We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Meal on the Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Tavern

Marina Tavern
Front St, 4803, Australia
(07) 4946 9999
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Masterton, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First Meal on the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had our first meal here after a long days flight. Was nice and relaxing, typical bar meal. Had the Chicken parmigiana which was nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    144
    51
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just returned from Hamilton Island. We had some delightful visits to the Marina Tavern. Some of the previous comments are a little harsh and the thing to remember is that this a pub. It is not fine dining. It is not a resort, it is a pub and as a pub it is a good one. Meals could be considered a bit pricey but that is the same for the entire island. The quality and quantity of the food is excellent and consistent. It has a great TAB and pokie room upstairs and a fantastic balcony to watch the marina from. Overall 9 out of 10

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Rough”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a rough, horrible 'pub' wiyh surly staff who aggressively ID'd my kids although they were accompanied by ourselves. I understand that laws must be adhered to but the manner in which it was done was unacceptable. By the way the kids are 18, 19 and 21.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great pub food here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Hamilton Island and had a couple of meals at Marina Tavern. We were very happy with the service and standard of the food and was tempted by the delicious rump steak with mushroom sauce for $29, which for memory was the highest prices for a meal, when we saw other customers ordering it. The steak was cooked just as we had asked for and came with chips, salad and nice mushroom sauce. All the other meals coming out looked tempting and nicely presented from burgers, seafood or schnitzels at this eatery and were reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fab food..fab view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here with our teens. Food presentation was lovely & were in big portions... Benefiting big appetites of teens. Naturally a bit dear on the price side... But that is the case with any Hamilton island eateries. With such big portions one cant complain. Fabulous view of marina. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Tavern also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Marina Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.