We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WILD LIFE Hamilton Island

WILD LIFE Hamilton Island
1 Resort Drive,, Australia (Formerly Wildlife Park)
+61 7 4946 9078
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WILD LIFE Hamilton Island is one of only a few places in the world where you can experience the thrill and excitement of cuddling a koala. This is an excellent opportunity to get up close and personal with one of Australia's most famous and unique animals. Other experiences include Breakfast with the Koalas, Koala Cuddle Photos, personal encounters with other animals including our Dingoes, Snakes and Lizards, our Keeper Tours (free with admission) and the Twilight Tour and BBQ. For more info visit our website or drop us an email!
melbourne, australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This breakfast area is very small compared to eating breakfast at the larger hotels, but the assortment of foods is exactly the same and you get to eat sitting under a tree with a koala in it and some reptiles just "hanging around", for a fee you can have a photo with a koala. Lovely breakfast with everything you could want but it is very busy due to the amount of people wanting to see the koalas...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    73
    45
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Crocodiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My grandchildren and children loved this experience despite many return visits over the years. Cafe is excellent and little ones loved being so close to the crocodile.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wildlife Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We went there and paid for a VIP package this was $80 for entry and a photo with the Koala bear. I expected the park to be big for the price but it was very small. I understand that they need the money to keep the animals but that was not value for money

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Can't really call it a park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had read all the reviews on here prior to our visit so my expectations weren't high but I was still disappointed.....is it really fair to have the wallabies behind a high fence? One lone cockatoo in a cage was a bit sad too......dingoes were not on display......did try to go for Breakfast one morning but it was so busy and there was only 1 koala in a tree that unless you were lucky enough to get the table next to, then you really weren't 'Breakfasting with the koalas'. Especially for the price-we found another buffet breakfast nearby that offered much better value for money and variety. It is probably ok for overseas visitors to go and visit and see the animals but they really wouldn't get the experience of our fantastic wildlife. Range of souvenirs was pretty poor too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Come on, where can you say you HELD a Koala bear?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nothing to dislike about Hamilton Island. Great people, fantastic scenery and setting, plus you can go to Barrier reef, hold a Koala, and say you LOVE Australia.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WILD LIFE Hamilton Island also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to WILD LIFE Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WILD LIFE Hamilton Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.