We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an odd place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Island Sports Club

Hamilton Island Sports Club
Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
(07) 4946 8590
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Health Clubs, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hamilton Island has a fully equipped gym, six tennis courts and two squash courts at the island’s Sports Club, located beside to the Reef View Hotel on the resort side of the island. Lift some weights, join one of our cardio class or work up a sweat with some aerobic exercise. The fitness equipment, workout sessions and exercise classes are all supervised by fully trained staff.
Port Fairy, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“What an odd place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I used both the gym (free) and the Mini Golf ($15 each) at the Sports Club on our recent visit.

For something proclaiming to be a five-star resort, a 15ft x 15ft weights area and a dozen treadmills/stationary bikes isn't really up to scratch. Always busy, always stuffy, always hot. Also suffers from Hamilton Island's disease: inconsistent advice from staff. Told one thing one day, something different another day.

The mini-golf was garbage, both in value and experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, SA, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Kid's Tennis lessons were a bit strange..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked in our 5 & 7 year olds for the advertised tennis lessons, only to arrive on time and be told that they didn't think it was on that day...but anyway, the instructor arrived a little later so they had their lesson. Unusually, part way through the lesson, the local kids arrived for what must have been their regular lesson. My kids didn't mind at all, they actually had fun, but it was just all a bit disjointed for something that's advertised quite differently.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Well fitted out gym but a bit old,they did have a good selection of classes and equipment.Staff were all well trained and helpful.Mainly used by locals

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Squash courts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The facilities are easy to access and free for hotel guests. Staff were casual and friendly. We only used the squash courts, not the gym or tennis because we had so much fun playing squash when we hardly ever do normally. The courts were available each day when we wanted one and we played for as long as we wanted. The music from the gym classes next door was too loud.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helena-jo
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lotts To Do and Free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Many things to do at the Sports Club which were free for Reef Hotel guests.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Island Sports Club also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Hamilton Island Sports Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Island Sports Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.