We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest to everything you want” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Reef View Hotel to your Saves list
Reef View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Closest to everything you want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We went to Hamilton for a weeks break at the end of the June / July school holidays and booked into the Reef View hotel just from a internet search. I am so glad that we did as it has been an excellent choice. We did stay in one of the 2 story reef view suites and it was a very comfortable room. We only had two gripes with the room. The first one is that it was advertised as having a kitchenette and when I called to confirm what the "kitchenette" consisted of I was told there was no cooking facilities except for a microwave which on arrival didn't even have one of those. The only other problem is that upstairs there is no door to the bathroom which wouldn't normally be a problem only that there is also no covers for the windows over the bath so the light steams through there of a morning. But that aside the room was large, clean and comfortable and the staff were excellent. It is only a very short walk across to the beach and as it was winter when we were here the heated pool just outside the hotel keep the kids entertained for ages. We missed out on a trip to the reef as the wind was excessive for our stay but I think we will have to come back for a weekend and if they are available we will be booking back in here....

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    525
    198
    72
    47
See reviews for
298
583
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Imagine an island where your every vacation wish is realized, that is Hamilton Island. This is a true vacation oasis, from golf, to tennis to beaches, to holding a Koala. Truly a world class resort in the Whitsunday Islands. While there are a number of accommodations options the Reef View Hotel is where we chose. A five star hotel in every sense of the word. The perfect family resort and hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi asaxey,

I'm so happy we have left you with these great memories of Australia. Although we are only a 4 star Hotel. Nevertheless, I'm pleased that you and the family had a five star experience.

Thanks for your review

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel and Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Took my two teenage children up to Hamilton Island for this first week of school holidays. Needed to get some sun and warmth away from a Melbourne winter. A beautiful view from the 11th Floor; activities and services all within a 5-10 minute stroll or buggy ride from the Hotel. The hotel is still pretty good now that it is nearly 25 years old. The room was better than OK but agree with others who say that there is not much clothes storage space....had to use the suitcases a bit rather than wardrobes and cupboards. Room was cleaned and serviced as requested.Everything was fresh and bright. Restaurants and facilities were fine. Staff were exceptional. Only small issue I had was that the booking through the Travel Centre had us booked into two Queen beds rather than three singles, and my son and daughter were booked in as Mr and Mrs, and I was the "child"!! - we had a good laugh about that :). Costs are pretty high for meals, drinks etc, but it is what you expect for an island resort where everything has to come from the mainland.
I recommend the Reef View, and Hamilton Island to families of any ages, and for couples or friends looking for a relaxing break away.

Room Tip: Ensure you get 8th floor and above for the wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hamilton Island is a very special place... if you go there you will understand what I mean. This hotel has amazing views and very spacious rooms. The rooms are a little on the less modern side, but they are very clean and large. The hotel lobby area needs a face lift, but other than that I would recommend. Great location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We had 5 nights at the Reef View and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The staff were friendly and the location was perfect.

This was our first visit to Hamilton Island and we will definitely be back.

The only issue I had with the room was that there was not much provision for clothes storage. It's ok to live out of a suit case for 1 or 2 nights but for 5 nights you like to unpack and organize the wardrobe.

The other minor issue was the shower head was quite low and for a tall person this made it slightly difficult.

As far as the island goes it is quite expensive for everything you do be it go to a restaurant, go bowling or even hiring a Buggy is quite expensive. But I guess they get away with it being on an island.

The island itself is fantastic with everything a short stroll away. The bush walks are great. They need more lighting on the footpaths for night time walking.

The tavern is in desperate need of a Reno as it would be a smash hit if done right. Disappointing that the night club was closed each night due to private functions so never got to see it.

Over all it was a great experience and I commend the Oatley family for providing holiday makers a great spot to visit:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After a rocky year, our family of four just needed a time to totally relax. It needed to be close to Sydney, warm and family friendly, with the option of plenty to do for everyone. This is exactly what Hamilton Island provided, especially at the Reef View. We booked a Reef Suite with 2 Queen beds which worked well for us. Upstairs is the bedroom and bathroom (open plan with door only to WC), while downstairs is living room, kitchenette (small fridge/coffee & tea - no toaster or microwave, but crockery if you want to bring back takeaway), and a second WC. Both have balconies with fantastic views....and cockatoos!

Given our trip was only for 4 nights/5 days (Jetstar have a 2.50pm flight back to Sydney), I am glad I decided to stay on the "resort" side, rather than over on the Marina side. I didn't read the fine print enough, and only knew that breakfast was going to be included and a transfer. I was contacted by Alicia from the Concierge before we left, asking could she help with any dinner/tour reservations (or anything really). What a fantastic service, and she was so friendly and helpful our whole time there. Upon arrival, we were met by another fantastic member of concierge (I am so sorry I forget your name), and taken directly to the hotel. They even collected our bags for us, which were delivered to our room - outstanding service once again. After a private check-in in the Reef Lounge we jumped into the lift and found the most amazing views from our suite on level 19 (don't worry if your room is not up that high, as the views from just about anywhere are amazing and you will not go home without having experienced them). The island is absolutely beautiful. The kids were in their swimmers and we were booking tours within an hour of arrival (you can book in advance via email, but they ask you for your credit card number - who emails those?). If you can get on the Turtle Experience, we found this extremely good (minimum 12 years). Book it straight away through the beach sports hut, as places are limited and timings depend on the tide. Given we had never been to HI before, we didn't realise that most water activities on Catseye are tide dependent. We booked a catamaran initially for one day, but when we realised how popular they were, we went back and booked a second hour for a different day. It is a little like disney in this respect - if you have limited time, you need to sort your tours/activities out and get them all booked at the start. We did this and did everything we wanted with plenty of time to relax in between. Took the Reef Ryder 2 in 1 (half day tour). Snorkelling at Chalkies beach was fun, but at this time of year it was a little cold due to wind chill. Recommend taking wetsuits with you (they are offered free with tour). Check the sizings before you leave, so you are not stuck with wrong equipment when you get there. Whitehaven is absolutely gorgeous, and as everyone says, is a "must do". I digress, this review should be about the hotel, but in a big way, the hotel and everything HI has to offer are one and the same, as it seems to be the heart of the island. At this time of year all the main pools were quite cold (we tried them all). The one at RV is heated and therefore very popular, especially with little ones. My personal favourite was Hibiscus - it is small and almost "hidden". If you want some quiet on Catseye (away from the paddle boarding/sailing hoards) then go out the hotel, turn right and go through the first beach access point you come across. This will take you past Hibiscus and out onto the beach where you will find available deck chairs. We ate at the hotel - breakfast was good, but got busy as the holidays went on. Eat early if you want to avoid the masses. Also tried Mariners and Cocachu which were both good. The bakery is great if you want to pick up something for lunch, but don't want "cooked" food. Kids were allowed in the Reef Bar, where they had live music. We went one evening as we were waiting for a table in the restaurant (didn't book:). It was great, had a drink and ordered the kids some bread to stave off the hunger - very relaxing once again. The only minus I could point out, is that the island is expensive (evening meals for 4 people were always around $250 - which included 2-4 alcoholic drinks - our kids don't eat off kids menu either). Lunch at beach club also a bit on expensive side (enough chips for 1 child = $8...). If you are prepared for this, then it won't be a problem. If you want to save, you can always go to the bakery and make your own sandwiches - the grocery store is well stocked. If you want to totally self cater - book one of the many apartments. Because we had such a short time, we found the RV was perfect for us and would love to go back!

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi mmccDubai,

What a great review.

It's fantastic you enjoyed yourself so much after such a rocky year. I hope that this trip proves to be a turning-point into brighter year ahead. I wish you and your family every success this year, and please feel free to contact me personally if/when you or your family needs another escape to Hamilton Island.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel and Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Reef View Hotel in Hamilton Island was amazing, we really enjoyed our stay and were blow away by the variety of attractions and activities to do as a family.

We are going to make our trip to the Reef View Hotel on Hamilton Island an annual holiday as we enjoyed our stay so much.

See you next year :)

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are amazing with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.