We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning surrounds, 5 star staff and service, beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Reef View Hotel to your Saves list
Reef View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stunning surrounds, 5 star staff and service, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

The outside of the hotel looks drab BUT the inside is beautiful (of course doesn't compare to the stunning whitsunday scenery!). I'm so glad my friend and I chose to stay here for our mini break! We stayed on the top floor and our room was immaculate. Spacious and clean, with an amazing view! We had 2 queen beds, mini bar and a massive bathroom. The hotel provided a tour desk, a japanese check in (which was very considerate for some of the overseas tourists!), tennis courts, water sports, buffet brekky, etc. the whole package. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and hospitable. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and served in a welcoming setting by the pool. There is so much to do (although we mainly swam/sunbaked all day) from water sports to day tours to the reef, hiring a golf buggy to get around the island, walks/trails and of course the sunset at one tree hill. We took a day tour organised by the hotel to whitehaven beach and also did snorkelling. The local snorkelling was disappointing but nonetheless was a beautiful and fun day out. At the end of our stay we checked out at 10am and left our bags in the room while we went to the beach one last time! We then proceeded to the hotel lobby where our bags were ready to be loaded on the airport transfer and all we had to do was hop on the mini bus for the VERY short ride to the airport. the absolute ONLY low point was march flies (they bite and they're everywhere!) but thats not something the hotel can control obviously :P I'm totally impressed with the hotel and location and we had an awesome time! Definetly returning with our partners!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    525
    198
    72
    47
See reviews for
298
583
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Stayed 4 nights in garden view room (2nd floor). The room was really great - very generously sized and the staff were good. Being on the second floor you were near the air conditioner vents and it was a little noisy when you were heading to your room but it wasn't really noticeable when you were in the room.

You could charge anything on the island back to your room so it was really convenient.

Pricing for food on the island was well a little pricy but not too bad - it was an island after all and you've got to expect island pricing.

The bush walks start from near the hotel and are a little challenging so remember to bring your hiking boots.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We had a room facing the ocean with a fantasic view of the ocean.The rooms are houge.Pool is great too.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Hamilton Island is a controversial place and the Reef View by all accounts should not actually be there - a high rise hotel on a magnificent island that some say it despoils. But forget all that because when you are inside looking out the view of Catseye Beach is superb.
The Reef View had a makeover not long ago and the rooms are well decorated and equipped. Stay higher up and you get a better view of Whitsunday and the blue seas.
We found the staff courteous, helpful and efficient, arranging flowers for our wedding anniversary was not too much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

My wife & I spent 3 nights in the Reef View to attend a friends wedding on the island. The hotel stands high above the beach and provides amazing views from the 3rd floor up. The hotel has everything you need and i cant recommend this hotel enough.

But beware of one thing... this island will hurt your pocket. Beers, Water, everything is double what you would pay on the mainland.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

My husband, 2 year old child and I stayed in a Garden View Room for 5 nights. Due to the hotel being heavily booked, we were accomodated on the 2nd floor, which was quite noisy at night being near the hotel's bar. Would've been nicer to say on a higher floor. Hotel staff were excellent, friendly and very efficient, really lovely. Buffet breakfast was lovely, but pricey and wished we'd bought a package that included it. Hotel Pool was lovely, other pools in the area, nice, but really disliked the main pool on the island with the swim up bar called the Bougainvillea, better to be named the "Bogan "pool. All in all a really lovely, hotel, beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I stayed at the Reef View for 3 nights with a friend and had a Coral View room on the 8th floor which was fabulous. We met some people in the lift who were staying on the 19th floor - they invited us up to see the view from their room - WOW, it was a 2 bed duplex with a plunge pool - perhaps next visit....!!! Parts of the hotel however do look a bit tired. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and the meal was very good. It was mostly couples and families when we stayed. The shuttle bus is a great way to see most of the Island. To do - Snorkelling on the Reef; bucket of prawns in Sails; sandwich lunch from The Bakery; One Tree Hill at sunset.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.