We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Club to your Saves list
Beach Club
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   9 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were booked for 2 consecutive nights at Beach Club after a conference and a Reefeep, however our Reefsleep was double booked(!!)! The staff at Beach Club were so sympathetic to us and changed our dates so that the Reefsleep occurred in the middle of our stay. Our bulk luggage was stored during our time away. Thanks again to Brice, Alice and especially Cassie, however all the staff were very attentive. The location is excellent and no kids policy a pure pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello Denise D,

Thanks for posting this great review of Beach Club! I'm glad that Brice, Alice and Cassie were able to help you out. We try hard to be understanding and helpful to our guests. It's a fact of life that sometimes things come up that are out of your control and if we are able to, we will do all we can to make sure our guests have a great holiday.

I'm very happy that you loved your stay with us and I hope to see you back at Beach Club soon.

Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    119
    61
    14
    5
See reviews for
12
432
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My friend & I have just spent 2 nights at Beach Club for a short midweek getaway. We arrived at Beach Club around lunch time & expected to be shown to our room immediately as is usual. Unfortunately the hotel claimed they hadn't had a booking for a twin room, despite booking through an agent & previously confirming that our request had been met. So we waited patiently until they could accommodate us. Initially we were informed it would just take a few minutes, after nearly an hour we were invited to take lunch at the Beach Club until they could solve the problem. After a costly meal & 2 hours of waiting we were finally shown to our room. We were greeted by 2 very small single beds & whist they were adequate were definitely not expected. We unlike other guests we spoke to, found the room clean. The furnishings were however obviously cheap & out of date. The tags left on the Ikea furniture was a bit of a give-away. The delay was annoying & at our own expense. For such a small resort it was is hard to understand the delay & the fact that the manager did not make an appearance.
Tv etc in the room were very dated & signal was intermittent & nobody explained wifi or other room facilities to us.
After the initial contact, the staff were genuinely lovely, dining staff especially. Included breakfast was varied & plentiful but a shame we could taste chlorinated water in some beverages.
We found our ground floor room very peaceful but reading other reviews it appears we were lucky with the other guests.
All in all this is a nice & quiet small hotel, but definitely should not be described as 4 1/2 star or a resort.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical apparently but the further away from the main area is better & the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear vmo m,

My apologies for the wait on your room on arrival. I am unsure why the message from your booking agent for a twin room never made it to us at Beach Club. I will, of course be following up with the booking agent on this to ensure it isn't repeated.

I will also be getting our reservations department to follow up why the room configuration wasn't explained properly to you by the booking agent. We have a very limited amount of rooms that have a splitable king bed and we were actually very lucky to have one available on your day of arrival. This was an unnecessary inconvenience for you and I am sorry that it affected your experience of Beach Club.

My apologies for not making an appearance during your check-in but I was away from the hotel on this day. Brice, is a very experienced and professional Front Office Manager and he tried hard to rectify the error as quickly as he could.

While the furniture at Beach Club is not brand new, we do have quality furnishings and I haven't seen anything that has been purchased from IKEA so I’m not sure how you got this impression.

I’m glad that you were pleased with your stay after this initial hiccup and I hope that you will decide to come back sometime in the future.

Warm Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

From the moment we were collected at the airport this was a truly fantastic stay. Hamilton Island uses golf buggys for almost all transport and Beach Club residents get VIP transfers around the island 24 hours a day. When you want to go out just pop to reception and one of the lovely staff will run you anywhere on the island almost instantly. When you want to come back, just drop into anywhere with a phone and they will call for you to be collected within a couple of minutes. Brilliant service all round.

We were lucky enough to be given a room right in the centre of the hotel with a great view over the pool and the beach. The room was tidy and well presented and the bed was very comfortable indeed so we had a great nights sleep every night.

We went on many excursions and the staff on reception were always very helpful in booking restaurants or trips for us, and would leave a letter in our rooms to confirm what had been booked.

Food in the restaurant was always to a very very high standard including breakfast where a daily special was offered which we often chose and thouroughly enjoyed.

I have stayed in many hotels around the world that are supposed to be at this level of quality but the service provided here far exceeds anywhere else I have stayed before. The staff are always very friendly and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble for them.

We'd highly recommend staying here to anybody that is thinking of visiting Hamilton Island but doesn't want to go the next big step up to the pricey Qualia resort.

Room Tip: The rooms above the lounge and restaurant on the first floor give the best views over the pool and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear RicAllmond,

I really enjoyed reading your review and my staff and I appreciate your kind words.

All of us here at Beach Club try hard to make sure that our guests feel special and have a hassle-free holiday. It’s great to see that we obviously achieved that in your case and we’re all committed to ensuring that all of our guests are as satisfied with their stay as you were.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Beach Club and I hope that we’re able to have you stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We decided to hit Hamilton Island as a last minute weekend trip - we've previously tried Reef View Hotel and this time we wanted direct access to the beach.

When we landed at the airport, we were warmly greeted by Beach Club staff who escorted us to the resort via traditional golf buggies.

When we arrived we were led into a stylish lounge where we were given welcome drinks and a brief summary of what the resort was all about.

Afterwards, one of the friendly staff led us to our room on the ground level - turns out it was right next to the lounge / restaurant. We later found out that our room was actually placed in a very good location.

Dinner at the resort restaurant was impressive. The service provided by staff was sound.

Breakfast by the little infinity pool was a fantastic idea. There was fine selection of foods.

The only disappointing thing I would have to point out was that we found a porn dvd inside the dvd player when we checked in. Maybe housekeeping should check things thoroughly before allowing new guests to step in to their room.

Overall, an enjoyable experience and we would likely return when we next itch for a mini getaway.

Room Tip: Go groundfloor closest to the restaurant - easier access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Lincoln_and_Pia,

I'm incredibly sorry about the DVD left in the DVD player - obviously a previous guest must have accidentally left it behind. This isn't something that I can remember happening before (usually guests are careful to take all of their belongings with them) but we will check the DVD players as part of our housekeeping process from now on!

Aside from this hiccup, I was pleased to see that you loved everything about your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have both of you stay and I hope to see you relaxing by the infinity pool again soon.

Warm Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

All I can say is that you are paying for location here and that's about it. The shared areas - pool and cafe bar - are lovely but they obviously decided not to bother when it came to the rooms they are asking guests to shell out $500 a night for. Old, chipped furniture that looks like it came straight out of an ikea flat pack, no consideration to ambience or interior design whatsoever - it was the standard I'd expect from a cheap and cheerful holiday apartment. We were also stunned to discover that while the hotels position on the beachfront was great, that also meant we were subject to the pounding bass lines of music from the beach bar a few doors down all afternoon, every day, then karaoke from the hotel behind in the evening. Exclusive, this is definitely not.

Staff were excellent and extremely thoughtful and helpful so service can't be faulted - the 3 stars I've given are for service and location.

As for Hamilton island, I wouldn't recommend it: the natural beauty and scenery is incredible but the resort itself is soulless, plastic and lacks charm. It reminded me of one of those Spanish golfing resorts filled with rich people with no interest in culture, adventure or the desire to discover anything for themselves. If Hamilton is anything to go by im not surprised the traditional Qld tourist spots are struggling - they need to cut their prices, spend some money on improving or refurbishing their offer - or both. Disappointed.

Room Tip: Pick a balcony room as they all have a view of the ocean - garden rooms looked dingy and enclosed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

So lets get the issue out of the way first, the rooms. The furniture in them is old and dated and not what you'd expect to find in a hotel of this class. Having said that if you'd come to this location and this hotel to stay in the room and look at furniture then you'd be mad. The beach does have slightly noisy neighbours too (not very good live bands playing all afternoon). So now for all the good stuff. The food and service are really very very good. Brice, Jollene and Tasman were over particular note, they really could not have done more to make the stay perfect. Every breakfast was a delight, dinners were a real treat and the view whilst enjoying them was near perfect. This is a great base for swimming, exploring the island and taking trips further afield. It made us both feel special and was a really great end to our holiday. It's not cheap but that keeps it special. Go on treat yourself!

Room Tip: Try to get one on the first floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Drnigel,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Beach Club Hotel. I'm glad to see that you had a great time relaxing by the pool and exploring the island.

I've already shared your review with my staff (including Brice, Joelene and Tasman) and they were all happy to hear that you were pleased with the service that they provided.

Apologies for the break in your peace and quiet in the afternoon. During school holidays, there are sometimes live bands playing in the main pool area and the sound can carry. The nights are usually very quiet and serene, however.

I hope that you are able to come back and stay with us again someday.

Sincerely,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here last week , wow this place is truely amazing , very peaceful , but with great atmosphere, we got there early as our flight times were changed , but we were given a complimentary yummo breakfast , whilst we waited for our room , which was still available to us well before lunch . First of all the best things are the location is to die for , the ambience is first class , just sitting on the beach or by the pool you are really looked after with fresh iced water or anything you like , the staff are amazing all very helpfull , also surprised by a bottle of champas in our room for our Aniversary , thankyou !
Only 1 negative was the noise from the upper level , which u can here them walking around and could here conversations from the bathroom , we stayed on the ground level , but I still wouldn't have changed rooms as the easy access to the beach and front lawns was soooo great ! All in all I would stay back here again hands down , if we are Lucky enough to get away from the kids again for a few days , thanx beach club we loved our stay !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Shaz160674,

Thank you for your wonderful review and enthusiastic recommendation of Beach Club Hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast - we pride ourselves on making our guests feel welcome, and we were more than happy to look after you earlier than expected.

I'm delighted to see that your anniversary was special and you were able to relax and get some time away from the kids to reconnect with each other.

I'm looking forward to seeing you at Beach Club again soon.

Warm regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club

Address: 9 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its absolute beachfront location, the Beach Club offers the ultimate romantic island holiday experience. Set in landscaped gardens, all 57 rooms face directly onto Catseye Beach, each with theirown private courtyard or balcony. Exclusive room inclusions/ A la carte breakfast daily at the Beach Club restaurant / VIP return Hamilton Island airport/marina to Beach Club transfers / VIP chauffeur service / Use of catamarans, paddle skis, windsurfers and snorkellingequipment / Use of the gym, spa and sauna / Tennis and squash court hire / Use of the Beach Club lounge, pool and restaurant. Note: Beach Club does not cater for persons under the age of 18 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Club Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Resort Hamilton Island
Beach Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.