the boats taking care of you every step of the way. Golf buggy's were fun for a few hours but unless you a hired an electric motor the fumes were very overpowering and not that enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed here for 5 days. The rooms are very large and the balcony is also large. We had a coral sea view room which had absolutely amazing views. The breakfast was included and was wonderful. Like others have said, everything else on the island is way overpriced. $25 for a small, and average tasting, pizza is crazy. Do not rent a buggy as you can walk just about everywhere on the island within a few minutes. where you can't walk, the free shuttle will take you. Get your picture taken holding a Koala as this was the only place we found in Australia that actually let you hold the Koala as opposed to standing next to it. If you don't mind burning through money, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed here for three nights to provide services to a conference being held at the resort.

I was quite looking forward to staying here, as most of the reviews seemed positive, particularly regarding the spacious rooms. As staff, however, we were placed in what is called a Junior Room. This is a much smaller room with an interconnecting door to a regular room, designed for children. The twin beds (which were placed apart) were TINY, and when pushed together (which the staff arranged, no problem) made up only a Queen size. The Junior rooms are also directly next to the lifts (swooshing noises all the time), do not have a balcony, and have a very small, poky bathroom.

My biggest gripe was with the pillows - they smelled terribly musty. After the first night I grabbed the spare one in the cupboard, and it was a bit better.

That aside, we enjoyed our time at Hamilton Island. The regular shuttle service means that personal vehicles are unnecessary, and allows you to indulge in cocktails, which are about the only thing that represents half-decent value.

We preferred the Bouganvillea Pool directly opposite the hotel with views over Catseye Beach, and the Main Pool area for swimming - larger, good bar service and plenty of lounge chairs.

We got a special deal for breakfast which entitled us to Breakfast at the Pool Terrace (hotel - excellent buffet), Sails Restaurant (only had lunch here, but was okay), or the Koala Gallery Cafe. We had breakfast here the first day - it was ordinary, but the koalas are cute, and we were glad we went here first, as we would have been disappointed after the great selection from the hotel's buffet by comparison.

Food elsewhere on the island was varied. Dinner at Romano's was overpriced (even by island standards) and rather bland. Lunch at the Marina Deli was very average indeed, and someone needs to tell them that sitting sandwiches in the display cabinet all day with the bread drying out is not great advertising!

Lunch at the Manta Ray Cafe was very good (expensive pizza, but very tasty), although the service was poor. Probably the most impressive meal, particularly for value, was the Marina Tavern (the local pub). And when I had a problem with my meal (most of which was delicious), I was given a full credit, and a most sincere apology.

We took the ferry over to Dent Island (golf course) which does a great deal for $59 - a two-course meal, plus a glass of wine, which includes the ferry over and back and a tour of the course in your own buggy (if you time it right). Highly recommended.

The Pool Terrace dinner deal was also pretty good, and we ate very well here on our last night.

The Departure Lounge facilities at the hotel are very good, and allow you to make the most of your time before taking the short shuttle trip to the airport.

It was nice to go to Hamilton Island, and a great place to be able to leave your brain in your hotel room, but I wouldn't b rushing back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.