We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Reef View Hotel to your Saves list
Reef View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I recently went on a family holiday and stayed at the Reef View Hotel on Hamilton Island. The place was great and service was exceptional. We met a Restaurant Manager Jefferson Del La Rosa who was fantastic and went over and above to ensure we were looked after. Great job Jeff...

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels have some amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    571
    216
    76
    50
See reviews for
328
650
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in June. The rooms were lovely and breakfasts probably the best hotel breakfast I've ever had but they are doing renovations to the roof of the foyer and our room was right next to it. This meant we experienced high levels of noise. We asked to move rooms which we were able to the following day.

Lovely hotel overall but def ask for a room away from the noise!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at the Reef View as part of a business conference. There is a lot of accommodation available on the island but I liked the Reef View for a few reasons.
1. Great views over the bay
2. An easy walk down to the waters edge and other resort-type facilities
3. Complimentary shuttle runs from the hotel to the small village overlooking the marina.
4. A shuttle runs around the island so you can hop on/off at various vantage points knowing there is a reliable service to get you back again
5. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations but this isn't disturbing guests.
6. The room I had was a huge double king bed with separate bathroom including bath, shower, separate toilet etc and a balcony
7. You can walk safely anywhere because there are almost no cars but more golf carts than I've ever seen anywhere - I'm sure they breed!
8. Staff were excellent, helpful, friendly. Lot's more can be said. Just go and enjoy it

Room Tip: Pay extra if required and get a room on at least the 4 th floor or above so the palms don't obst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear SydneyBruno

My thanks for your succinct review.

We are indeed in the middle of a multi stage refurbishment and excited to have it all completed, hopefully giving you your 8th reason to return and see the changes we have made.

Glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent 4 nights in a reef view room. The room was large, and the room service each day was good. Breakfast is good; however, if you turn up after 8:30 there is often a queue before you can find a table. The TV in our room kept shutting down automatically, and we had to call maintenance 4 times during our visit. The first time it took them 40 mins to just come up and visit our room. At the checkout, they wanted to charge us for using the mini bar; however, we had not used a bit, and they removed the charge. So, be extra careful when reviewing your account at the time of checkout. The island, however, is avery nice place for relaxing.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi Shr3664

Thank you for your review.

Was a pleasure having you here with us and I’m incredibly happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I'm sorry to learn you had a couple of issues with your TV and with checking out, please do accept my apologies – I’m glad my team were able to rectify the Mini Bar issue so fast.

I have followed up with our maintenance team as to why there were such delays and also spoken with my Food and Beverage team in regards to wait times during breakfast service.

I apologise again for the inconvenience and disruption to your holiday.

Hope to welcome you back soon. If there is anything I can do for you please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

After having a very forgetful experience at Hayman Island nearby a few years ago (where we paid double the price) we prepared ourselves for arrogant staff and inefficient service. However, we were pleasantly surprised. All the staff here was very friendly and efficient. Every day our room was made up during breakfast (we asked for it) and extra shampoo was delivered within minutes. We were particularly impressed with the shuttle service: very frequent and reliable from early morning to late at night.

We had a room on level 13 and the view from the balcony was spectacular. Our room had very similar layout to the one we had on Hayman Island in 2011. It was very clean and comfortable for 2 adults and a child.

This hotel is big, but we never felt that it was crowded, because there are so many options for people to disperse. Hotel breakfast is served at 3 different venues (including one with koalas), apart from the coffee shops in the village. For lunch and dinner there are many options too. As there are four large pools there is always a place where kids are welcome and quiet 'islands' to hide for couples.

On many occasions we had to remind ourselves that it was a 4 star hotel not a 5 star one and that many of the amenities and services available here are not common for a 4 star hotel. Overall this hotel is ideal for a relaxing family holiday and we would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't that on checkout, the reception tried to overcharge us for extra wifi usage. We protested as we hadn't even used one bite of the standard allowance, but they still tried to convince us that our 8 year old son must have accidentally activated it. At the end we didn't pay for it, but beware if this charge appears on your statement.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed it. We were on the 3rd floor and pleasantly surprised with a lovely view of the beach and greenery...rooms were clean and big. We had a couple of issues with our room which were fixed immediately and all was good. Rooms were serviced everyday and the buffet here was brillliant. We had dinner here a few times as well and really enjoyed them, The bingo on Thursday night at the reef lounge was lots of fun and the kids really enjoyed it. The staff here were great and friendly and we had a brilliant week here. Would definitely stay here again. It was close to everything and has the only heated pool so we swam here alot and it was lovely. Great to have the noodles in the pool for the kids..and adults too!!!! Transfer to and from hotel really great and so easy...Bus stop right outside too for the free shuttle service around the island. Great stay...

Room Tip: From the 3rd floor and up I suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear L0zza23

Thank you for your review.

Was a pleasure having you here with us and I’m incredibly happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. The view across the palm trees and out to Catseye Beach is just stunning and one I never tire of.

I’m sorry to learn you had a couple of issues with your room upon check in, please do accept my apologies – Glad my team were able to rectify them so fast.

Apart from that it sounds like you had an incredible holiday and I’m proud to read that our team were able to add to that– I shall proudly pass on your feedback.

Hope to welcome you back soon. If there is anything I can do for you please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

There are two places to stay on Hamilton Island: The Qualia resort and the Reef View. The Qualia is about 4-5 times more expensive than the Reef View - if you can afford it, go for it. The Reef View offers everything you want and at a better price point. Recommend upgrading to the Coral Sea View Rooms on the higher levels - worth it! You will get 40% of booking with the Entertainment Book - this saved us like $900!

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Service was good (maid, room service, etc.). Hotel is in a central location and is the main stop on the Green shuttle bus (important.). But still walking distance from anything you want to do as well. Tip - don't get suckered into renting a buggy - prices are exorbitant and the shuttle bus runs regularly every 15 minutes and is free. Only reason you might get a buggy for a day is if you want to explore the island by driving around, otherwise, save your money.

Food and drinks are ridiculously expensive. It is worth it to add the daily breakfast to your booking because you will pay more if you don't. Tip - bring a carry on filled with snacks. There is a general store at the Marina but prices are hiked up about 150%. Still cheaper than purchasing every meal at the hotel. There is also a bottle shop at the Marina and the prices are more reasonable - recommend you stop there if you plan to drink on the island. If you go to the hotel bar, expect to pay $25/round of two drinks.

Koala cuddle is a must - great pics and can get in and out in about 20 minutes.

Day cruises are very good - try to get to Whitehaven Beach - very nice. Also, snorkeling is great! I recommend the cruise company Explore - they are top notch and provide a better service than Cruise Whitsundays. Both are good but Explore is like flying business class while Cruise Whitsundays is coach.

Wish all a nice holiday and hope you read my review as it will help if you take my advice.

Room Tip: Book the Coral Sea view rooms on the upper levels. Great view and away from the noise of the Terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.