We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not want go back !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Reef View Hotel to your Saves list
Reef View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Goiania, Go
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Do not want go back !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Its a Island so its a summer hotel but I didnt like it. I hadnt had the view I expected and there are not many places for entertainment. Service was really unpersonal and with no much attention - specially if you want hire a tour or talk with the concierge - The food in general was terrible and overpriced - especially the breakfast (the guy who do the omeletes work hard but only him do a lot do functions so you have to wait a lot) The Island is beautiful but everything in this hotel is overpriced and dated. You have to rent a expensive golf car because its not easy walk by foot in the Island. The best thing is about how they do the schedule for arrivals and departures in the hotel special transportation.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Cristiano S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is always disappointing to hear when a guest does not enjoy their holiday with us.

Reef View Hotel is very centrally located to pools and Catseye Beach and only a short stroll to the marina where you can find many restaurants and shops. For those guests who do not wish to hire a buggy or walk, we do offer a complimentary shuttle bus that runs on 3 different routes to all areas of the island.

We also offer 60 plus activities and over 10 restaurants for our guests, catering to all budgets and needs.

I am surprised to hear that you felt the service was impersonal and will ensure this is followed up with my team as I do understand this plays a very important part in our guest’s satisfaction.

I hope we can welcome you again to enjoy the beauty here.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    525
    198
    72
    47
See reviews for
298
583
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

From the concierge upon our arrival to the concierge wishing us well to the unfortunate end of our stay the service, facilities, view and room were fantastic. This hotel caters well for families and couples and integrates well with the rest of the island. Nothing is a problem and why would it be, you're on Hamilton island! - what a place with great friendly people :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Where do I start? First of all it's important to separate the review of the island from the hotel. The island itself is beautiful. My partner and I stayed at the Reef View Hotel and had a terrible experience!

The infrastructure of the hotel is very out dated, it looks as though nothing has changed since the hotel opened. The setting of the place is very 90's. It's very important for the hospitality and tourism industry to keep up with the times! The lobby could use a serious make over. The ceiling is a major skylight which makes the lobby very hot, not a good idea when you have guests waiting in this area for long periods of time waiting for their rooms to be ready. Not to mention the waterfall they have in the lobby is just a major eye sore! The cushions on the seats in our room were faded and stained and the beach towels provided are small and scratchy. Our room was not cleaned to a high standard. I would have done a better job cleaning the bathroom myself.

We also had dinner at the hotels restaurant. For a smorgasbord dinner it was $45 per person! I understand it's the Whitsunday's but c'mon, how can you charge $45 a head for a smorgasbord, it's ridiculous! Also, the quality of the food was absolute rubbish! Easily one of the worst meals I've ever eaten! I did complain to management who were very understanding and gave me a full refund.

On a better note, the majority of the staff were very helpful, pleasant and polite. The duty manager and supervisor of the restaurant;
(Adam & Rob) who dealt with our complaint about the restaurant were extremely pleasant and understanding, a ten out of ten for their hospitality.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone but I do understand everyone has different travel experiences, ours was just terrible. The staff was lovely but unfortunately it doesn't make up for the bad experience. The major issue for us was, for such an expensive, well known and sought after resort you expect high quality everything, not rubbish! The hotel could use some serious money spent on it or lower the rates. Was not worth the money spent, very disappointed! So over rated.

The good staff is the only thing this hotel has going for it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Brittany2411,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Reef View Hotel is not a new hotel but it is very well built and it has been well maintained over the years with regular refurbishments.

I am also surprised to hear you did not enjoy our buffet, we pride ourselves on offering something to suit all tastes and budgets and have a wide variety of food available. It is great to hear however that Adam and Rob were able to assist with your complaint in a professional manner and will happily pass your commendations to them. I have also discussed your feedback with the team to see what we can do to continue to improve our service.

I apologise again that you did not enjoy your time with us, I do hope we can welcome you back again to experience Hamilton Island at its best.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights of our honeymoon, following fun stops in Sydney and Melbourne.

For the HOTEL itself, we were pretty disappointed. The Reef View is massive (as opposed to any feeling of intimacy) and it’s really dated. I’m pretty sure nothing has changed since it opened in the late 1980s. Upon arrival we were happily stunned with the view from our 13th floor room, but we were equally stunned by the overwhelming smell of mildew. We complained to the front desk, and they showed us another room on the same floor which had the same problem, so we kept the original one. They cleaned out the air conditioner and for a couple days that helped, but a few days in the smell was back. On furnishings, the bed needs a new mattress, the linens were not particularly impressive, the couch was OLD and faded, and there were no drawers for clothing. In the bathroom, no bathrobes (though we did get them upon request) and the bath towels were just average. The beach towels they provide are scratchy and pretty small for beach towels. The bathroom also needs updating – very early 90s style. WiFi was included, but very, very slow. The housekeeping services were minimal – the toilet never looked clean after its first use and again, the mildew smell was pervasive. Our package included breakfast, which we decided to eat at Sails (the oceanfront restaurant just down the road) instead of in the lobby restaurant because the lobby restaurant looked like a cheap cafeteria.

It’s important to separate the review of the ISLAND from the review of the HOTEL. The ISLAND, in short, is drop-dead gorgeous. It’s an expensive place to visit, as lunches averaged A$20 per person, dinners averaged A$120 per person (including a bottle of the cheapest wine on the list), and cocktails averaged A$15 each, but the scenery is truly epic. Outside the building, the beachfront was pretty impressive and the pools were plentiful and clean, but you can access all of that if you’re staying anywhere on the island.

Eating-wise, HIGHLY recommend Coca Chu (near the Reef View) and Bommie over on the marina. Mariner’s was NOT worth it, and Romano’s was solid, if unexciting, Italian food.

Room Tip: Go for as high a floor as possible - definitely above the 5th floor, and preferably one of the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear RunningRog,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it is disappointing to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Reef View Hotel isn’t a new hotel but it is very well built and it has been well maintained over the years with regular refurbishments and cleaning. However, I apologise for your disappointment regarding your hotel room. We do have a maintenance program in place to ensure our rooms are fresh, although I appreciate that this wasn’t your experience and will be looking into this with our housekeeping team.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the island, the views certainly are breathtaking.

I do hope we can welcome you back again.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Not much to say other than simply faultless. We're on our honeymoon and have been upgraded to a top room and it's probably the best room I've ever stayed in.

There isn't anything I can think of that is negative, and I normally don't struggle!

Anyone with a complaint about this hotel needs their heads testing.



Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the reef hotel the week before Christmas
the holiday was with our family which included our 14 month old grand child and it was a great success. The hotel staff provided all the necessary items so our family could relax
The rooms, the beautiful vista from our rooms on the 16th floor
the amazing staff and customer service made this a truly great break for the family
Thank you to all the staff who made this a really successful holiday
Loved the cockatoos on the balcony, just don't forget to close the sliding doors

Room Tip: 16th floor fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Hamilton Island, and found the Reef View a great option for families. The room was very large with two queen sized beds and plenty of room for a cot as well, which was perfect for us and our two small kids. The balcony was large (although we were on a low floor so the view was average) and the bathroom was massive. It appears that the room had been recently renovated, although the bathrooms were not done they are perfectly fine. This is not a luxury hotel, there are others on hamilton island that are, but rather a great family hotel. I would suggest that the hotel give their lobby a make over soon, in particular the awful waterfall (which just looked dirty and old from our view on the first floor). However the state of the lobby isn't that important to us.

Breakfast was nice, and could be taken at 3 different venues. It is handy having a deal that includes brekky as otherwise it could be expensive. The pool at the hotel was nice and never too crowded, the other larger pool was also good (although a bit feral at times).

I loved the convenience of hamilton island, you can get off your flight and be at the pool within 30 minutes, with very efficient transfers and service. Everywhere is easy to walk to (expect some hills), and the variety of restaurants were fine. Yes they are expensive, and limited, but you are on an island. If you want subway or McDonald's, you may be better off going to Surfers Paradise. We took advantage of restaurants where kids eat free and had some great dinners. We also enjoyed the kids club (nice to have a few hours to read the paper by the pool) and the day spa.

Overall hamilton island, and the reef view hotel, is a great place to go for a very relaxing long weekend, especially with a young family. This is my third visit to the island, and we will definitely be back. The hotel can be expensive, if you can get a deal it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor for a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Alexandriad

It is always wonderful to welcome our guests back, and great to hear you enjoyed your stay!

It is definitely easy to get around on the island and the fact that you can be at the pool within minutes of arriving is always a great way to start your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.