We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it - stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Beach Club
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   9 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Hamilton Island
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth it - stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

My husband and I originally booked our stay for at The Reef View (property up the hill). However at check in we were given an upgrade to the Beach Club - what luck!!!! It was amazing and we will forever be thankful for the upgrade. After seeing both properties and experiencing the benefits of the Beach Club, its worth it to stay here! Pay what you need to in order to stay at the BC - the service is outstanding, breakfast amazing, the view amazing, the beach wonderful, and the complimentary rides given around the island exclusively to Beach Club guests were such a great treat. The service was personalized and we thoroughly enjoyed every relaxing moment of our stay. I'm sure that staying at the Reef View would have been lovely, but you just can't compare it to the outstanding experience we had at the Beach Club. Stay here - you won't regret it!

  • Liked — beach-side location, amazing service, beautiful room, champagne reception
  • Disliked — nothing - loved everything!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    103
    58
    12
    5
See reviews for
9
380
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

We stayed at the Beach Club on Hamilton for 5 nights over the New Year and I would recommend it without doubt. We were picked up at the airport at 7.30am, not expecting to be able to get into our room til 2pm, but they had a room ready for us at 8am and we were given a complimentary drink while we were waiting. The Beach Club is definitely high class but very relaxed, our room was huge and had everything we wanted. The 24 hour buggy service was a great luxury, we were never waiting more than 5 mins, although the walk to the marina is only 10 mins so we walked home a few times too. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, not at all stuffy like you sometimes find at 5 star resorts.
For eating out, I'd recommend the steakhouse. We were disappointed with Romanos, food was definitely not worth what we paid for it. We also did the Denison Star dinner cruise which was worthwhile. The scenery in the Whitsundays is stunning, even if you sat looking out at it all day for a week you would never tire of it.
This was an indulgence for us as it cost AUD$3000 for 5 nights for the 2 of us, but it was worth it for location and service.
I dont know how anyone who visits here could fail to be impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

We stayed in the beach club for 3 nights just before Christmas 2007. From the moment we got picked up by golf buggy until we left we enjoyed every minute. After reading some not so favourable reviews I have to say I was'nt terribly excited about the beach club. Yes the accomodation is not luxurious but the rooms are huge and have everything you need. Our ground floor room was literally 10 steps from the beach. The most impressive aspects of this hotel are its staff, who were extremely friendly and helpful and the service was at all times excellent. I must single out the breakfast, it was divine. We ate outside by the pool every day and enjoyed the beauiful view of the beach and all the exotic birds, who if you're not careful will try and steal your breakfast!The french toast with fruit so good we ate it for the 3 days. Whenever we wanted to go anywhere on the isalnd or be picked up a buggy was ready for us within minutes. I was a little apprehensive about the buggies but its hot up there and very hilly!
Food wise we ate out every night, the restaurants at the harbour were excellent.
We were there in the middle of stinger season but after speaking to locals and seeing everyone else in the water without stinger suits on we followed suit and just wore our bathers into the water.In fact we only wore suits when we went snorkelling on the reef.There are catemarans you can take out free of charge and also jet skis to hire. We did both, great fun!
We took a sea plane trip over the reef before landing on whitehaven beach. I cannot recommend this trip enough, it is magical to see the reef and whitehaven from above and something we will never forget, worth every penny!
The only small criticisms I have are that the lunch menu is a little limiting. We are beach people and actually did'nt get in the pool once so the small size of the pool did'nt affect us but they do need some extra sun loungers on the beach.
We chose Hamilton Island because you can fly directly there and after landing be at your hotel within 15 minutes and also because of the choice of activities and restaurants. It not only lived up to our expectations but surpassed them. Loved it and would love to go back!

  • Liked — the service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel at the beginning of Dec. We didnt find this hotel to be of 5 star standard as they advertise. While I realise the ambiance is supposed to be of a relaxing beach club, the interiors are not very modern or fresh looking.

The staff are all very young and while some made a big effort in service, others didnt seem to be able or want to offer any standard of service.

Breakfast was really nice and had a great choice of food. Dinner menu was good but quite pricey as were the drinks.

The rooms are nice enough and comfortable but nothing special and the pool area was nice. However sunbeds were scarce and the 10 sunbeds on the beach especially for Beach Club guests were obviously not sufficient to cater for all the rooms at the hotel. We were not able to get a bed around the pool or on the beach the whole time we were there.

While we were a bit disappointed with the hotel itself, Hamilton Island is beautiful and we had great fun there. There is plenty to do and restaurants are really nice although you do have to make a reservation for most of them.

Overall, didnt think the Beach Club was value for money but I dont think there is a lot of choice of 5 star hotels on the island.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The Standard
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We spent four nights at The Beach Club at the end of our Tour of Australia. We can't fault it. The Beach Club is wonderful. We thought our room was very comfortable and clean with beautiful views. The location is superb - right on the beach with what must be the nicest pool in the world!! The staff were all fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is absolutely delicious if a little pricey - but well worth it and once again the staff were extremely attentive and very friendly. Breakfast is also very good.
We enjoyed Hamilton Island very much - quite busy but not overbearing - very relaxed.
Two "must dos" are the Fantasea Reef Cruise with snorkelling or diving - the crew were fantastic and the trip extremely well organised. Barrier Reef was magnificent. Also a must is the seaplane over the Whitsundays and Reef to Whitehaven Beach - absolutely breathtaking and truly romantic.
We would do the whole trip again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — having to leave but nothing else!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

Having just stayed at Hayman Island for 3 nights, coming to this was an incredible disappointment. Considering the price for accommodatioins is almost the same per night as Hayman, all I can say why waste your money and stay here.

Rooms are all the same size, decor etc. Bathrooms are average, nothing special about it at all. Agree with a previous person about the bed, very average indeed.

Pool is a laugh, only big enough to fit half the people staying there and nowhere near enough deck chairs.

Breakfast was the only good thing, it was really quite nice but other than that, wouldn't go back.

  • Liked — Breakfast was nice
  • Disliked — Everything else was just average, and not value for money.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed at the Beach Club for 5 nights for our honeymoon. The staff were fantastic, they were very attentive and willing to help. The transfer service around the island was excellent and very convenient. The breakfast was definitely the best feature of the Beach Club!

We did find that the room was a little dark and not really of 5 star quality. The bed (especially the pillows) was not particularly comfortable. The chairs around the pool go very early in the day to people who reserve them with towels and bags, we felt that was a little unfair as one particular guest reserved four chairs for herself everyday (two on the beach and two beside the pool for her and her ever elusive husband). The in room dining selection was also very limited.

We found it difficult to find places to eat for lunch everyday. We did not always feel like going down to the Marina twice a day to eat, but there are very poor choices for lunch on the Beach Club side of the Island.

The Beach House was very disappointing. The service was fantastic, but the food was very average and overpriced. We would not go back. Ever.

The Banjo Patterson day sail was very enjoyable and we would highly recommend it.

We enjoyed our stay at the Beach Club and would recommend Hamilton Island as a great honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club

Address: 9 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beach Club 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its absolute beachfront location, the Beach Club offers the ultimate romantic island holiday experience. Set in landscaped gardens, all 57 rooms face directly onto Catseye Beach, each with theirown private courtyard or balcony. Exclusive room inclusions/ A la carte breakfast daily at the Beach Club restaurant / VIP return Hamilton Island airport/marina to Beach Club transfers / VIP chauffeur service / Use of catamarans, paddle skis, windsurfers and snorkellingequipment / Use of the gym, spa and sauna / Tennis and squash court hire / Use of the Beach Club lounge, pool and restaurant. Note: Beach Club does not cater for persons under the age of 18 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Club Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Resort Hamilton Island
Beach Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Hamilton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.