We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hamilton island beach club” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beach Club
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   9 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Hamilton Island
canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“hamilton island beach club”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just came back from the resort and cannot give this resort more than 3 stars. The rooms need a really good clean particularrily in the bathrooms. It rained the entire time (which was not the resort's fault) but to do anything was horribly expensive and there was not a lot to do unless you paid big money. After 6 days I got cabin fever and had a massage and then a facail and the cost was the most I have ever paid including at Hyatt at Coolum. The water is not the colour that appears in the brochures. Our pool at the Beach Club (we never used it) was lovely but the other pools looked as though they needed a good clean and update.

The food at the restaurants was beautiful. Very expensive but presentation and taste was magnificent especially the Asian.

The staff and the manager Marcus were fantastic. All there to please.

For the amount of money we paid it is not worth it when one could go overseas for far less.

Extremely disappointed in the holiday and would not return.

Eiliskeely

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Eiliskeely,

Thank you for your feedback.

I’m sorry that the poor weather affected your enjoyment of Beach Club and Hamilton Island in general. It was unusually rainy and I know that this was frustrating for many guests.

I understand that you were disappointed due to the weather but if you’re considering coming back in the future, please email me directly on marcust@hamiltonisland.com.au and I will do everything that I can to make sure that your next stay is better.

Thanks for your compliments about staff and food and I hope that you will decide to come back some time.

Sincerely,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    103
    58
    12
    5
See reviews for
9
380
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 5 night and were very well taken care of. Flight from Sydney was easy and staff was there to meet us at the airport, bring us to the hotel, give us a welcome drink and snack and orient us to all the amenities. In fact, the courtesy and care of the staff was almost the best part of this stay. They were welcoming from the get-go and there to serve every need with a smile and great conversation. Whomever has recruited these young people has done a great job! They are from all parts of the world.

Our room was lovely--very comfortable and amply spacious. All rooms at the BC look out over the ocean, although the top floors definitely have the best view. There was a problem with our first room, and once the maintenance was alerted, we were moved to a new room immediately, given some compensation and a lovely bottle of sparkling wine from the manager.

Breakfast (included) was exceptional and offered a large selection of items, both hot and cold. We also ate a lunch at the BC which was tasty. Again, the service was fabulous.

We took advantage of some of the water sports available (also included); we would have liked to do more but heavy wind conditions made sailing impossible. Still, lounging on the beach or by the gorgeous pool, or exploring the shoreline or bay when the tide receded was excellent diversion.

The 'town' on Hamilton Island is certainly within walking distance of the BC, and we both walked in good weather and utilized the free transportation (van pick-up) when the weather turned inclement. A number of good restaurants exist in the town and other hotels of Hamilton Island. The menus are all available through reception, who will make reservations for you.

The Beach Club has thought of everything, down to providing over-sized umbrellas for those showery times. A number of great hikes are available on the island and we did those, taking the umbrellas along as combination walking stick and rain protection. Trails are well-marked.

The island has an additional advantage of being close to the Great Barrier Reef, only about 1 hr 40 min boat ride away. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room. There are two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Grizingraz,

It was a pleasure to read your review. Thanks for posting!

The hiking trails around Hamilton Island are a great way to see another side of Hamilton Island and the view from Passage Peak at sunrise is unbelievable. We actually also have free audio tours that are available on Itunes or from our website that you can download to your ipod.

Thank you for your recommendation and I hope that you do stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked here for a birthday break, we chose BC as it had good reviews, was adults only and facilities were exclusively for BC guests.

Upon arrival at the airport we met up with a BC member of staff who transferred us to the hotel, they arranged for our luggage to be transferred directly to our room. We had our welcome snack and drink while we were told about the hotel and facilities and then shown up to our room.

The room was a good size, other reviews say the rooms are dated, while I wouldn’t describe it as ultra modern it didn’t feel that dated. Everything was in good condition and didn’t feel worn or tired.
We had a top floor room and the view was great. Nice to sit out and look out over the sea with a cup of tea or glass of wine!
The room was clean, bed clean and comfy, the balcony could have been a little cleaner, but I am probably just being a little picky.
Breakfast was included, and breakfast was great, ate too much everyday! Also had some lunch at BC too which was good and good value compared with some of the other places on the island, cocktails were also good too.
I made use of the free non-motorised watersports each day, great fun and all the better for being included in the package.
The pool area was nice, the poolside loungers here were usually busy but there was always plenty of BC loungers available on the beach and you still get waitress service down there.

I think what made our stay at Beach Club great rather than good was the service. From the moment we arrived the service was always excellent and couldn’t identify one member of staff for being excellent as they all were great.

Would definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: We preferred the top floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great for a short getaway. We flew direct from Sydney and its was all very easy. The report is 18+ so good if you would like a quiet relaxing time by the pool. The rooms were good, but not as luxurious as we expected for the price. In saying that we would come back to this hotel. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Nastia84,

Thanks for reviewing Beach Club after your recent stay. The pool is always a winner with our guests, and as it is heated great all year round. We hope to see you back soon for a short or maybe longer break.

Sincerely,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamtonshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days as part of our 5 week trip to Australia. This was the 'chill out' part of our trip and we could not have chosen a better place! From getting off the plane to our departure everything was taken care of with wonderful service and friendly smiles. Our room, on the second floor with a view over the beach and ocean, was extremely comfortable and spacious. Transport on hand to take you anywhere you want any time, bookings made for restaurants, in fact anything you need taken care of for you!
It was wonderful to relax on the beach, cold water and little 'treats' bought to your sunbeds and to sample delicious cocktails. We left feeling very relaxed and wishing that this piece of paradise was not so far from the UK!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear RugBugs,

I’m glad that you were able to “chill out” at Beach Club and have some time to relax during your busy tour of Australia.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Beach Club. If you ever find yourself on Hamilton Island again, you’ll always be welcome here.

Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My partner booked a long weekend away for my 40th birthday & chose the Beach Club not really knowing anything about it or the island, but he made a fantastic choice! The hotel was amazing, right from landing on the island I felt like you get the VIP treatment, collecting and delivering your luggage to your room first, then a very easy check in, Hannah made us feel very welcome : ) we arrived at 9am in the morning and our room was ready straight away and we were able to go and have breakfast by the pool after a quick freshen up. We loved the complimentary bottle of champagne in our room (didn't last long!), our room was on the ground floor just a few steps across the lush gardens to the beach. We never heard any noise from any other room in our whole stay, very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was perfect and its nice to have a special each morning to give you a bit more choice. The staff are all so nice and accommodating, whatever we asked for, it was no trouble, they booked all our restaurants, excursions and spa treatments for us and ferried us around the island always with a smile and friendly manner even at 2.30am when we needed a lift back from the one club on the island! I feel like they did everything they could to make my birthday feel special. My partner took advantage of the free use of watersports on cats eye beach while I took advantage of the lovely pool. On our last night we had the 7 course meal right on the beach that they call the waters edge experience, the service was exemplary and a great experience eating a fabulous meal under the palm trees to the sound of the waves. Thank you to Marcus and his team for making our stay perfect! We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Beach Club almost lives up to its spin, it claims, “Awaken to absolute beachfront views at the Beach Club. Surrounded by landscaped gardens on Catseye Beach, the Beach Club Hamilton Island is a boutique retreat exclusively for adults. Romantic, intimate and perfect for couples, the well-appointed boutique rooms have a stylish and relaxed beach house vibe, tailor-made for relaxing. All rooms at the Beach Club Hotel have a private courtyard or balcony looking onto palm-fringed Catseye Beach and the Coral Sea”.

In most areas, it meets these claims:

• The comfortable bedrooms have a beach house feel
• The pool is private and fantastic
• The property is private and surrounded by lovely gardens
• The room terraces and balconies overlook a palm-fringed beach
• The food is excellent – dinner around the pool is highly recommended (this is where we had the best meal of our stay on the island)
• The service was excellent wherever you were in the property – room, around the pool, restaurant and on the (private) beach area.

Unfortunately, it also fails in a couple of key areas:

• The property is not as claimed on their website a “Non-smoking property” – there are many “designated smoking areas” and many guests who smoke. Also, an occasional the guest who smokes on their room terrace/balcony – in our case at 4am, 5.30am, 7.00am and in the afternoon. In our view, to claim to be a “Non-smoking property” is a complete misrepresentation and all reference to this should be removed from their advertising. This was a consideration in our decision to stay at the Beach Club.

• Whilst the majority of the staff are fantastic one or two let things down. When we arrived at the resort, we were asked to sit in the lobby/bar while check-in was completed. It turned out our room was not ready (which is fine as we were early), however, the staff member looking after us left us in the lobby with no time estimate, no updates and no options! We would of appreciated a short tour of the facilities, offer of a room to refresh ourselves and change (and yes they do have one) and/or perhaps seats and a table outside!

On the plus side, the management reacted promptly to our concerns and tried their best to resolve them – this ensured that we came away with a positive view of our stay.

This was our first visit to Hamilton Island, we were not quite prepared for the mix of large hotels, large apartment complexes, bungalows and private accommodation. The island was busier and less relaxing than we expected, there is no sense of being on an isolated tropical island. In fact in some areas, including around the Beach Club, it is quite built up. However, we found that all of the island’s staff were great and the restaurants generally very good. The real benefit of Hamilton Island is the excellent transport links, straight from Sydney to the Island – and then less than 10 minutes transfer time from the airport to the Beach Club.

Not sure that we would ever go back – but this says more about the general island experience and less about the Beach Club.

Note – a number of prior reviews have referred to the wine lists being dominated by Robert Oatley Wines. The reality is that this is not true, we had many different wines, including a few Oatley wines that were very good.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are away from the lobby/bar/dining areas. We enjoyed having a ground level room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club

Address: 9 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beach Club 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its absolute beachfront location, the Beach Club offers the ultimate romantic island holiday experience. Set in landscaped gardens, all 57 rooms face directly onto Catseye Beach, each with theirown private courtyard or balcony. Exclusive room inclusions/ A la carte breakfast daily at the Beach Club restaurant / VIP return Hamilton Island airport/marina to Beach Club transfers / VIP chauffeur service / Use of catamarans, paddle skis, windsurfers and snorkellingequipment / Use of the gym, spa and sauna / Tennis and squash court hire / Use of the Beach Club lounge, pool and restaurant. Note: Beach Club does not cater for persons under the age of 18 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Club Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Resort Hamilton Island
Beach Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.